Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Book Reviews



Books: Use the Library Catalog


Search in for


Indexes & Databases


ARBAonline (American Reference Books Annual Online) Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
The most comprehensive, authoritative database for quality reviews of print and electronic reference works. Featuring more than 9,000 reviews of reference works, ARBAonline lets you identify and assess reference publications with confidence and ease, and enables you to keep your library collection up-to-date, maintain quality standards, and ensure depth of coverage.
Coverage: 1997 +

Book Index with Reviews Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Book Index with Reviews has information on over 4 million book titles (including audiobooks), around 700,000 music and DVD/video titles, citations to millions of reviews in peer-reviewed journals and popular magazines, and links to 800,000 full-text reviews. Also includes full-text first chapters of many books, an all-editions grouping function, Lexile scores, a rating guide based on retail and library sales, and the opportunity to save searches or create alerts. A one-click URSUS search is available from each title listing.

Choice Reviews Online Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and Choice Reviews Online for collection development and scholarly research. Choice reaches almost every undergraduate college and university library in the United Stat

RCL(Resources for College Libraries) web Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
RCL is the long-awaited successor to Books for College Libraries (BCL3). The core list features over 65,000 titles in 61 curriculum-specific subjects. Titles have been selected for your academic library by more than 300 subject specialists and bibliographers.