| National Criminal Justice Reference Service Contains summaries of more than 140,000 federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research on criminal justice. Topics covered include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. Coverage: 1970-present
|
| National Gallery of Art: the collection Presents information about the collection at the National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C. Allows users to search the collection by artist, title, or a combination of criteria. Contains a list of paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, and works on paper that are grouped by school. Links to the National Gallery of Art
|
| National Sea Grant Library Database The National Sea Grant Library, NSGL, is the most comprehensive collection of Sea Grant funded documents in the world. The NSGL was established in 1970 as the official Sea Grant archive and the collection covers a wide variety of subjects, including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation and law.. Coverage: From 1965
|
| National Technical Information Service Technical Reports This is a subset of the NTIS database. This Technical Reports database indexes government reports from 1990 to present. Over 350,000 publications are included. Searching is by keyword, which includes authors' names. No abstracts are presented. Bibliographic information provided includes title, author, author affiliation, total pages, date, and document type. Coverage: 1990 +
|
| Nature Published weekly, Nature is an international journal publishing original, groundbreaking research spanning all of the scientific disciplines, as Articles, Letters to Nature and Brief Communications. Each issue also includes extensive secondary comment, including Reviews, News, New Features, Essays, News and Views, Book Reviews, Correspondance, Commentary, Opinion, and Naturejobs. Full-text available from January 1997-Present.
|
| NetLibrary The Netlibrary collection is a collection of 7,885 ebooks (4,480 Netlibrary titles and 3,405 Project Gutenberg titles). The collection is accessible to all Maine citizens. Users accessing titles from a recognized IP may view ebooks online in 15 minute intervals. Users who wish to view ebooks remotely, or check out an ebook for a four hour loan period, must create a Netlibrary account.Any user may create an account by clicking the Netlibrary link within the Indexes and Databases or Maine Databases websites. Users accessing Netlibrary titles through URSUS may create an account through the special "Create a Netlibrary Account" link in the record. Click the links below to browse lists of e-book titles available through the license for the State of Maine. 4,480 Netlibrary titles 3,405 Project Gutenberg public domain titles
|
| New York Times Index to and full text coverage of the US newspaper of record from 1980 to the present. Offers in-depth coverage of national and international news, plus transcripts of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conferences.
|
| Newspapers (Proquest) Full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title. Maine papers included: Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), and selected business coverage from Maine Times(1994-2002) and Central Maine Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).
|
| NISEE: Earthquake Engineering Online Archive Index to technical reports from seven earthquke engineering and structural mechanics laboratories. overage: From 1971
|
| NoodleTools NoodleTools is a suite of interactive tools designed to aid students and professionals with their online research. From selecting a search engine and finding some relevant sources, to citing those sources in MLA style, NoodleTools makes online research easier.
|
 | NoveList A leading electronic fiction resource. NoveList provides enhanced subject access to over 100,000 fiction titles. With NoveList, you can: - Find fiction titles based on a favorite author, title, or description - Browse lists based on genre or awards (over 1000 pre-made lists) - Search the database using Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) - Search by subject heading, reviews, publishers; basically every field in the title record - Read and use feature articles, book discussion guides, and book talks (children and YA) developed exclusively for NoveList - Explore materials developed to increase your skills when working with a reader To check coverage: http://www.epnet.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=16
|
 | NoveList K-8 NoveList K-8 is for teachers and younger readers who want to find fiction titles for classroom use or reading. It covers K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's chapter books and young adult titles. Search options include theme, setting, instructional unit, culture, and more. Includes full-text book reviews, teacher resources, thematic units, and BookTalks. Updated monthly. To check coverage: http://www.epnet.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=9&topicID=17
|
 | Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Basic Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text for 100 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. To check coverage: http://ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=2&topicID=118
|