Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Biographies



Books: Use the Library Catalog


Search in for


Indexes & Databases


AccessScience Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology over 8,500 articles, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, Science News® and ScienCentral®

American National Biography Online Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Between 1936 and 1938, the WPA Federal Writers' Project hired field workers to collect the life histories of former slaves. Transcripts for 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states, were then compiled by the Library of Congress. The collection and the index are now searchable online.
Coverage: 1936-1938

Contemporary Authors Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after 1959. Initial release features 50 authors derived from CLC print volumes 95-99 and 50 retrospective entries. Updates of 10-12 new authors will be added about 6 times a year as print volumes are published and 10-20 retrospective entries will be added each time. CLC Select may be searched separately or simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography
Coverage: 1998-

Dictionary of Literary Biography Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after 1959. Initial release features 50 authors derived from CLC print volumes 95-99 and 50 retrospective entries. Updates of 10-12 new authors will be added about 6 times a year as print volumes are published and 10-20 retrospective entries will be added each time. CLC Select may be searched separately or simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography

Oxford African American Studies Center Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available Resource contains images
This database provides a comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Among the Oxford reference sources included are Black Women in America, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, and Africana. Subjects include arts, leisure, business, economics, education, politics, history, religion, science, and medicine. This resource also includes primary sources, images, maps, charts, tables, and thematic timelines.
Licensed Number of Users: 1

Scribner Writers Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series.