Books: Use the Library Catalog
CredoReference
Online reference resources from numerous publishers. This reference resource can be searched by individual title, broad subject headings, cross-references, audio and images. Use its research mapper to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in (a) visual form. Examples of titles are: Bloomsbury Guide to Art, Bridgeman Art Library Archive, Columbia Encyclopedia, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Harvard Dictionary of Music, and the Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science. The complete list of titles is available on the CREDO Reference site.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Google Book Search
Search the full text of Books .. You can see books in Full View if the book is out of copyright, or if the publisher or author has asked to make the book fully viewable. The Full View allows you to view any page from the book, and if the book is in the public domain, you can download, save and print a PDF version … If the publisher or author has given us permission, you can see a limited number of pages from the book as a preview…The Snippet View, like a card catalog, shows information about the book plus a few snippets … [with] No Preview Available like a card catalog, you're able to see basic information about the book. …For every book, you'll see links directing you to bookstores where you can buy the book and libraries where you can borrow it.
NetLibrary Any user may create an account by clicking the Netlibrary link within the Indexes and Databases or Maine Databases websites. Users accessing Netlibrary titles through URSUS may create an account through the special "Create a Netlibrary Account" link in the record. Click the links below to browse lists of e-book titles available through the license for the State of Maine.
The Netlibrary collection is a collection of 7,885 ebooks (4,480 Netlibrary titles and 3,405 Project Gutenberg titles). The collection is accessible to all Maine citizens. Users accessing titles from a recognized IP may view ebooks online in 15 minute intervals. Users who wish to view ebooks remotely, or check out an ebook for a four hour loan period, must create a Netlibrary account.
4,480 Netlibrary titles
3,405 Project Gutenberg public domain titles
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Premium is a cross-searchable collection of over 125 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by Oxford University Press. The scope is broad, including works in the areas of science and medicine, the humanities and social sciences, and business and law. Content includes world maps, illustrations, timelines, weblines, and key titles from the Oxford Companions series. English dictionaries and thesauri, guides to grammar and usage, and dictionaries of etymology, foreign languages, quotations, and names are provided.
SpringerLink
SpringerLink provides access to full-text STM (scientific, technical, medical) journals, book series, books, and reference works published by Springer and its imprints.
Access to resources within SpringerLink varies by campus.
Springer e-books 2005+ UM, USM
Springer e-journals 1997+ (unlimited users)
