Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Index & Database List

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | [all]
Search Databases descriptions:    

W


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Wall Street Journal Some full text
Select Publication Search Tab and then type in or scroll through alphabetic list to link to the Wall Street Journal.
Index to and full text coverage of the nation's leading business daily from 1984.
Coverage: Coverage from 1984

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Washington Post Some full text
Index to and full text coverage of the Washington Post from 1987 to the present. Coverage of national, international, and local news.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Web of Knowledge Some full text
ISI Web of Knowledge provides cross searching for Web of Science (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index), Biosis Previews, and a number of external free databases (including PubMed, Agricola, ERIC, NTIS, POPLINE, Civil Engineering Database, NASA Astrophysics Datasystem, and arXiv). ISI Web of Knowledge provides links to the ISI tools Journal Citation Reports, Citation Alerts, and EndNote Web, as well as selected free resources.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Web of Science Some full text
Provides access to the Science Citation Index® (1900 to present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™ (1975-present). Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research.
Coverage: 2000+

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide Some full text
Includes over 345,000 citations to the literature on mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians found in journals, conference proceedings, monographs, theses and dissertations, and government reports. Database includes Wildlife Review Abstracts, which was published through 1995 by the National Biological Service. Searching is by keyword, subject, and author as well as by taxonomic and geographic identifiers. Abstracts are available for publications added to the database since September 1996. 8,000 records added annually. Updated quarterly.
Licensed Number of Users: 5
Coverage: 1935 to the present.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Wiley InterScience Some full text
Wiley InterScience publishes more than 1,700 peer-reviewed journals from Wiley and Blackwell in the life and physical sciences, medicine and allied health, engineering, humanities and social sciences. Many of the titles are published for academic and professional societies. University of Southern Maine has access to to most, but not all, journal titles from Wiley.
Unrestricted Resource  William P. Palmer III Collection Some full text
The William P. Palmer III Collection of archaeological material from Mexico and Central America and ethnographic holdings from the Northwest Coast of the United States and Canada is the Hudson Museum's pre-eminent collection. The Palmer Collection features an internationally significant assemblage of 2,828 Precolumbian ceramics, lithics and gold work dating from 2000 BC to the Spanish Conquest. In addition to its Precolumbian component, the collection includes over 200 objects from the Northwest Coast that date to the heyday of Northwest Coast collecting, 1875-1930. (More about the collection: http://library.umaine.edu/hudson/palmer/about.asp ).
Unrestricted Resource  Windows on Maine Resource contains images Resource contains video
Windows on Maine is a pilot project to develop an online service offering streaming video programs and clips, and other primary and secondary digital resources, via broadband and wireless connections. It features a searchable database of complete programs and video clips from Maine Public Broadcasting Network's award winning historical series, HOME, the Story of Maine and its signature science series, Quest, Investigating Our World. Rich multimedia that further documents Maine's history and the Gulf of Maine ecology has been selected from collections of the state's cultural institutions, and complements the video archive.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 Some full text
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 87 document projects with more than 2,800 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,060 primary authors. It includes as well book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Coverage: 1600-2000

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Women's Studies International Some full text
Index to the interdisciplinary field of women's studies, this database covers material in the fields of arts and humanities, business, economics, education, history, international relations, political science, public policy, and sociology. Covers from 1972 forward, and includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  World Data Analyst (Encyclopaedia Britannica) Some full text
Country Snapshots and Ranked Statistics for countries. World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. One create tables, charts, export the information to a spreadsheet for printing and data crunching, and also link to country articles in Encyclopedia Britannica.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  WorldCat Some full text
Bibliographic records for more than 36 million items held at OCLC member libraries throughout the world. Includes all types of information resources. Updated daily. Links to ILLiad form
Licensed Number of Users: 7

Unrestricted Resource  WorldCat.org
A free version of WorldCat that can be easily searched by title, subject, or person. Search results can be refined to limit to author name, content or subject area, format (e.g. article, book, visual material, sound recording, serial), language, and year. After selecting a title and entering one's location, WorldCat.org identifies the closest libraries that own it, and links to the item's record in those libraries' catalogs.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Some full text
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts from CSA indexes more than 1,500 periodicals in the fields of political science, international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. Combining the data of the prior print Political Science Abstracts and ABC Pol Sci, the indexing begins in 1975, and is updated monthly. Approximately two thirds of current journals covered are published outside of the United States.
Coverage: 1975+

Unrestricted Resource  Wright American Fiction 1851-1875 Some full text
This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors. See this page for more information. Collection last updated on September 3, 2005.