Books: Use the Library Catalog
AccessScience
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology over 8,500 articles, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, Science News® and ScienCentral®
Annals of American History
Provides access to over 2,100 original full-text source documents on United States history from 1493 to the present. Includes speeches, essays, biographies, landmark court decisions, poems, interviews, and editorials from more than 1,500 authors.
Britannica Online
With access to four encyclopedias-Encyclopædia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia- Britannica Online is a site for all ages. Users can locate information quickly by using Boolean operators; browsing A-Z; or typing in words, phrases, or questions to receive a list of relevance-ranked articles. In addition to providing answers to a multitude of questions, Britannica Online also leads users to additional information about their topics though related articles, links to outside Web sites, and bibliographies.
Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story
Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature
Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Dictionary of Newfoundland English Online
The online version of the Dictionary of Newfoundland English is provided as part of the Newfoundland and Labrador Heritage Web Site Project. The print version of the dictionary was published by the University of Toronto Press. The online version contains a preface, introduction, bibliography, works cited section, abbreviations, a supplement, and an index.
EduMine Dictionary of Mining, Mineral and Related Terms
The EduMine Dictionary of Mining, Minerals and Related Terms is a dictionary of more than 26,000 terms and definitions with extensive cross-referencing. Original content was compiled by the US Bureau of Mines. This XML version was translated and is supported by EduMine.
Enciclopedia Universal en Espanol Online
Enciclopedia Universal en Español contains over 47,000 articles, 8,300 photos and images, as well as over 390 maps and 500 tables, making it the most detailed and comprehensive online encyclopedia in the Spanish language. Enciclopedia Universal en Español is perfect for native Spanish speakers, bi-lingual students and students learning Spanish. Enciclopedia Juvenil, linked from the page for the Enciclopedia Universal en Español, includes a Spanish elementary encyclopedia, images, Spanish-language videos, and Spanish learning materials specifically designed for younger students.
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century
Encyclopedia of Human Development
The Encyclopedia of Human Development is the first comprehensive, authoritative, and informative reference work that presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education in a way that is not too technical. With more than 600 entries, this three-volume Encyclopedia covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more.
Encyclopedia of Life
A new project to create an online reference source and database for every one of the 1.8 million species that are named and known on this planet.
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field, featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.
Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th ed
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone reference in its field. This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Enyclopedia
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.
International Encyclopedia of Communication
The International Encyclopedia of Communication represents the definitive reference source in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field. This authoritative work is jointly published with the International Communication Association (ICA), the leading academic association of the discipline.
Merriam-Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged
Includes definitions for over 470,000 words and 140,000 word etymologies. Search options allow users to search for definitions, spellings, rhymes, rhymes, homophones, and authors quoted.
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Oxford African American Studies Center
This database provides a comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Among the Oxford reference sources included are Black Women in America, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, and Africana. Subjects include arts, leisure, business, economics, education, politics, history, religion, science, and medicine. This resource also includes primary sources, images, maps, charts, tables, and thematic timelines.
Licensed Number of Users: 1
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Premium is a cross-searchable collection of over 125 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by Oxford University Press. The scope is broad, including works in the areas of science and medicine, the humanities and social sciences, and business and law. Content includes world maps, illustrations, timelines, weblines, and key titles from the Oxford Companions series. English dictionaries and thesauri, guides to grammar and usage, and dictionaries of etymology, foreign languages, quotations, and names are provided.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English
World Data Analyst (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
Country Snapshots and Ranked Statistics for countries. World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. One create tables, charts, export the information to a spreadsheet for printing and data crunching, and also link to country articles in Encyclopedia Britannica.
