Books: Use the Library Catalog
Archive of European Integration
Includes materials on the topic of European integration and unification.
Archives Database (Maine Collections)
The Archives database is a catalog of three prominent archival collections on Maine and the Canadian Maritime Provinces: the Maine Folklife Center and Special Collections at Fogler Library located at the University of Maine, Orono, and the Acadian Archives/Archives Acadiennes located on the Fort Kent campus. Cataloging is incomplete for all three Archives.
Coverage: For a complete record of holdings, researchers should contact the respective archives.
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Dipolomacy
Contains digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.
Coverage: Pre 18th Century to current
CogPrints Electronic Archive
Searchable electronic archive of full-text papers in all areas of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, as well as computer science, philosophy, biology, medicine, anthropology, and any other areas of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition. Includes pre-prints and reprints from published journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and personal collections.
Collection of National Copyright Laws: UNESCO Culture Sector
Provides access to national copyright and related rights legislation of UNESCO member states.
Digital Collections at the University of Maine System Libraries
![]()
ETD Electronic Theses and Dissertations; Maine Music Box, William P Palmer III Collection, Robert Venn Carr, Jr, Collection, Windows on Maine, William S. Cohen Papers, Manuscript Finding Aids, Maine Government Documents, Maine Humanities Council, History of Maine Fisheries, Listening Center Online, Cooperative Forestry Research Unit, Kennebec: A Portfolio of Maine Writing, NetLibrary, Maine Town Reports.
Frontiers in Education Clearing House
Full-text proceedings of the annual Frontiers in Education conference, an important engineering education conference sponsored by IEEE and the American Society for Engineering Education. Indexed by conference session and author name. Requires Adobe Acrobat software.
Coverage: 1995-present
GeoScienceWorld
A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
Coverage: Varies by title
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents “supports local, state and federal analysis and decision-making needs and assists academics of all disciplines in homeland defense and security related research.” Access to the site for the University of Maine System is granted via proxy and IP authentication.
Note: It is recommended to use the Internet Explorer (IE) browser for this resource.
Literature Online (LION)
A fully searchable library of over 300,000 works of English and American literature, published by Chadwyck-Healy.
Licensed Number of Users: 4
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center is your most current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world
Maine Music Box
![]()
The University of Maine's Fogler Library in partnership with the Bagaduce Music Lending Library and the Bangor Public Library has launched the Maine Music Box. The Maine Music Box contains digitized images of five collections of manuscript scores and sheet music. Most of the collections are from the Bagaduce Music Lending Library in Blue Hill, Maine. A total of 22,641 titles will be accessible when the digitization and cataloging of the pilot project is complete. Selected scores will have an associated computer generated sound file. Other scores, based on faculty request, may have associated “Scorch” files. Scorch software creates a file that allows one to listen while following a cursor through the score; the viewer may also manipulate key and instrumentation. The database currently has 22,641 titles with 600 MIDI files and 100 Scorch files.
National Gallery of Art: the collection
Presents information about the collection at the National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C. Allows users to search the collection by artist, title, or a combination of criteria. Contains a list of paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, and works on paper that are grouped by school. Links to the National Gallery of Art
National Sea Grant Library Database
The National Sea Grant Library, NSGL, is the most comprehensive collection of Sea Grant funded documents in the world. The NSGL was established in 1970 as the official Sea Grant archive and the collection covers a wide variety of subjects, including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation and law..
Coverage: From 1965
NISEE: Earthquake Engineering Online Archive
Index to technical reports from seven earthquke engineering and structural mechanics laboratories.
overage: From 1971
NoveList
A leading electronic fiction resource. NoveList provides enhanced subject access to over 100,000 fiction titles. With NoveList, you can: - Find fiction titles based on a favorite author, title, or description - Browse lists based on genre or awards (over 1000 pre-made lists) - Search the database using Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) - Search by subject heading, reviews, publishers; basically every field in the title record - Read and use feature articles, book discussion guides, and book talks (children and YA) developed exclusively for NoveList - Explore materials developed to increase your skills when working with a reader
To check coverage: http://www.epnet.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=16
NoveList K-8
NoveList K-8 is for teachers and younger readers who want to find fiction titles for classroom use or reading. It covers K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's chapter books and young adult titles. Search options include theme, setting, instructional unit, culture, and more. Includes full-text book reviews, teacher resources, thematic units, and BookTalks. Updated monthly.
To check coverage: http://www.epnet.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=9&topicID=17
Oxford African American Studies Center
This database provides a comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Among the Oxford reference sources included are Black Women in America, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, and Africana. Subjects include arts, leisure, business, economics, education, politics, history, religion, science, and medicine. This resource also includes primary sources, images, maps, charts, tables, and thematic timelines.
Licensed Number of Users: 1
Slavery & Abolition in the US
Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s is a digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century. The works in this collection reflect arguments on both sides of the slavery debate and include first person narratives, legal proceedings and decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works. The publications are all drawn from the holdings of the Millersville University Library and the Dickinson College Library, as well as each of their respective Special Collections Departments. The collection includes more than 15,000 individual pages of printed text and corresponding searchable transcriptions.
Techstreet: Technical Information Superstore
One-stop source for industry codes and standards from around the world; Techstreet is most valuable for its comprehensive coverage of technical and engineering standards published by ANSI and other organizations. Many standards can be purchased and downloaded online. Techstreet also indexes books, software products, physical property data, and free engineering trade magazines.
United States State Materials
Directory of web pages to United States state legislatures, constitutions, statutes, session laws, codes and regulations. Text Only Version.
Coverage: Current
William P. Palmer III Collection
The William P. Palmer III Collection of archaeological material from Mexico and Central America and ethnographic holdings from the Northwest Coast of the United States and Canada is the Hudson Museum's pre-eminent collection. The Palmer Collection features an internationally significant assemblage of 2,828 Precolumbian ceramics, lithics and gold work dating from 2000 BC to the Spanish Conquest. In addition to its Precolumbian component, the collection includes over 200 objects from the Northwest Coast that date to the heyday of Northwest Coast collecting, 1875-1930. (More about the collection: http://library.umaine.edu/hudson/palmer/about.asp ).
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 87 document projects with more than 2,800 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,060 primary authors. It includes as well book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Coverage: 1600-2000
Wright American Fiction 1851-1875
This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors. See this page for more information. Collection last updated on September 3, 2005.
