Skip to the following Area:

USM Libraries

Physics



Books: Use the Library Catalog


Search in for


Indexes & Databases


Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
All image and text documents that the Nuclear Regulatory Commission has made public since November 1, 1999, as well as bibliographic records (some with abstracts and full text) that the NRC made public before November 1999.

Annual Reviews Online Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the biological, medical, physical and social sciences.
Coverage: 1996+

Energy Citations Database Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical reports and papers sponsored by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Coverage: From 1948

Esp@cenet: European Patent Office Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
This patent database provided by the European Patent Office covers patents from over 20 countries and the World Patent Organization. Links to the full text of the patents and applications are provided.
Coverage: From 1920

GeoRef Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef covers a number of areas of geology and related disciplines including: geochemistry, geophysics, hydrology, mineralogy, and paleontology. Indexes over 3,500 journals as well as books, reports, theses and dissertations, maps, and conference proceedings and corresponds to the following print indexes: Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Updated monthly.
Coverage: 1785+ for North America and 1933+ for the rest of the world.

GeoRef Preview Database Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
This database contains new, unedited references that are being prepared for addition to the GeoRef database, one of the premier geological literature databases. A keyword search can be performed on all fields at once, or you may choose to search directly on titles, authors, dates, or source information. There are no abstracts. Once a record has been added to GeoRef, the record is purged from this database. Updated weekly.

ScienceDirect Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/licensing/additional/freedom/

SciFinder Scholar Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Some full text available
Covers literature (including patents) on all branches of chemistry, as well as related fields. Includes data from Chemical Abstracts and the MEDLINE database. Search options include keyword, CAS Registry number, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and more.
Licensed Number of Users: 1

USPTO Web Patent Database: PATFT and AppFT Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
For patents from 1976 to the present it provides searching by classification system, title and abstract words, inventor and company name and many other fields. For patents prior to 1976 you must search by patent number or the classification system. There is no searching by inventor or title for the older patents.
Coverage: From 1790