Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Index & Database List

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | [all]
Search Databases descriptions:    

M


Unrestricted Resource  Maine Census Data Population Totals Some full text
Numeric data base of U.S. Census population totals for Maine minor civil Divisions (cities, towns) and counties, from each decennial census, 1790 to present. Special search keys provided include: county/year; town/year; population threshold (maximum or minimum); population trend (increasing or decreasing); and master list of towns. Some annotation is included for boundary changes of minor civil divisions.
Coverage: From 1790

Unrestricted Resource  Maine Music Box Resource contains audio
The University of Maine's Fogler Library in partnership with the Bagaduce Music Lending Library and the Bangor Public Library has launched the Maine Music Box. The Maine Music Box contains digitized images of five collections of manuscript scores and sheet music. Most of the collections are from the Bagaduce Music Lending Library in Blue Hill, Maine. A total of 22,641 titles will be accessible when the digitization and cataloging of the pilot project is complete. Selected scores will have an associated computer generated sound file. Other scores, based on faculty request, may have associated “Scorch” files. Scorch software creates a file that allows one to listen while following a cursor through the score; the viewer may also manipulate key and instrumentation. The database currently has 22,641 titles with 600 MIDI files and 100 Scorch files.
Unrestricted Resource  Maine News Index Online Some full text
Created by the Portland Public Library, the Maine News Index Online is a database of Maine newspaper and magazine citations and abstracts. The library's Portland Room, which houses special collections, maintains a web page listing titles indexed at http://www.portlandlibrary.com/locations/portlandroom.htm#newsindex
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Maine Newsstand Some full text
Index to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers. Database includes comprehensive coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present). Updated regularly.
Unrestricted Resource  Maine Revised Statutes Some full text
Maine Revised Statutes current to the 123rd Legislature
Coverage: Current to the 123rd Legislature

Unrestricted Resource  Maine Serials List
The Maine Serials List continues the Maine Union List of Serials (MULS) which ceased       publication as a union list on Maine 25, 2005. The major academic libraries in Maine ceased   updating records in MULS with the availability of a newer system for managing print and         electronic periodical holdings and linking to open URLs. Links to their current holdings and the            MaineCat catalog are provided in the Maine Serials List.
Unrestricted Resource  Maine Superior Court Decisions Some full text
Full text PDF documents received by the University of Maine School of Law Donald L. Garbrecht Law Library from the clerks of various courts dating from January 2000 through present. Decisions cross referenced by Plaintiff, Defendant, Judge and County. Includes citations and references.
Coverage: January 2000 through present

Unrestricted Resource  MaineCat
The Statewide Catalog combines and links library collections across Maine.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Making of America Journals (Cornell) Some full text
The complete MOA collection includes over 1.5 million images, representing approximately 5,000 volumes of primary source materials. The selection process at Cornell has focused on the major journal literature of the period, ranging from general interest publications to those with more targeted audiences (such as agriculture). The Michigan process focused on monographs in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, science and technology, and religion.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Making of America Journals (Michigan) Some full text
Making of America (MOA) represents a major collaborative endeavor to preserve and make accessible through digital technology a significant body of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure. With funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, MOA seeks to involve research institutions and national consortia to develop common protocols and consensus for the selection, conversion, storage, retrieval, and use of digitized materials on a large, distributed scale.
Unrestricted Resource  ArticleLinker enabledMARVEL! Maine Virtual Library Some full text
MARVEL! provides every resident of Maine with access to a collection of full text and abstracts from magazines, newspapers and reference books that are credible, reputable resources. MARVEL! also provides students, business people, public library patrons, and higher education students and educators the ability to search a number of resources at one time for needed information.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ArticleLinker enabledMAS Ultra - School Edition Some full text
MAS Ultra - School Edition provides full text from 570 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 670 magazines. This database also includes over 3,000 charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text; 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews; full text of 142 Macmillan books; over 430 health and science-related pamphlets in full text; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; and Essential Documents of American History. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

To check coverage: http://ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=7&topicID=156


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MasterFILE Premier Some full text
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for over 1,830 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,800 periodicals. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
To check coverage: http://ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=6&topicID=5

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MathSciNet Some full text
Extensive database of citations to journal articles and reviews of articles in pure and applied mathematics. Coverage from 1940-present. Updated daily.
Coverage: 1940-present

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ArticleLinker enabledMEDLINE Some full text
Index to more than 3,600 journals covering all areas of clinical and experimental medicine, nursing, dentistry and health administration. Updated weekly.
Coverage: Coverage from 1966.

Unrestricted Resource  MEMAP Directory Some full text
The MEMAP Directory is a current listing of ongoing programs that systematically monitor or assess environmental and ecological factors in the state of Maine. MEMAP provides a description of programs and direct links to program websites and downloadable data (if available). It is updated seasonally.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Mental Measurements Yearbook Some full text
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.
Licensed number of users (USM): 4
Coverage: From 1985

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Merriam-Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged Some full text
Includes definitions for over 470,000 words and 140,000 word etymologies. Search options allow users to search for definitions, spellings, rhymes, rhymes, homophones, and authors quoted.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ArticleLinker enabledMiddle Search Plus Some full text
Middle Search Plus provides full text from over 100 general reference, health and science magazines appropriate for middle and junior high school students. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 210 magazines. This database includes 2,000 charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text; full text of 23 reference books; full text of hundreds of pamphlets; over 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews; Funk & Wagnall’s New Encyclopedia; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; Essential Documents of American History and EBSCO’s Encyclopedia of Animals. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. This database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.
To check coverage: http://ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=6&topicID=110

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ArticleLinker enabledMilitary & Government Collection Some full text
Search over 600 military titles, government periodicals, trade publications and newsweeklies for topics concerning all branches of the military. Full text is available for more than a third of the periodicals indexed. Over 240 pamphlets are also included.
To check coverage: http://www.epnet.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=4&topicID=111
Coverage: varies by title; most indexing and fulltext starts in the 1990s

 


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MLA International Bibliography Some full text
Index to scholarly research in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Indexes articles from more than 3,500 journals and series. Also includes monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies. Updated 10 times / year.
Coverage: Coverage from 1963.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Music Index Online Some full text
Subject/author guide to music periodical literature. Includes musicological topics, book reviews, record reviews, first performances and obituaries.
Coverage: From 1979-