|
Alternatives to the Research Paper
Introduction
| Reference Sources
| Indexes & Databases
| Internet Resources
| Citation Styles
For further research assistance, please contact
Evelyn Greenlaw (evelyng@usm.maine.edu; 753-6541) or Maureen Perry
(mperry@usm.maine.edu; 753-6546), Librarians at Lewiston-Auburn
College Library, University of Southern Maine.
In order to find books, journal titles, videos,
government documents and other materials held in the University
of Maine System you will need to consult URSUS, the online catalog.
Because journal article citations are not individually included
in URSUS, you will need to use a discipline-specific index to find
this information (see Resources by Subject).
If you do not know the exact subject heading describing the topic you need, try doing a keyword search using other word/s related to that topic and then click on the subject heading links found within the relevant records to find additional, useful resources.
The Library of Congress provides a breakdown of the call number classification scheme. To find a listing of call numbers click on any of the subcategories to see more detail.
The following is a listing of selected subject headings useful for finding books on research paper alternatives. Each subject heading is hotlinked directly to URSUS
Composition and exercises English language
Composition language arts
Critical thinking
Educational evaluation--United States
Interdisciplinary approach in education
Report writing
Teaching--methods
To find books, journal titles, videos, government documents and other materials not available through the University of Maine System or MaineInfoNet, please check Worldcat, which includes bibliographic records for more than 36 million items held at OCLC member libraries throughout the world and is updated daily.
To obtain materials not located at your USM, but still within URSUS, you will need to click on the Request button on the URSUS screen and enter your name and barcode number (found under the barcode on your USM Card, which begins with 25022....). Your barcode will need to be activated at the Circulation Desk.
If the item is not available through the University of Maine System (URSUS) or Maine InfoNet you can request it via Interlibrary Loan (Illiad).
Reference sources are useful tools to obtain
background information and to develop a vocabulary of possible search
terms. The following items are print resources available within
the University of Southern Maine system.
Developing reflective judgment : understanding and promoting intellectual growth and critical thinking in adolescents and adults
GOR Stacks BF447 K56 1994
Increasing the teaching role of academic libraries
POR Stacks LB1025.2 .N456 no.18
Assessing writing across the curriculum : diverse approaches and practices
LEW Stacks PE1404 .A875 1997
Interdisciplinarity : essays from the literature
LEW Reserve LB2361.5 .I55 1998
Manifesto of transdisciplinarity
LEW Stacks B67 .N55 2002
Writing-across-the-curriculum and the academic library : a guide for librarians, instructors, and writing program directors
LEW Stacks Z675.U5 W83 1995
After rhetoric [electronic resource] : the study of discourse beyond language and culture
E-Book
Common ground [electronic resource] : feminist collaboration in the academy
E-Book
Legacy : a step-by-step guide to writing personal history
LEW Stacks CT25 .S62 1997
Making the writing and research connection with the I-search process : a how-to-do-it manual for teachers and school librarians
LEW Stacks Z711.2 .J8 1997
Researching and writing : across the curriculum
GOR Stacks LB2369 .H84 1996
Standards-based & responsive evaluation
POR Stacks H62 .S738 2004
Writing in multicultural settings
LEW Stacks PE1405 .U6 W75 1997
The USM Libraries provide access to a number of electronic databases. When accessing them from a location other than on campus, you will be prompted for your last name and the barcode number which begins with 25022...located on your USM Card. Your card will have to be first activated at one of the Circulation service points. The Faculty Services guide and the Finding Articles tutorial provide more information on how to find articles.
You can find a subject listing of available databases on the Resources by Subject page. They are also listed alphabetically by title. The following are a sample of the databases available to the Unversity of Southern Maine community.
Academic Search Premier
Date coverage: Dates vary by publication. Click here to determine coverage
Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications of which 3,100 are peer reviewed. Academic areas of study include: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text coverage for more than 160 titles and indexes additional journals, major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks.
Education Full Text
ERIC
Date coverage: 1966-present
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and documents on education research and practice. Includes information in the area of educational psychology.
MLA Bibliography*
MLA Bibliography’s strengths include topics relating to grammar and syntax, discourse analysis, and comparative linguistics.
Project MUSE
In the interest of critical thinking, the library recommends the following websites for their authenticity and authority. Thinking Critically about Discipline-Based World Wide Web Resources (UCLA College Library) provides further evaluation criteria.
Alternatives to the Research Paper: Ideas for Library/Information Assignments (Grant MacEwan College)
Creating Effective Library Assignments: A Guide for Faculty (University of Wisconsin- Madison)
Effective Library Assignments (Bowling Green State University)
LIS 100: Libraries, Scholarship, and Technology (University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Plattsburgh Tip Sheet
Term Paper Alternatives (University of California Berkeley)
Tutorial for Developing and Evaluating Assignments (University of Maryland University College)
Plagiarism
Plagiarism Examples (Indiana University School of Education)
USM Academic Integrity Policy
Writing Handbooks
Dissertations and Theses from Start to Finish : Psychology and Related Fields
LEW Reference BF76.5 .C645 1993
St. Martin's Handbook
LEW Reference PE1112 .L86 2003 5th ed.
POR Reference PE1112 .L86 1989
Contains sections on the writing process, sentence construction, punctuation, doing research, and academic writing.
A Writer's Reference, 5th Edition
LEW, POR, GOR Reference PE1408 .H2778 2003
Includes sections on composing and revising, design, sentence structure, grammar, punctuation, writing, and documentation.
Citation Styles
APA Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)
APA Style.org
Online: A Reference Guide to Using Internet Sources
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th edition
POR and GOR Reference BF76.7 .P83 2001; LEW Reserve BF76.7 .P83 2001
Using American Psychlogical Association (APA) Format (Updated to 5th Edition) (Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
The university has also subscribed to Endnote, one of a number of personal reference database programs in use today. The main functions of this program are: maintenance of a database of references, downloading references from other databases, using the database to link to references in word-processed documents, and to generate a bibliography for publicaitons in the correct style. See the Endnote page for assistance.
Created by: Maureen Perry
Last Updated: 05.04.2007
Comments: Ask-A-Librarian
|