go to main page content
University of Southern Maine [home page]
Welcome to the USM Libraries
New Users/Help Your Record
Search the Catalog
Photo Photo Photo
 


USM Libraries Research Tutorial:
Tracking Down Articles With Article Linker
article linker

 Introduction

Objective: After completing this tutorial, whenever you encounter an article citation with no full text version attached in a USM library database, you will be able to use Article Linker to track down the article.

Time for completion: Less than 6 minutes.

System requirements: A recent browser with Flash Player installed. Get Flash Player for free .

Instructions:

  • Read through the text below.
  • View the video demonstrations by clicking the links labelled: "view demo."
  • When each demonstration ends, simply close the browser window to return to the tutorial.
What does Article Linker do?

When you have located an article citation in a USM library database for which there is no link to full text (a complete electronic version), Article Linker will guide you through all 3 of the remaining options for retrieving the article.

 Option 1: Full text through another source

In many cases, Article Linker will guide you to a full text version of the article through another USM library database or the journal publisher's Web site. ( view demo )

 Option 2: A copy at a USM library

If Article Linker is unable to locate a full text version of the article from another source, the next option is to search the URSUS catalog to find out if USM libraries owns the issue of the journal containing the article you are looking for (most likely in print or on microfilm).
( view demo )

Note: If you are a USM student taking none of your classes on campus (Blackboard only, for example), you will not be expected to travel to a USM library to get the article. If this describes you, skip this option and go ahead and request the article through ILLiad (option 3).

 Option 3: ILLiad (inter-library loan)

If the article is not available in full text through another source, nor through your USM home campus library, you would need to request the article through the ILLiad (inter-library loan) system. ( view demo )

 For more help

Though Article Linker does work seamlessly in some situations, that's not always the case. Please don't hesitate to ask a librarian for help if things get confusing!



Created by:Barret Havens
Created on: 03.14.2007
Last Updated: 05.30.2007

 

 

A member of the University of Maine System USM: University of Southern Maine [home page]