Books: Use the Library Catalog
Agricultural Statistics
Statistical compendium issued yearly by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, covering agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Coverage: From 1994
Census 2000 Gateway
Access to population, housing, social and economic statistics from the 2000 Census.
E-Stat (Statistics Canada)
E-Stat is a statistical database supported by Statistics Canada, the Canadian central statistical agency. It covers economic, political and social data coverning Canada and its provinces. Data is available form the Canadian Census from 1986-2006 and the historical censuses from 1666-1871.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States is a 2006 Cambridge University Press publication and database that updates and expands the Census Bureau's 1975 work of the same name. It contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Also covers topics that received little or no coverage in the 1975 edition: American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, and ethnicity. Allows one to graph and combine data from different tables into custom tables, and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications. Also available as a five-volume print set in many URSUS libraries.
PEARL (Public Education Access to Environmental Information in Maine)
PEARL is designed to improve access to information on over 5700 Maine lakes. It is a cooperative effort initiated, coordinated, and maintained at the University of Maine by the Senator George J. Mitchell Center for Environmental and Watershed Research ( GMC ) and the UMaine Department of Spatial Information Science and Engineering ( SIE ).
STAT-USA
Provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce, STAT-USA/Internet is an extensive collection of U.S. economic and finance data, international trade statistics, and market research reports. It is divided into two main areas: State of the Nation and GLOBUS & NTDB.
Licensed Number of Users: 1
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Updated annually.
Statistical Resources on the Web (University of Michigan Documents Center)
This University of Michigan Documents Center site is a comprehensive portal to statistics. Statistical Resources on the Web includes information on agriculture, business and industry, consumers, cost of living, demographics, economics, education, energy, environment, finance and currency, foreign economics, foreign governments, foreign trade, government finances, health, housing, labor, military, politics, science, sociology, transportation, and weather. Frames and no-frames versions of the database are available. The arrangement of the site, with an alphabetical quick jump index and a prominent directory of topics under broad headings, makes it easily navigable. A site map is also provided and there is a choice of search engines. It is obvious at a glance why this well-designed site has won numerous awards.--Reviewed Apr. 2, 2001, Best Free Reference Web Sites 2001, RUSA quarterly, fall 2001, comp. by the MARS Best Free Websites Committee, RUSA, ALA
World Data Analyst (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
Country Snapshots and Ranked Statistics for countries. World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. One create tables, charts, export the information to a spreadsheet for printing and data crunching, and also link to country articles in Encyclopedia Britannica.
