Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Index & Database List

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | [all]
Search Databases descriptions:    

O


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Occupational Therapy Bibliographic System (LAC Campus only) Some full text
For Remote Access and login use: http://www1.aota.org/otsearch/index.asp  Contact the library for the password. Contains records for the holdings for the Wilma L. West Library of the American Occupational Therapy Association.  Titles may be held in URSUS libraries or obtained through interlibrary loan from other libraries.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Oceanic Abstracts Some full text
Index to journal articles, conference papers, books, and reports covering the marine and brackish-water environment. Topics covered include biological, chemical, and physical oceanography, ecology, geochemistry, geophysics, marine biology, and marine geology. Indexes over 500 journals. Updated monthly.
Coverage: From 1981.

Unrestricted Resource  ODS: Official documents of the United Nations (Multilingual) Some full text
Official Document System of the United Nations(ODS)covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993, and selected earlier coverage.
Coverage: 1993- and selected earlier coverage

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Some full text
A full-text database providing differing points of view on current social issues. The database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
Coverage: 1980 + Updated daily

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Oxford African American Studies Center Some full text Resource contains images
This database provides a comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Among the Oxford reference sources included are Black Women in America, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, and Africana. Subjects include arts, leisure, business, economics, education, politics, history, religion, science, and medicine. This resource also includes primary sources, images, maps, charts, tables, and thematic timelines.
Licensed Number of Users: 1

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Oxford English Dictionary Some full text
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Oxford Music Online Some full text
Full-text access to the encyclopedia, with sound files, musical examples, and Web links.
Licensed Number of Users: 3

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Oxford Reference Online Some full text
Oxford Reference Premium is a cross-searchable collection of over 125 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by Oxford University Press. The scope is broad, including works in the areas of science and medicine, the humanities and social sciences, and business and law. Content includes world maps, illustrations, timelines, weblines, and key titles from the Oxford Companions series. English dictionaries and thesauri, guides to grammar and usage, and dictionaries of etymology, foreign languages, quotations, and names are provided.