Books: Use the Library Catalog
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Between 1936 and 1938, the WPA Federal Writers' Project hired field workers to collect the life histories of former slaves. Transcripts for 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states, were then compiled by the Library of Congress. The collection and the index are now searchable online.
Coverage: 1936-1938
Civil Rights Digital Library
![]()
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Cooperative Forestry Research Unit (University of Maine)
This database focuses on ecology, economics, and growth and management of Maine forests. Contains the full-text of University of Maine's Cooperative Forestry Research Unit's (CFRU) reports as well as other publications resulting from research by CFRU staff and associates. Searchable by subject category such as hardwood management, harvesting, and thinning. The database can be browsed by author, subject, and title.
Coverage: 1970-present
Oxford African American Studies Center
This database provides a comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Among the Oxford reference sources included are Black Women in America, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, and Africana. Subjects include arts, leisure, business, economics, education, politics, history, religion, science, and medicine. This resource also includes primary sources, images, maps, charts, tables, and thematic timelines.
Licensed Number of Users: 1
Slavery & Abolition in the US
Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s is a digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century. The works in this collection reflect arguments on both sides of the slavery debate and include first person narratives, legal proceedings and decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works. The publications are all drawn from the holdings of the Millersville University Library and the Dickinson College Library, as well as each of their respective Special Collections Departments. The collection includes more than 15,000 individual pages of printed text and corresponding searchable transcriptions.
