Books: Use the Library Catalog
Access UN
Index to United Nations documents and publications. Provides full-text access to publications of the General Assembly, the Security Council, and the Economic and Social Council.
Coverage: 1998 -
Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS)
All image and text documents that the Nuclear Regulatory Commission has made public since November 1, 1999, as well as bibliographic records (some with abstracts and full text) that the NRC made public before November 1999.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications
Coverage: More than 500,000 records generated since July 1976 are contained in the CGP and it is updated daily.
Congressional Bills: GPO Access
All published versions of bills from the 103rd (1993-1994) Congress forward
Coverage: 103rd (1993-94)-
Congressional Research Service Reports
Includes selected Congressional Research Service reports, indexed and searchable.
CRIS - Current Research Information System
A searchable database of U.S. Department of Agriculture funded research. Covers on-going and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Search by keyword, investigator, agency, institution, state, and project status and type as well as by classification codes. Database records include listings of publications resulting from the funded research.
Directory of Bills (Maine State Legislature)
Maine Legislature Legislative Documents (L.D.) For the 119th Legislature-
Coverage: 119th Legislature-
Energy Citations Database
Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical reports and papers sponsored by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Coverage: From 1948
Esp@cenet: European Patent Office
This patent database provided by the European Patent Office covers patents from over 20 countries and the World Patent Organization. Links to the full text of the patents and applications are provided.
Coverage: From 1920
EUR-Lex :the portal to European Union law
Document database on European Union Law. Includes Official Journal,Treaties,Legislation, Legislation in preparation, Case-law, Parliamentary questions, Documents of public interest, Enlargement
Europa:gateway to the European Union
EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
HeinOnline U. S. Congressional Documents Library
Searchable database of Annals of the Congress of the United States (1789-1824) -- Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837) -- Congressional Globe (1833-1873) -- Congressional Record (1873-1880, 1996-2003),U.S. Statutes at Large (1789-2004),American State Papers (1789-1838), Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789)and other important congressional material.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents “supports local, state and federal analysis and decision-making needs and assists academics of all disciplines in homeland defense and security related research.” Access to the site for the University of Maine System is granted via proxy and IP authentication.
Note: It is recommended to use the Internet Explorer (IE) browser for this resource.
Legislative Reports (Maine State Legislature)
Legislative reports, study reports, executive summaries of reports of the Maine State Legislature
Coverage: 117th Legislature-
Maine Census Data Population Totals
Numeric data base of U.S. Census population totals for Maine minor civil Divisions (cities, towns) and counties, from each decennial census, 1790 to present. Special search keys provided include: county/year; town/year; population threshold (maximum or minimum); population trend (increasing or decreasing); and master list of towns. Some annotation is included for boundary changes of minor civil divisions.
Coverage: From 1790
Maine Revised Statutes
Maine Revised Statutes current to the 123rd Legislature
Coverage: Current to the 123rd Legislature
Military & Government Collection
Search over 600 military titles, government periodicals, trade publications and newsweeklies for topics concerning all branches of the military. Full text is available for more than a third of the periodicals indexed. Over 240 pamphlets are also included.
To check coverage: http://www.epnet.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=4&topicID=111
Coverage: varies by title; most indexing and fulltext starts in the 1990s
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Contains summaries of more than 140,000 federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research on criminal justice. Topics covered include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime.
Coverage: 1970-present
ODS: Official documents of the United Nations (Multilingual)
Official Document System of the United Nations(ODS)covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993, and selected earlier coverage.
Coverage: 1993- and selected earlier coverage
PEARL (Public Education Access to Environmental Information in Maine)
PEARL is designed to improve access to information on over 5700 Maine lakes. It is a cooperative effort initiated, coordinated, and maintained at the University of Maine by the Senator George J. Mitchell Center for Environmental and Watershed Research ( GMC ) and the UMaine Department of Spatial Information Science and Engineering ( SIE ).
STAT-USA
Provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce, STAT-USA/Internet is an extensive collection of U.S. economic and finance data, international trade statistics, and market research reports. It is divided into two main areas: State of the Nation and GLOBUS & NTDB.
Licensed Number of Users: 1
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Updated annually.
TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases, 1965 – present.
Coverage: Varies
UNBISNET: United Nations Bibliographic Information System
Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis as a result of retrospective conversion. UNBISnet also provides instant access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages of the UN (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish), including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward. Voting records, and index to speeches.
Coverage: 1979-
United States State Materials
Directory of web pages to United States state legislatures, constitutions, statutes, session laws, codes and regulations. Text Only Version.
Coverage: Current
USA.gov
USA.gov is the official web portal of the U.S. government, but also provides organized access to state, local and tribal government sites. It gives answers to frequent questions from citizens, businesses and nonprofits, government employees, and visitors, including: government auctions, applying for government jobs or benefits; contacting elected officials; getting a passport; renewing one’s drivers license; access to vital records; getting a state business license; finding government benefits; and getting border wait times. Information is arranged by topic. Other search options include a keyword search engine, with results grouped by broad subject area; advanced search; and an A-Z agency listing.
USPTO Web Patent Database: PATFT and AppFT
For patents from 1976 to the present it provides searching by classification system, title and abstract words, inventor and company name and many other fields. For patents prior to 1976 you must search by patent number or the classification system. There is no searching by inventor or title for the older patents.
Coverage: From 1790
USPTO Web Trademark Database
TESS contains more than 3 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks.
