Welcome to the USM Libraries
New Users/HelpYour Record
Search the Catalog
PhotoPhotoPhoto
 


Glickman Library - Portland Branch

Introduction | Reference Sources | Indexes & Databases | Internet Resources | Citation Styles

 

For further research assistance, please contact Bill Grubb(bgrubb@usm.maine.edu; 780-4672), Chemistry Liaison, Glickman Library, University of Southern Maine.

 

In order to find books, journal titles, videos, government documents and other materials held in the University of Maine System consult URSUS, the online catalog. Because journal article citations are not individually included in URSUS use a discipline-specific index to find this information (see Resources by Subject). To find materials located elsewhere in Maine, check Maine Info Net.

The following is a listing of selected subject headings relating to Chemistry. Each subject heading is hot linked directly to URSUS.

Acids Chemistry, organic
Agricultural chemistry Crystallization
Alchemy Environmental chemistry
Biochemistry Geochemistry
Chemistry Pharmaceutical chemistry
Chemistry, inorganic  

To obtain materials not located at your USM campus, but located using URSUS, click on the Request button on the URSUS screen and enter your name and barcode number (found under the barcode on your USM Card, always beginning with 25022....). Your barcode will first need to be activated at the Circulation Desk.

For more information see the Services for Faculty or Services for Students pages.

To find books, journal titles, videos, government documents and other materials not available through the University of Maine System or MaineInfoNet, please check WorldCat, which includes bibliographic records for more than 36 million items held at OCLC member libraries throughout the world and is updated daily.

If the item is not available through the University of Maine System (URSUS) or Maine Info Net you can request it via Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)

The Library of Congress provides a breakdown of the call number classification scheme. To find a listing of chemistry call numbers click on any of the subcategories to see more detail.

 

 

Reference sources are useful tools to obtain background information and to develop a vocabulary of possible search terms. The following items are print resources available within the University of Southern Maine system.

The Aldrich Library of 13C and iH F and NMR Spectra
POR Reference QC462.85 .A44 1993

Atlas of Spectra Data and Physical Constants for Organic Compounds, 2nd edition
POR Reference QD257.7 .G7 1975

Beilstein's Index: Trivial Names in Systematic Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry, 1986
POR Reference QD291 .G53 1986

Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry
POR Reference QD411 .C65 1982

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
POR and LEW Reference QD65 .H3 (2003/2004); GOR Reference QD65 .H3 (2002/2003)
Earlier editions available in Portland stacks under call number QD65 .H3 (1997-2002).

Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 5th edition
POR Reference QD246 .b5 1982

Handbook of Environmental Data on Organic Chemicals
POR Reference TD196 .O73V47 2001

Handbook of Inorganic Compounds
POR Reference QD155.5 .H36 1993

Hawleys' Condensed Chemical Dictionary
POR Reference QD5 .C5 2002

Hazardous Chemical Desk Reference
POR Reference T35.3 .H3L49 1997

Hazardous Laboratory Chemicals Disposal Guide, 2nd edition
POR Reference QD64 .A76 1996

How to Find Chemical Information: A Guide for Practicing Chemists, Educators, and Students, 3rd edition
POR Reference QD8.5 .M34 1998

Kirk-Othmer Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th edition
POR Reference TP9 .K54 1999

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, 15th edition
POR and LEW Reference QD65 .L36 1999

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th edition
POR Reference Q123 .M15 2003

Reference Materials for Chemical Analysis: Certification, Availability and Proper Usage
POR Reference QD75.4 .Q34 R42 2001

Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry
POR Reference QD4 .V36 2005

 

Because of the lengthy publishing cycle for a book, information in a book is not always current. Periodical articles are current sources of information. There are two main types of periodicals: scholarly and popular. Scholarly periodicals are usually referred to as journals. Articles in journals contain reports of primary research; the articles are written by experts in the field and for other researchers/scholars; use terms and language specific to that discipline; may include graphs, charts, etc. related to the topic; most often are peer reviewed via an editorial board; are published by professional organization or society, university, research centers, scholarly presses; and often include a bibliography. Popular periodical articles contain general information; are written using easily understood language that appeals to a varied audience; are usually written by journalists or others who are not experts in the field; do not include citations; has a limited or non-existent editorial review board; and may contain glossy photographs. The Finding Articles tutorial provides more information on how to find articles.

To find scholarly articles it is necessary to consult a discipline-specific electronic or print index/database. The following are electronic indexing sources available to the University of Southern Maine community.

BasicBIOSIS
Included are resources related to biochemistry.

BIOSIS Previews
Worldwide in scope, BIOSIS Previews, the premier database in the biological sciences, indexes the literature of the biological and biomedical sciences. Subject coverage includes agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, botany, ecology, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Approximately 5,500 serial publications as well as books, proceedings and meeting abstracts, technical reports, review papers, and patents are indexed. There are 58 separate data fields that can be searched including author, title, publication source, organism, concepts, super taxa, publication type, author affiliation, and abstract keyword. Searches can be limited to review articles. Updated weekly.

Directory of Open Access Journals
Provides full-text articles from over 1145 free peer-reviewed journals covering all scholarly and scientific subjects. Over 310 journals can be searched by article title. Most articles are in English. Records for articles in foreign languages have English abstracts.

Esp@cenet
Date coverage: 1920-present
This patent database provided by the European Patent Office covers patents from over 20 countries and the World Patent Organization. Links to the full text of the patents and applications are provided.

FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts
Date coverage: 1969-present
Index to over 1400 journals as well as standards, conference proceedings, theses, patents, and books in subject areas including food chemistry and microbiology, food product development, food safety, and nutrition. Updated weekly.


GeoRef
Coverage includes geochemistry and crystallography.

IngentaConnect
Date coverage: 1988-present
Indexes 17,000 English-language periodicals. Updated daily.

Medline
Date coverage: 1966-present
Index to more than 3,600 journals covering all areas of clinical and experimental medicine, nursing, dentistry and health administration. Topics related to chemistry are also included. Updated weekly.

Papers First
Papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library.

Patty's Toxicology
Patty's Toxicology presents comprehensive toxicological data for industrial compounds from metals to synthetic polymers. Information for each compound includes CAS numbers, RTECS numbers, physical and chemical properties, threshold limit values (TLV's), permissible exposure limits (PEL's), maximum workplace concentrations (MAK), and biological tolerance values for occupational exposures (BAT).

Proceedings
Citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Date coverage: 1861-present
Representing the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities, this database includes the 350-word abstracts written by the author for those dissertations published after 1979. More limited coverage of master's theses from 1962 on (UM theses are not included); citations for those published after 1987 include 150-word abstracts. Database includes full text of dissertations written at the University of Maine after 1996. This database subscription is funded, in part, by the University of Maine Graduate School.

Science Citation Index, Expanded
Date coverage: 2000-present
Comprehensive multidisciplinary coverage of approximately 5,800 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching multi-disciplines to uncover information relative to their research.

SCOPUS
Date coverage: 1966-present
Provides coverage in the sciences and social sciences through abstracts and cited references from over 14,000 journals and from more than 4000 international publishers. Subjects covered include chemistry, biology, environmental sciences, mathematics, physics, engineering, health and life sciences, social sciences, psychology and economics. SCOPUS also provides citation analysis (back to 1996). With registration for a personal account, SCOPUS can provide saved search functionality and email alerts.

USPTO Web Patent Database
Date coverage: 1790-present
For patents from 1976 to the present it provides searching by classification system, title and abstract words, inventor and company name and many other fields. For patents prior to 1976 you must search by patent number or the classification system. There is no searching by inventor or title for the older patents.

Wiley Interscience
Provides limited full-text access to online journals in the sciences including chemistry.

 

There is no authority control for the Internet. In choosing Internet resources it is imperative to evaluate the authenticity of the source. Thinking Critically about Discipline-Based World Wide Web Resources (UCLA College Library) provides excellent evaluation criteria. The following selected resources have been chosen because of authenticity and comprehensiveness of coverage.

Chemdex.org
Serves as an aggregator site to online chemistry information.

Cheminfo: Chemistry Information Sources from Indiana University
"CHEMINFO, Chemical Information Sources, is designed to help people find and learn how to use chemical information resources on the Internet and elsewhere. It brings together Web sites at Indiana University with significant chemical information content."

Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collection
A product of the Regents of the University of California, this search engine looks for relevant Internet sites based on the search terms entered.

InfoSurf: Chemistry and Biochemistry (University of California-Santa Barbara Library)
Includes links to chemical data sources; materials safety data sheets; chemical departments; and super sites all updated in 2004; awards and prizes; professional societies; conferences, meetings, symposia; publishers all updated in 2000.

Links for Chemistry (WWW Virtual Library)
Maintained by the Chemistry Department, University of Liverpool, this site includes links to university chemistry departments, companies/industries, chemical literature, chemical information, organizations, topics, and other links sites.

Maine's Science, Technology, and Business Library: Chemistry
" As the Science, Technology and Business Research Library for the State of Maine, the Fogler Library serves as a resource for meeting the science, technology and business information needs of the citizens of state. The Library serves as a portal for information resources in these areas. As such, part of the mission of the Library is to collect, evaluate, organize and disseminate science, technology and business information resources to the people of Maine." Includes databases, technical data, and Internet directories.

Web ElementsTM Periodic Table Scholar Edition
For each element there is additional information on the essentials, history, isolation, compounds, uses, physical data, electronic data, nuclear datam biology, geology, structure.

Where to Find Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet
Produced by Interactive Learning Paradigms, Inc., this site provides links to FAQs, regulations, a glossary, software, supplies, and other Internet sites.

 

 

In using resources it is imperative that they be used ethically and legally. The sources listed here provide assistance in following correct citation methods.

USM has a site license for EndNote, a personal reference database program. The main functions of this program include maintenance of a database of references, downloading references from other databases, using the database to link to references in word-processed document, and generating a bibliography in the correct style for publications. See the EndNote Help for further information.

The ACS Style Guide: A Manual for Authors and Editors, 2nd edition
POR Reference QD8.5 .A25 1997

Online: A Reference Guide to Using Internet Sources

Created by: William Sargent
Created on: 09.05.2005
Last Updated: 09.24.2007