Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Index & Database List

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | [all]
Search Databases descriptions:    

C


Unrestricted Resource  Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications
Coverage: More than 500,000 records generated since July 1976 are contained in the CGP and it is updated daily.

Unrestricted Resource  Census 2000 Gateway
Access to population, housing, social and economic statistics from the 2000 Census.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Checkpoint Some full text
This RIA database focuses on federal tax information. Includes: Federal Court Decisions; Federal Tax Reports;Tax Court Reported Decisions and Memorandum Decisions; Federal Tax Coordinator 2nd; Citator 2nd; Federal Tax Handbook; and IRS Code, Regulations, Committee Reports, Tax Treaties, Rules and Releases. Coverage of state, local, and international tax information is limited.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Choice Reviews Online
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and Choice Reviews Online for collection development and scholarly research. Choice reaches almost every undergraduate college and university library in the United Stat
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Christian Science Monitor Some full text
Index to and full text coverage from 1988 to the present of a major daily (M-F) newspaper offering international and US news and features.
Unrestricted Resource  Chronicling America: historic American newspapers Some full text
This site allows you to search and read digitized newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Currently, content is available from the following geographic areas: California, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, Virginia, District of Columbia
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CINAHL : Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Some full text
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health is the premier database for nursing and allied health literature. Includes references to journals, American Nurses' Association and National League for Nursing publications, nursing standards of practice, and critical paths. Updated monthly.
Unrestricted Resource  Civil Rights Digital Library Some full text Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Cochrane Library Some full text
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases. Assesses the effectiveness and appropriateness of health care interventions--including medications, surgery, and education--through systematic review of scientific literature. Updated quarterly.
Unrestricted Resource  CogPrints Electronic Archive Some full text
Searchable electronic archive of full-text papers in all areas of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, as well as computer science, philosophy, biology, medicine, anthropology, and any other areas of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition. Includes pre-prints and reprints from published journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and personal collections.
Unrestricted Resource  Collection of National Copyright Laws: UNESCO Culture Sector
Provides access to national copyright and related rights legislation of UNESCO member states.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ComAbstracts Some full text
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Coverage for these journals generally starts in the 1980's, a few go back to the 1970's, and one to the 1960's.
Coverage: from 1965

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Communication and Mass Media Complete Some full text
Communication & Mass Media Complete originated as the result of the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies - CommSearch, formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index, formerly produced by Penn State University. CommSearch offers bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century. The database also includes cover-to-cover indices of NCA’s six journals from their first editions to the present, and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provides citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. In addition to the coverage available from these two databases, Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 160 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered in the database.
To check coverage: http://ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=56

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Communication Institute for Online Scholarship: CIOS Some full text
The Communication Institute for Online Scholarship is a U.S. not-for-profit organization supporting the use of computer technologies in the service of communication scholarship and education.
Coverage: from 1986

Unrestricted Resource  Congressional Bills: GPO Access Some full text
All published versions of bills from the 103rd (1993-1994) Congress forward
Coverage: 103rd (1993-94)-

Unrestricted Resource  Congressional Research Service Reports Some full text
Includes selected Congressional Research Service reports, indexed and searchable.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Contemporary Authors Some full text
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Some full text
Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after 1959. Initial release features 50 authors derived from CLC print volumes 95-99 and 50 retrospective entries. Updates of 10-12 new authors will be added about 6 times a year as print volumes are published and 10-20 retrospective entries will be added each time. CLC Select may be searched separately or simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography
Coverage: 1998-

Unrestricted Resource  Cooperative Forestry Research Unit (University of Maine) Some full text
This database focuses on ecology, economics, and growth and management of Maine forests. Contains the full-text of University of Maine's Cooperative Forestry Research Unit's (CFRU) reports as well as other publications resulting from research by CFRU staff and associates. Searchable by subject category such as hardwood management, harvesting, and thinning. The database can be browsed by author, subject, and title.
Coverage: 1970-present

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CQ Researcher Some full text
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Licensed Number of Users: 25
Coverage: From 1991

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CQ Weekly Some full text
Updated weekly, provides full-text articles on the U.S. Congress, including pending active legislation and floor votes.
Coverage: From 1983

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CredoReference Some full text
Online reference resources from numerous publishers. This reference resource can be searched by individual title, broad subject headings, cross-references, audio and images. Use its research mapper to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in (a) visual form. Examples of titles are: Bloomsbury Guide to Art, Bridgeman Art Library Archive, Columbia Encyclopedia, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Harvard Dictionary of Music, and the Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science. The complete list of titles is available on the CREDO Reference site.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Criminal Justice Abstracts Some full text
Indexes international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Areas covered include trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police courts, punishment, and sentencing.
Coverage: 1968+

Unrestricted Resource  CRIS - Current Research Information System Some full text
A searchable database of U.S. Department of Agriculture funded research. Covers on-going and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Search by keyword, investigator, agency, institution, state, and project status and type as well as by classification codes. Database records include listings of publications resulting from the funded research.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Current Index to Legal Periodicals Some full text
Current awareness service for legal research. Provides subject indexing and tables of contents for law journals.
Coverage: Current plus archived earlier issues