Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Index & Database List

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | [all]
Search Databases descriptions:    

S


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  SAGE Journals Online Some full text
SAGE Journals Online provides access to full-text articles in more than 400 SAGE journals from 1999 to the present. Topics covered are primarily in the social sciences as well as sciences, technology, and medicine. All journal titles in the collection are also listed and linked individually in URSUS and ejournals@umaine (www.library.umaine.edu/ejournals/).
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Science Citation Index, Expanded Some full text
Comprehensive multidisciplinary coverage of approximately 5,800 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching multi-disciplines to uncover information relative to their research.
Coverage: 2000-

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ScienceDirect Some full text
ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/licensing/additional/freedom/
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  SciFinder Scholar Some full text
Covers literature (including patents) on all branches of chemistry, as well as related fields. Includes data from Chemical Abstracts and the MEDLINE database. Search options include keyword, CAS Registry number, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and more.
Licensed Number of Users: 1

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Scribner Writers Some full text
Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Searchasaurus Some full text
Easy-to-use, colorful interface for young kids. Databases include Primary Search, Middle Search Plus, Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia, and EBSCO Animals.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Serials Directory Some full text
The Serials Directory provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This invaluable resource is made available via EBSCOhost®. It contains nearly 212,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.Classifications for every entry.
Unrestricted Resource  Slavery & Abolition in the US Some full text
Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s is a digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century. The works in this collection reflect arguments on both sides of the slavery debate and include first person narratives, legal proceedings and decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works. The publications are all drawn from the holdings of the Millersville University Library and the Dickinson College Library, as well as each of their respective Special Collections Departments. The collection includes more than 15,000 individual pages of printed text and corresponding searchable transcriptions.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) Some full text
Provides access to the Science Citation Index® (1900 to present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™ (1975-present). Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research.
Coverage: 2000+

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Social Services Abstracts Some full text
Social Services Abstracts covers journal articles and dissertations in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development since 1980.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ArticleLinker enabledSocial Work Abstracts Some full text
Index to articles and dissertations on social work, social welfare, and related fields.
Licensed Number of Users: 4
Coverage: Coverage from 1966.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Sociological Abstracts Some full text
Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Comprehensive and international in scope. Covers about 2,600 journals in 30 different languages from 55 different countries. Also includes books, conference papers,and doctoral dissertations.
Coverage: From 1974

Unrestricted Resource  Spatial Odyssey Some full text
Index to the full text of GIS conference proceeding articles contributed by leading professional organizations; developed by Fogler Library and the National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis.
Coverage: Coverage: 1994-1995. Bibliography: coverage from 1991

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  SPORTDiscus Some full text
SPORTSDiscus covers all aspects of sports. Subjects include biomechanics, coaching, engineering, physical therapy, and physiology. Indexes over 2,000 journals as well as books, theses, and non-print resources. Updated monthly.
Coverage: From 1800

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  SpringerLink Some full text
SpringerLink provides access to full-text STM (scientific, technical, medical) journals, book series, books, and reference works published by Springer and its imprints.
Access to resources within SpringerLink varies by campus.
Springer e-books 2005+ UM, USM
Springer e-journals 1997+ (unlimited users)

Unrestricted Resource  Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Some full text
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an open-access, “scholarly dynamic reference work” that “maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.” Its entries are written by scholars and refereed by an editorial board. Updated continuously.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  STAT-USA Some full text
Provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce, STAT-USA/Internet is an extensive collection of U.S. economic and finance data, international trade statistics, and market research reports. It is divided into two main ar­eas: State of the Nation and GLOBUS & NTDB.
Licensed Number of Users: 1

Unrestricted Resource  Statistical Abstract of the United States Some full text
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Updated annually.
Unrestricted Resource  Statistical Resources on the Web (University of Michigan Documents Center) Some full text
This University of Michigan Documents Center site is a comprehensive portal to statistics. Statistical Resources on the Web includes information on agriculture, business and industry, consumers, cost of living, demographics, economics, education, energy, environment, finance and currency, foreign economics, foreign governments, foreign trade, government finances, health, housing, labor, military, politics, science, sociology, transportation, and weather. Frames and no-frames versions of the database are available. The arrangement of the site, with an alphabetical quick jump index and a prominent directory of topics under broad headings, makes it easily navigable. A site map is also provided and there is a choice of search engines. It is obvious at a glance why this well-designed site has won numerous awards.--Reviewed Apr. 2, 2001, Best Free Reference Web Sites 2001, RUSA quarterly, fall 2001, comp. by the MARS Best Free Websites Committee, RUSA, ALA
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Steven's Handbook of Experimental Psychology Some full text
Stevens' Handbook of Experimental Psychology, Third Edition is the only multi-volume reference in the field of experimental psychology. This offers comprehensive coverage of the latest research findings, as well as the most recent contributions in experimental psychology and methodology. It covers a wide variety of subjects including perception and sensation, memory, cognitive neuroscience, behavioural genetics, learning, language, reasoning, culture, motivation, emotion and methodology.