|

Introduction
| Reference Sources
| Indexes & Databases
| Internet Resources
| Citation Styles
Below is a list of basic library resources that aid in the study of Children's Literature and Research. This list is not meant to be complete, but is a selective list of available resources. Please see a reference librarian for assistance in the use of these materials or for help in finding others. Please contact Tim Lynch, Research and Instructional Services Librarian (207) 780-5156, tlynch@usm.maine.edu or the Reference Desks of the libraries Gor 780-5344, Por 780-4272, LAC (207) 753-6541 for more information.
USM Journal Subscriptions Useful to Children's Literature
(List derived from Research & Professional Resources in Children's Literature: Piecing a Patchwork Quilt--1995)
The holdings of JOURNAL TITLES are available by using the SEARCH page in URSUS. Key in the JOURNAL TITLE under JOURNAL/MAGAZINE/NEWSPAPER, then look for the word [PERIODICAL].
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Childhood Education
Children's Literature in Education
English Journal
Horn Book Magazine
Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy
Journal of Literacy Research
Journal of Reading
Journal of Youth Services in Libraries
Language Arts
Lion and the Unicorn
New Advocate
New England Reading Association Journal
New York Times Book Review
Reading Teacher
School Library Journal
Science and Children
Wilson Library Bulletin
Young Children
Using the SUBJECT search strategy, these headings may be used in URSUS to locate groups of books and other materials pertaining to that particular subject. You can also use subject headings AFTER you've found a suitable item in URSUS by scanning down toward the bottom of the record. SUBJECT HEADINGS will be listed there as well. REMEMBER when you click on SUBJECT HEADINGS links you are performing a brand new search!
Children's Literature
Children's Stories
Young Adult Literature
Any subject with subdivision --Juvenile Literature (You will have better luck if you LOOK for this designation, rather than trying to create it yourself)
Also please make use of our Finding Articles tutorial created by Barb Mann, should you like electronic help finding articles.
Reference Works (Selected)
(List Compiled using Children's Literature: A Guide to Information Sources 1998)
A to Zoo
Gor. Ref. Z1037 .L715 1998
Subject and Title access to children's picture books. Picture book is defined as a fiction or non-fiction pre-school age work that has as much space devoted to pictures as words. This book by the National Council of Teachers of English
Adventuring with Books: A Booklist for Pre-K-Grade 6
Gor. Ref. Z1037 .N346 1993
Designed for children from pre-school to sixth grade. This work is an attempt to glean the very best books for the age group available. Topics include typical studies for the ages identified. This book by the National Council of Teachers of English
Against Borders: Promoting Books for a Multicultural World
Gor. Ref. PN1009 .A1 M8 1993
This work examines themes and resources specific to individual race's experience and also multiculturalism as a whole.
The Art of Children's Picture Books: A Selective Reference Guide
Gor. Ref. Z1037.1 .M37 1995
This work provides the researcher with artists, styles, criticism and resources to the picture book. Indexed by artist and title, also; author, editor or compiler.
Book Review Digest
Gor. Ref. Z1219 .C96
This index provides access to summaries and reviews of books, as well as age ranges for children's books. Book Review Digest is available from 1905 to the Present. The following subject headings may be useful when using BRD:
- Children's Literature--Works--Preschool through Grade two
- Children's Literature--Works--Grades two through six
- Young Adult Literature--(grades six and up)
Book Review Index
Gor. Ref. Z1035 .A1 B6
The index gives citations to reviews of books from 1965 to the Present. Reviews are symbolized by "c" for Children's, and "y" for Young Adult. Also included are sizes of articles ranging from 1-50, 51-500, and 500+ words.
Books for You: A Booklist for Senior High Students
Por. Ref. PN1009 .A1 G25 1985
A ready-made list of topics and books that would be of interest to older highschool students. This book by the National Council of Teachers of English
Children's Catalog
Gor. Ref. Z1037 .W76
According to the Preface, "is a comprehensive list of fiction and non-fiction books, magazines and web resources for children from preschool through grade six, along with review sources and other professional aids." (p. vii)
Critical Handbook of Children's Literature
Gor. Stacks PN 1009.A1 L84 1994
This work examines aspects of literature as they relate to Children's Lit (Ex. discussions on genre, theme, character, point-of-view, etc.)
Collected Perspectives: Choosing and Using Books for the Classroom
Gor. Ref. PN1009 .A1 C645 1992
Work seems to be a snap-shot of 1000 titles of recent children's book reviews divided by the following sections: Picture Books, Age Groups, Poetry, and Non-Fiction. Entire book is accessible via topical index.
Children's Literature Dictionary
Gor. Ref. PN1008.5 .L38 2002
This work provides long entries to thoroughly explain terms germane to research in Children's Literature.
Children and Books
Gor Stacks PN1009 A1 A7 1964
Gor. Stacks Z718 .C87 1963
This 1964 work, although dated, relays to the reader the philosophy of Children's Literature, its history, personalities, and the concepts that have shaped this genre since its origin.
Children's Literature Review: Excerpts from Reviews, Criticisms and Commentary on Books for Children and Young People
Gor. Stacks PN1009 .A1 C5139
Work is an ongoing review of children's authors and illustrators from 1976 to the present. Articles include an author bio, list of works, and criticism of major works by several different reviewers. Indexes included are author, title, and nationality (all cumulative).
Children's Literature: A Guide to the Criticism.
Gor. Ref PN 1009 .A1 H4647 1987
From the author: "The purpose of this bibliography is to draw together, for scholars and generalists, significant articles, books and disserations relating to children's literature criticism that have originated in disparate disciplines and been published in widely scattered popular and scholarly sources. The emphasis is on twentieth century children's literature, although classics from earlier centuries have been included." (p. ix)
Children's Literature: A Guide to Information Sources
Gor. Ref. Z1037.D35 1998
This is a work with vast coverage of many aspects of children's literature. Included are medal winners, special needs and cultural examples, best reference sources and other bibliographies.
Fiction, Folklore & Fantasy for Children 1876-1985
Gor. Ref. PN 1009 .A1 F43 1986 (2 vols)
Work is a 2 volume index of works from these specialized genres from 1876-1985. Author, Title and Awards indexes make up the whole of the work.
Fifteen Centuries of Children's Literature: An Annotated Chronology of British and American Works in Historical Context
Gor Ref. Z1037 .A1 B582
Work provides annotations to children's works, and is, according to the author, "divided into six time segments: Anglo-Saxon ca. 523-1099; Middle English, 1100-1499; Renaissance to Restoration, 1500-1659; Restoration to American Independence, 1660-1799; Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899; and the first part of the Twentieth Century, 1900-1945" (FCOCL)
Horn Book Guide to Children's and Young Adult Books
Gor. Ref./Stacks PN 1009 .A1 H594
This serial publication is a series of short reviews in Children's Literature arranged by subject. Publication also includes a rating system of 1-6 where 1 is outstanding and 6 is unacceptable. Work is published in the Fall and Spring of each year.
Horn Book Index
Gor. Ref. Z1037 .Al A1
This work is a comprehensive index of titles, authors and illustrators, as well as articles about the same, in the Horn Book Magazine from 1924-1989. Work includes Name and Title as well as subject indexes.
Oxford Companion to Children's Literature
Gor. Ref. PN 1008.5 .C37 1984
Work includes definitions, characters, stories, authors, and other references to assist readers in Children's Literature research.
Plays for Children and Young Adults: An Evaluative Index and Guide
Gor. Ref. PN1627 .K37 1991
Gor. Ref. PN1627 .K37 1996 Suppl.
Work gives those who perform plays for children, information about number of males/females needed, recommendations, story synopsis, royalty charges and performing time.
Play Index
Gor. Ref. PN1620 .P53
Similar to Plays for Children and Young Adults. . . above, this serial work gives author, title and subject information, number of acts, number of people and where to find play. Also included is a quick summary. Gorham Library has from 1949 to 1997.
Research and Professional Resources in Children's Literature: Piecing a Patchwork Quilt.
Gor Ref. PN1009 .A1 R47 1995
This work succeeds in in blending the various disciplines that comprise Children's Literature creating a body of research from those fields.
Twentieth-Century Children's Writers
Gor. Ref. PN1009 .A1 T9 1995
Important writers of the Twentieth Century. Biography, works, dates, descriptive information about works.
Your Reading: A Booklist for Junior High and Middle School Students
Gor. Ref. PN1009 .A1 Y68 1988
Intended for Junior high and Middle School students, this work examines 2000 of the best adolescent books written. Of special concern are how they fit into distinct subject areasas well as literary merit. This is a book by the National Council of Teachers of English.
Biography/Miscelaneous
Bookfinder 4 When Kids Need Books
Gor. Ref. PN1009 .A1 D749 1989 v.4
This work attempts to give children 2 and up books that can help them cope in today's world When Kids Need Books is the 4th volume published in this set beginning in 1977. Topics covered include both everyday subjects and controversial subjects as well. This is a book by the National Council of Teachers of English.
Children's Literature in the Elementary School
Gor. Stacks LB1575.5 .U5 H79 1987
This work analyzes the study of Children's Literature and shows a prospective teacher or researcher how to approach and or develop a Children's Literature research collection. Genres include science fiction, fantasy, traditional literature and poetry among others.
Children's Literature: An Issues Approach
Gor. Stacks PN 1009 .A1 R8 1995
The complicated issues of life: relationships, growing up, divorce, violence, etc. are discussed from a cultural point-of-view. The authors then provide exercises and bibliographies of children's works related to the topic discussed.
Contemporary Authors (Regular biographical and critical entries)
Gor Ref. Z1224. C6
Contemporary Authors: New Revision Series (Existing entries that need significant revision)
Gor Ref. Z1225 .C615
Biographical set that includes list of works, awards and critical information.
El-Hi Textbooks and Serials in Print
Gor. Ref. Z5813 .A51
An all inclusive work, listing "textbooks for the classroom, appropriate reference books for use in elementary and highschools. . .periodicals, maps, pedagogical books, tests, teaching aids, and programmed learning materials in book form." (p.ix)
Elementary School Library Collection: A Guide to Books and Other Media
Gor. Ref. Z1037 .E4 2000
This work exists to help librarians and other educators set-up and maintain a collection of books and other media for children from pre-school to sixth grade. Work is sectioned into Professional, Reference, Periodicals, Nonfiction, Easy and Fiction.
Fifth Book of Junior Authors & Illustrators
Gor. Ref. PN1009 .A1 F47 1983
This book is a collection of short autobiographies and biographies about authors and illustrators most popular by today's standards. This fifth book should be reviewed with previous editions as the books are sequential.
Hit List: Frequently Challenged Books for Children
Gor. Ref. Z1019 .P57 1996
This work examines 23 frequently challenged books; why they were challenged, reviews about the author and work as a whole, as well as suggestions for controlling censorship.
Maine Writers of Fiction for Juveniles
Gor. Ref. PF253 .M2M3
Maine authors, biographies and works
Multicultural Picture Books: Art for Understanding Others
Gor. Ref. Z 1037 .M267 1994
This work looks at a selected collection of picture books depicting various cultures throughout the world. Of interest to the authors are works of excellent stores, art and that they represent the culture depicted.
This is a book by the National Council of Teachers of English.
Our Family Our Friends Our World
Gor. Ref PN1009 .A1 M55 1992
Described as "an annotated guide to significant multicultural books for children and teenagers," this work is divided by geographical area and grade level. Work includes author, title and subject index. This book is by the National Council of Teachers of English.
Portraying Persons with Disabilities: Fiction
Gor. Ref. PN1009 .A1 R63 1992
This work examines the portrayal of people with disabilities in fiction. Chapters look at stereotypes and types of disabilities. This book is by the National Council of Teachers of English.
Something about the Author
Gor. Ref. PN451 .S6
Although this source is primarily biographical, including many aspects of the subjects life and career, some criticism is also considered.
Something about the Author Autobiography Series
Gor. Ref. PN497 .S66
This work is a wonderful insight into the lives of authors in their own words. They talk about works they have done, personal experiences and thoughts along the way.
Subject Guide to Children's Books in Print
Gor. Ref. Z1037 .A1 C483 Work includes all books included in the Children's Books in Print arranged by topical area. Also included are indexes of publishers, wholesalers and distributors by abbreviation used.
Subject Index to Poetry for Children and Young People
Gor. Ref. PN 1023 .S6
This work indexes 157 anthologies of poetry, providing subject indexing from 1957-1975. The library has supplemental works indexing retrospectively before 1964 and sequentially to 1981.
ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER: Scholarly journals on all aspects of Children's Literature.
AMERICAN HUMANITIES INDEX: This humanities database presents "scholarly and creative" journals from the US and Canada, starting from 1975.(AMI)
ERIC: Education database is a giant not only in size but also in worth. There are many articles devoted to the literature of children.
Maine InfoNET: This database allows access to books in the public libraries and private colleges around Maine
MAS ULTRA--SCHOOL EDITION: Popular journals on the topic of Children's Literature
MasterFILE PREMIERE: Scholarly journals on all aspects of Children's Literature.
MIDDLE SEARCH PLUS: 150 popular magazines for middle school students.
MLA International Bibliography: This database looks at Children's Literature from a more academic view and individual works as contributing to literature as a whole.
PRIMARY SEARCH: 60 popular Children's Literature journals
URSUS: The online catalog of the University of Maine System. It will allow one to look up books and other materials from the 15 libraries that make up the University of Maine Libraries System.
ALA Awards Site
Site is from the Association for Library Service to Children, at the American Library Association. Provides much discussion of children's book awards and conferences and workshops devoted to steering the library community and taking the lead in analysis and recognition of childrens books.
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature
This site contains a nice selection of book titles and critiques by age and by subject. Classroom teaching approaches are also included.
CCBC (Cooperative Children's Book Center--School of Education--University of Wisconsin
Although this collection is noncirculating, the CCBC has provided several research guides that may be of interest.
Children's Book Council
This website is features selected authors, books and other fun promotional events. Although it is non-profit, site seems to be vendor driven.
Children's Lit Association
This is a good site for academic study of Children's Literature. Site offers conferences, call for papers, publications and links from a research point-of-view.
Database of Award-winning Children's Literature
This database site allows informational access to 4000 books chosen by 50 different children's awards. Allows searching by readership, keyword or subject.
Fairrosa Cyber Library
An interesting site with lots of full-text of books, fairy-tales and even some discussion. Site is searchable.
Gay and Lesbian Characters and Themes in Children's Books.
Annotated Bibliography by child's age group.
Oyate (Native American Books Reviewed)
Children's Literature from a Native American Perspective. Information, "books to avoid," reviews and catalog from Oyate publishing.
Plains Reading Council
A very welcoming site filled with many excellent links to Children's literature pages and Children's pages in general.
Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators
This is another great site to gain access to the academic and publishing world of Children's Literature. Provided are Discussion Lists, Conference Information, Excellent Links by subject, more.
University of Minnesota Libraries. Research Guides: Fairy Tales
This wonderful pathfinder from the University of Minnesota has a myriad of resources on fairy tales and folklore.
What You Need to Know About: Children's Books
This site is a catch-all dealing with new releases, writers comments, how-tos, awards, links, etc.
Diana Hacker--MLA style
Website of the popular author's style guide
EndNote
How-to guide for the citation assistance program
Online! A Reference Guide Using Internet Resources
Writer's Reference 5th Ed. (Hacker)(Also avialable electronically http:dianahacker.com/writersref)
Gorham REF PE 1408 .H2778 2003
Portland REF
PE 1408 .H2778 2003
Lewiston-Auburn REF PE 1408 .H2778 2003
Writing Style manual that includes both MLA and APA citation and paper styles.
Last Update: 10.2005
Comments: Ask-A-Librarian
|