Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

News Sources



Books: Use the Library Catalog


Search in for


Indexes & Databases


Christian Science Monitor Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Index to and full text coverage from 1988 to the present of a major daily (M-F) newspaper offering international and US news and features.

Maine News Index Online Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Created by the Portland Public Library, the Maine News Index Online is a database of Maine newspaper and magazine citations and abstracts. The library's Portland Room, which houses special collections, maintains a web page listing titles indexed at http://www.portlandlibrary.com/locations/portlandroom.htm#newsindex

Maine Newsstand Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Index to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers. Database includes comprehensive coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present). Updated regularly.

New York Times Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Index to and full text coverage of the US newspaper of record from 1980 to the present. Offers in-depth coverage of national and international news, plus transcripts of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conferences.

New York Times Article Archive Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
The New York Times Article Archive provides indexing for the New York Times from 1851 to the present. Related resources: online full text and indexing of the New York Times is available through the database ProQuest Newspapers for 1999 to present; The New York Times Index (a print index) covers 1851 to present; the Personal Name Index to the New York Times (a print index) covers 1851-1989. Please consult your campus library for help with these, and for access to microfilm or other full-text sources of the New York Times from 1851 to present.
Coverage: From 1851

Newspapers (Proquest) Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title. Maine papers included: Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), and selected business coverage from Maine Times(1994-2002) and Central Maine Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).

ProQuest Newspapers Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title. Maine papers included: Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), and selected business coverage from Maine Times(1994-2002) and Central Maine Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).

Regional Business News Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Regional Business News is a collection of full text newswires which incorporates news information from all over the world. Included in this database are A&G Information, Africa News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business Newswire, Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network and Phillips Business Information Highlights. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. In order to maintain the most current collection of news, this database contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources. Several hundred articles are added to Regional Business News database each day.

Wall Street Journal Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Select Publication Search Tab and then type in or scroll through alphabetic list to link to the Wall Street Journal.
Index to and full text coverage of the nation's leading business daily from 1984.
Coverage: Coverage from 1984

Washington Post Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Index to and full text coverage of the Washington Post from 1987 to the present. Coverage of national, international, and local news.