Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Index & Database List

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | [all]
Search Databases descriptions:    

P


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PAIS Archive Some full text
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. It contains over 1.23 million records including references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The PAIS Archive provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. Examples of topics include the atomic age, China's cultural revolution, the civil rights movement, the Cold War, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, religion and public schools, the Vietnam conflict, Watergate, the women's movement, and World Wars I and II.
Coverage: 1915-1976

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PAIS International Some full text
Index to the literature of public and social policy, and other aspects of social sciences. Includes journal articles, serials, books, government documents, directories, and public, intergovernmental, and private organization reports. Updated monthly.
Coverage: Coverage from 1972.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology Online Some full text
Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology Online presents comprehensive toxicological data for industrial compounds from metals to synthetic polymers. Information for each compound includes CAS numbers, RTECS numbers, physical and chemical properties, threshold limit values (TLV's), permissible exposure limits (PEL's), maximum workplace concentrations (MAK), and biological tolerance values for occupational exposures (BAT)
Unrestricted Resource  PEARL (Public Education Access to Environmental Information in Maine) Some full text
PEARL is designed to improve access to information on over 5700 Maine lakes. It is a cooperative effort initiated, coordinated, and maintained at the University of Maine by the Senator George J. Mitchell Center for Environmental and Watershed Research ( GMC ) and the UMaine Department of Spatial Information Science and Engineering ( SIE ).
Unrestricted Resource  Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection Resource contains images
Features historic maps as well as maps that are of current interest (for example, sites of natural disasters, political turmoil, etc.)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Philosopher's Index Some full text
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World.
Licensed Number of Users: 1

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Physical Education Index Some full text
Physical Education Index indexes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, and more. Topics include physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, sport sociology/psychology, health education, and physical therapy. Includes abstracts from 2001. Updated monthly.
Coverage: 1970 -current

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress) Some full text
The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. Update Frequency Monthly.
Coverage: 1871-current

Unrestricted Resource  POPLINE Some full text
POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE) covers reproductive health, population, family planning, and related health issues. Includes references on population law and policy, demography, maternal and child health, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, development programs, and environmental issues.
Coverage: From 1950

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ArticleLinker enabledPre-Cinahl Some full text
A companion database to CINAHL, Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and includes a rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject searching), which are available to researchers only for the time when these articles are being assigned additional indexing. This enables users to gain access to article citations that otherwise would not be available. Once the bibliographic records are complete, they are added to the CINAHL database and removed from Pre-CINAHL.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Primary Search Some full text
Primary Search provides full text from nearly 70 children’s magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children’s reading rooms. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 140 magazines. Other full text sources include: The World Almanac of the U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids; EBSCO’s Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; full text for over 300 pamphlets; and Essential Documents of American History including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. This database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.
To check coverage: http://ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=6&topicID=122

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Project MUSE Some full text
Indexes and provides full-text access to over 220 journals from 37 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Coverage: 1993+ (varies by title)

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Some full text
Index to dissertations from 1861 to the present, representing the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. Includes the 350-word abstracts written by the author for those dissertations published after 1979. More limited coverage of master's theses from 1962 on (UM theses are not included); citations for those published after 1987 include 150-word abstracts. Database includes full text of dissertations written at the University of Maine after 1996. ORO: Funded in part by the University of Maine Graduate School.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ProQuest Newspapers Some full text
Full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title. Maine papers included: Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), and selected business coverage from Maine Times(1994-2002) and Central Maine Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PsycARTICLES Some full text
PsycARTICLES™ is a database of full-text articles from 53 psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. The database is updated daily.
Coverage: From 1985

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PsycINFO Some full text
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PubMed Some full text
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. It provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.
Coverage: 1966-

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PubMed Central Some full text
PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature, developed and managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Coverage: 1970-current