Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Index & Database List

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | [all]
Search Databases descriptions:    

H


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Handbook of Psychology Some full text
This 12-volume reference covers every aspect of the ever-burgeoning discipline of psychology. This resource is a comprehensive collection of psychology literature reviewing virtually every core as well as contemporary topic in the subject area, from the established theories to the most modern research and developments.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Health Source: Consumer Edition WEB Some full text
EBSCO Publishing's consumer health information database, Health Source: Consumer Edition, is now available in a new interface format on the Web. Health Source: Consumer Edition WEB showcases one of EBSCO Publishing's newest features: searching by specific source type. On entering the search screen, users are presented with a source selection list, where they can opt to search by all sources, a combination of sources or just one source. The source list includes options to search such sources as pamphlets, reference books, periodicals, book reviews, clinical reports and drug information.

In addition to its new sophisticated search functionality, Health Source: Consumer Edition WEB features the most full text from the largest selection of data sources on consumer health and patient education information. Health Source: Consumer Edition WEB now includes PDF images for many of these titles.
To check coverage: http://ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=82

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Some full text
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals. This product offering also includes USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary - providing users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Clinical Nursing Research, Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Family Nursing, Journal of Holistic Nursing, Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences, Journal of Nursing Management, Journal of Society of Pediatric Nurses, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing, Nursing Diagnosis, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, Nursing Management, Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner, RN, Western Journal of Nursing Research and many more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  HeinOnline Some full text
Full text online access to legal journals
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  HeinOnline U. S. Congressional Documents Library Some full text
Searchable database of Annals of the Congress of the United States (1789-1824) -- Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837) -- Congressional Globe (1833-1873) -- Congressional Record (1873-1880, 1996-2003),U.S. Statutes at Large (1789-2004),American State Papers (1789-1838), Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789)and other important congressional material.
Unrestricted Resource  Highwire press Some full text
A division of the Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of high impact, peer-reviewed content, with 1212 journals and 5,311,870 full text articles from over 140 scholarly publishers. HighWire-hosted publishers have collectively made 1,828,930 articles free. With our partner publishers we produce 71 of the 200 most-frequently-cited journals.
Coverage: Coverage varies, search engine begins 1844

Unrestricted Resource  Historic USGS Maps of New England Resource contains images

This historical collection of USGS 15 minute topographic maps dates from the 1890s to the 1950s. Geographic coverage is complete for New Hampshire and nearly complete for the rest of New England.


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Historical Abstracts Some full text
Index to articles, dissertations, and books on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Works on U.S. and Canadian history are covered in America: History and Life.
Licensed Number of Users: 6
Coverage: From 1969

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Historical Statistics of the United States Some full text
Historical Statistics of the United States is a 2006 Cambridge University Press publication and database that updates and expands the Census Bureau's 1975 work of the same name. It contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Also covers topics that received little or no coverage in the 1975 edition: American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, and ethnicity. Allows one to graph and combine data from different tables into custom tables, and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications. Also available as a five-volume print set in many URSUS libraries.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) Some full text
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents “supports local, state and federal analysis and decision-making needs and assists academics of all disciplines in homeland defense and security related research.” Access to the site for the University of Maine System is granted via proxy and IP authentication.
Note: It is recommended to use the Internet Explorer (IE) browser for this resource.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Humanities International Index Some full text
The Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important references in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing, and formerly known as American Humanities Index, this database provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, with coverage dating as far back as 1925. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
To check coverage: http://www.epnet.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=174
Coverage: From 1925