Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Index & Database List

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | [all]
Search Databases descriptions:    

A


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ArticleLinker enabledAcademic Search Premier Some full text
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Subjects: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Access UN Some full text
Index to United Nations documents and publications. Provides full-text access to publications of the General Assembly, the Security Council, and the Economic and Social Council.
Coverage: 1998 -

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  AccessScience Some full text
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology over 8,500 articles, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, Science News® and ScienCentral®
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ACM Digital Library Some full text
Over 40 ACM computing and information technology journals, magazines and transactions in an online archive ranging from the 1950s to current publications. ACM Conference Proceedings and newsletters from 1950s.
Unrestricted Resource  Admiralty and Maritime Law Guide Some full text
Includes annotated admiralty law resources
Unrestricted Resource  Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) Some full text
All image and text documents that the Nuclear Regulatory Commission has made public since November 1, 1999, as well as bibliographic records (some with abstracts and full text) that the NRC made public before November 1999.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Agricola Some full text
Index to materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and co-operating institutions. Includes articles, monographs, series, and materials in many non-print formats covering a broad range of agricultural topics. 1970-1985 international in scope.
Coverage: From 1970. Updated monthly.

Unrestricted Resource  Agricultural Statistics Some full text
Statistical compendium issued yearly by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, covering agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Coverage: From 1994

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  America: History and Life Some full text
Index to research on the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistoric times to the present. Includes references to journal articles, books and book reviews, dissertations, and collective works.
Licensed Number of Users:  6
Coverage: From 1954

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  American National Biography Online Some full text
The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography Some full text
Between 1936 and 1938, the WPA Federal Writers' Project hired field workers to collect the life histories of former slaves. Transcripts for 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states, were then compiled by the Library of Congress. The collection and the index are now searchable online.
Coverage: 1936-1938

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Annals of American History Some full text
Provides access to over 2,100 original full-text source documents on United States history from 1493 to the present. Includes speeches, essays, biographies, landmark court decisions, poems, interviews, and editorials from more than 1,500 authors.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Annual Reviews Online Some full text
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the biological, medical, physical and social sciences.
Coverage: 1996+

Unrestricted Resource  Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute Some full text
Index to the more than 600 periodical included in the Anthropological Index to Current Periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library. Topics covered include archaeology, ethnomusicology, physical and cultural anthropology and human biology. Search by author, title, keyword, or journal title (or combine terms). (If search form is incomplete, click Reload button.) International in scope.
Coverage: From the 1970*/39/*s to the present

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  AnthroSource Some full text
AnthroSource is an online resource developed by the American Anthropological Association containing complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003,access to a core collection of journals in the field of anthropology as well as current issues of eleven critical peer-reviewed publications.
Coverage: Current, plus archive up to 2003

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Some full text
Index to journal articles, conference papers, books, monographs, theses, technical reports, and non-conventional literature covering all aspects of marine, brackish, and freshwater environments. International in scope. Updated quarterly.
Coverage: From 1971

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ARBAonline (American Reference Books Annual Online) Some full text
The most comprehensive, authoritative database for quality reviews of print and electronic reference works. Featuring more than 9,000 reviews of reference works, ARBAonline lets you identify and assess reference publications with confidence and ease, and enables you to keep your library collection up-to-date, maintain quality standards, and ensure depth of coverage.
Coverage: 1997 +

Unrestricted Resource  Archive of European Integration
Includes materials on the topic of European integration and unification.
Unrestricted Resource  Archives Database (Maine Collections)
The Archives database is a catalog of three prominent archival collections on Maine and the Canadian Maritime Provinces: the Maine Folklife Center and Special Collections at Fogler Library located at the University of Maine, Orono, and the Acadian Archives/Archives Acadiennes located on the Fort Kent campus. Cataloging is incomplete for all three Archives.
Coverage: For a complete record of holdings, researchers should contact the respective archives.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Art Index Some full text
Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes articles about art, architecture, archaeology, crafts, design, museology, photography, television and textiles, in addition to all aspects of art including graphic, folk, and decorative, from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Licensed Number of Users: 1
Coverage: From 1985

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Art Index Retrospective Some full text
A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to volumes 1-32 of Wilson's Art Index. International in scope. Covers architecture, archaeology, crafts, design, museology, photography, television and textiles, in addition to all aspects of art including graphic, folk, and decorative. Includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in the indexed periodicals.
Licensed Number of Users: 12
Coverage: 1929-1984

Unrestricted Resource  Article@INIST Some full text
This database corresponds to the catalog of the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique, Vandoeuvre-les-Nancy, France. All areas of the sciences and technology are included. It contains 5 million records including books, articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Abstracts are not included. (UM System libraries do not support the document delivery options.) Updated daily.
Coverage: From 1992

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) Some full text
Provides access to the Science Citation Index® (1900 to present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™ (1975-present). Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research.
Coverage:
University of Southern Maine : 2000+

Unrestricted Resource  ASCE Civil Engineering Database
Provides Access to over 100,000 Bibliographic and Abstracted Records.
Coverage: 1970 - Present

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts Some full text
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly.
Coverage: 1987 - current

Unrestricted Resource  Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Dipolomacy Some full text
Contains digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.
Coverage: Pre 18th Century to current