Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Index & Database List

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | [all]
Search Databases descriptions:    

E


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  E-Stat (Statistics Canada) Some full text
E-Stat is a statistical database supported by Statistics Canada, the Canadian central statistical agency. It covers economic, political and social data coverning Canada and its provinces. Data is available form the Canadian Census from 1986-2006 and the historical censuses from 1666-1871.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EBSCOhost Database Collection Some full text
The EBSCOHost Database Collection is made up of many individual periodical and reference databases. This link provides a list of all EBSCOHost databases, from which one may select two or more databases for multiple, simultaneous database searching by keyword. Years of coverage and update frequency vary by database.
To check coverage: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists.php?topicID=380&tabForward=titleLists
Coverage: Varies by database

Unrestricted Resource  ECLAS :European Commission Libraries catalogue
European Commission union catalogue of holdings of network libraries. Includes internet resources with hyperlinks.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EconLit Some full text
Contains citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. Provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Education Full Text Some full text
Education Full Text, published by H.W. Wilson, provides high-quality indexing and abstracts for an international range of English-language education journals, books, and yearbooks. More than 725 Journals are indexed “cover to cover” going back to 1983. Full text articles are provided for over 350 journals going back to 1996. ArticleLinker connects to additional full-text articles and points to library holdings in print and microform.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EduMine Dictionary of Mining, Mineral and Related Terms Some full text
The EduMine Dictionary of Mining, Minerals and Related Terms is a dictionary of more than 26,000 terms and definitions with extensive cross-referencing. Original content was compiled by the US Bureau of Mines. This XML version was translated and is supported by EduMine.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Electronic journals: Full Text (EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service) Some full text
Searchable database of journals and journal articles available through EBSCO Subscription Services, including access to many full text articles. In ARTICLESearch, articles can be searched by keyword in title, abstract or full text. JOURNALSearch provides access at the journal title level, and can be searched by keyword, ISSN, or publisher. Journal table of contents may also be browsed. Links to the full text of articles are available for e-journals to which your library subscribes, or when the article appears in a sample issue. Updated daily.
Coverage: Varies by title, but most mid-1990s +

Unrestricted Resource  Electronic Theses & Dissertations (UMaine) Some full text
The Electronic Theses and Dissertations database is a pilot project that provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for some University of Maine masters theses and doctoral dissertations. Access to full-text is currently restricted to University of Maine faculty, staff, and students.Theses for the USM Masters in Leadership Studies can be found here too. Alt Title: University of Maine Graduate School. Electronic Theses & Dissertations; EDT. Coverage: From 1998
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Emerald Fulltext Some full text
Emerald Fulltext is a collection of over 42,000 articles from over 100 of the most prestigious management journals, complete with full text archives back to 1994 and abstracts back to 1989. This database covers all major management disciplines from marketing, human resources management, library and information managment and quality to operation management and more.
Coverage: 1989 +

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Enciclopedia Universal en Espanol Online Some full text
Enciclopedia Universal en Español contains over 47,000 articles, 8,300 photos and images, as well as over 390 maps and 500 tables, making it the most detailed and comprehensive online encyclopedia in the Spanish language. Enciclopedia Universal en Español is perfect for native Spanish speakers, bi-lingual students and students learning Spanish. Enciclopedia Juvenil, linked from the page for the Enciclopedia Universal en Español, includes a Spanish elementary encyclopedia, images, Spanish-language videos, and Spanish learning materials specifically designed for younger students.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Encyclopedia of Human Development Some full text
The Encyclopedia of Human Development is the first comprehensive, authoritative, and informative reference work that presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education in a way that is not too technical. With more than 600 entries, this three-volume Encyclopedia covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more.
Unrestricted Resource  Encyclopedia of Life Some full text Resource contains images
A new project to create an online reference source and database for every one of the 1.8 million species that are named and known on this planet.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Encyclopedia of School Psychology Some full text
The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field, featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th ed Some full text
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone reference in its field. This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.
Unrestricted Resource  Energy Citations Database Some full text
Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical reports and papers sponsored by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Coverage: From 1948

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Environment Complete Some full text
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains full text for more than 400 journals, including many of the most-used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. It also has full text for more than 100 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, and more.
Unrestricted Resource  Environmental law net Some full text
Environmental Law Net was created in 1998 as a tool for harnessing the Internet to better serve our clients, who include general counsel, in-house attorneys, and environmental managers for companies operating in a broad range of industries ... There are six legal information libraries. They include document libraries and task-specific libraries. The document libraries are: Laws and Regulations Including federal, state, international, transnational, and tribal laws and regulations. Court and Agency Decisions Including decisions of U.S. federal and state courts, international courts, courts of countries around the world, and tribal courts. Agency Documents and Databases Including essential guidance documents, policies, and databases from U.S. federal and state agencies, and agencies of governments around the world. The task-specific libraries are: Compliance Including resources organized for performing environmental regulatory compliance counseling. Enforcement and Litigation Including resources organized for handling defense against agency enforcement actions and federal and state court litigation. Real Estate and Corporate Transactions Including resources organized for handling environmental aspects of real property transfers, and corporate mergers and acquisitions.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ERIC - Education (CSA) Some full text
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) provides a database of journal and non-journal education literature for K-12 teachers, school administrators, education faculty, school psychologists and education students. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. This database contains more than 1.2 million citations going back to 1966. More than 110,000 full-text non-journal documents (from years 1993-present) are included in the database. The CSA version connects to many full-text journal articles through Article Linker. The CSA version also allows users to limit their search to peer-reviewed journal articles.
Coverage: From 1966

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ERIC - Education (EBSCO) Some full text
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) provides a database of journal and non-journal education literature for K-12 teachers, school administrators, education faculty, school psychologists and education students. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. This database contains more than 1.2 million citations going back to 1966. More than 110,000 full-text non-journal documents (from years 1993-present) are included in the database. The EBSCO version connects to many full-text journal articles through Linked Full Text and Article Linker.
Coverage: From 1966.

Unrestricted Resource  Esp@cenet: European Patent Office Some full text
This patent database provided by the European Patent Office covers patents from over 20 countries and the World Patent Organization. Links to the full text of the patents and applications are provided.
Coverage: From 1920

Unrestricted Resource  EUR-Lex :the portal to European Union law Some full text
Document database on European Union Law. Includes Official Journal,Treaties,Legislation, Legislation in preparation, Case-law, Parliamentary questions, Documents of public interest, Enlargement
Unrestricted Resource  Europa:gateway to the European Union Some full text
EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties.
Unrestricted Resource  European Library Some full text Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The European library webservice is a portal which offers access to the combined resources (books, magazines, journals - both digital and non-digital) of the ... national libraries of Europe.