go to main page content
University of Southern Maine [home page]
Welcome to the USM Libraries
New Users/Help Your Record
Search the Catalog
Photo Photo Photo
Collections
Osher Map Library
Special Collections
Videos
Reserves
More...
Research
Mariner
Mariner
Indexes and Databases
Resources by Subject
Mariner
More...
Reserves
Information Literacy
Interlibrary Loan
Services for Faculty
Services for Students
Ask-A-Librarian
Forms
More...
About the Libraries
Campus Libraries
Policies
Departments/Staff
Contact Us
More...

About the Libraries

Finding, Applying and Funding College

Table Of Contents
Contact Information

Bill Grubb , Coordinator, Information Literacy Program, Glickman Library.
libraryweb@usm.maine.edu or 780-4672.

Posted June 2004

 

Reference Sources

The following sources are available in the Reference Collection (Level 2) of Glickman Library.

Guides to Colleges/Universities

The Insider's Guide to the Colleges: Students on Campus Tell You What You Really Want to Know, 30th Edition
Portland Reference L901 .I54 2004
Arranged alphabetically by state, this volume provides a narrative description of selected schools, with quotes from actual students included.

Peterson's Four Year College 2004
Reference L901 .P447 2004
Includes information on classes, faculty, majors, student life, athletics, tests, costs, financial aid, and how to apply. Entries are arranged alphabetically by state and then alphabetically by institution within that state.

The College Board: College Handbook
Portland Reference LA226 .C6887 2001
Contains a description of colleges/universities arranged alphabetically by institution with an alphabetical state arrangement. Each entry includes freshman class profile, basis for seleection, high school preparatory, financial aid, academics, majors, student life, student sources, and contact information.

FACTS 2001
Portland Reference L901 .N4 2001
This special issue of the journal Connections features a short descritpion of institutiions located in Connecticut, Maine. Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Cermont. There is a separate section for northeast law and medical schools.

Lovejoy's College Guide, 24th Edition
Portland Reference LA226 .L6 1997
Arranged alphabetically by state, each institutional entry includes a section on description, academic character, facilities, specila programs, financial considerations, freshmen admissions, general admissions, transfer and international students, student life, services for disabled students, graduate enrollment statistics. For selected schools there are extended descriptions including color photographs.

Financial Aid Sources

Directory of Financial Aids for Women
Portland Reference LB2338 .D564 1997-1999
E-Book 1999-2001

Financial Aid Tool Kit: Maine's Guide for Higher Education, 2004-2005
Portland Maine Document F55.5.Fi491/2004-2005

The Scholarship Book: The Complete Guide to private Scholarships, Grants, and Loans for Undergraduates
Portland Stacks LB2337.2 .C37 1990

Internet Resources

The following Internet resources provide access to online resources pertaining to finding a college/university, obtaining financial aid, and standardized testing required for admission.

CampusTours.com (http://www.campustours.com/)
Features virtual campus tours.

CollegeBoard.com (http://www.collegeboard.com/)
"The College Board is a national nonprofit membership association whose mission is to prepare, inspire, and connect students to college and opportunity. Founded in 1900, the association is composed of more than 4,300 schools, colleges, universities, and other educational organizations"
(http://www.collegeboard.com/about/index.html). Included on this site are links to information on testing, planning for college, college searching, applying to college, and paying for college.

College Board Tests (http://www.collegeboard.com/testing/)

FastWeb: Free Scholarship and College Searches Plus Financial Aid Tools and More! (http://fastweb.monster.com/)

Federal Student Aid (http://www.studentaid.ed.gov/)

FinAid! The Smart Student Guide to Financial Aid (http://www.finaid.org/)

Finance Authority of Maine (FAME): Education (http://www.famemaine.com/html/education/index.html)

Mapping Your Future (http://www.mapping-your-future.org/)

.

 

 

Definitions

The following definitions include various university officials and teminology associated with college life.

Officials

Bursar: Official of an educational institution responsible for financial matters.

Dean: Official of an educational institution who oversees division of study or the student body.

Instructor: Teachers who does not possess advanced degrees.

Professor: Teacher with advanced academic degrees, most often a PhD.

Provost: Official of an educational institution in charge of faculty and curriculum,

Registrar: Official of an educational institution responsible for student records
including registration.

Other Terms

College: The undergraduate educational institution, either part of a university or a stand-
alone institution.

Community College: Usually a two year college open to those with a high school
diploma or equivalent and a diverse background; more
community-based; may also be called a junior college.

Curriculum: Classes need to meet requirements for a degree,

Degrees:
Bachelor:
Degree granted as the result of undergraduate study
Masters: Degree granted after additional post graduate study, usually requires the
completion of a thesis
Doctorate: Highest academic degree granted by a particular discipline or profession,
usually requiring three or more years of post -undergraduate work and
completion of a dissertation. Usually granted as a PhD (Doctor of
Philosophy)

Quarter: A fourth of an academic year, three quarters equal two semesters.

Scholarship: Gift of money to support terms of study

Semester: Half of an academic year, usually 16-18 weeks

Standarized Tests:
PSAT: Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test also used to qualify for National Merit
Scholarship.
SAT I: Scholastic Aptitude Test consisting of two parts: verbal and mathematical,
used to evaluate reasoning skills.
SAT II: Subject-based Scholastic Aptitude Tests.
ACT: An assessment test consisting of four parts: English, mathematics, reading, and
science.

University: Educational institutions consisting of undergraduate, graduate, and
professional schools, and authorized to grant Bachelors, masters, and
Doctorate degrees.

 


A member of the University of Maine System USM: University of Southern Maine [home page]