Welcome to the USM Libraries
New Users/Help Your Record
Search the Catalog
Photo Photo Photo
Collections
Osher Map Library
Special Collections
Videos
Reserves
More...
Research
Mariner
Mariner
Indexes and Databases
Resources by Subject
Mariner
More...
Reserves
Information Literacy
Interlibrary Loan
Services for Faculty
Services for Students
Ask-A-Librarian
Forms
More...
About the Libraries
Campus Libraries
Policies
Departments/Staff
Contact Us
More...

Glickman Library - Portland Branch

College of Nursing Faculty
Library Services and Information Resources

Librarian Liaisons:

Sheila Johnson (Nursing/Recreation & Leisure) at 780-4690 or sheilaj@usm.maine.edu
Harris Kennedy (Sports Medicine) at 780-5344 or harrisok@usm.maine.edu
Evelyn Greenlaw (LAC) at 753-6541 or evelyng@usm.maine.edu

Table of Contents

Library Services:
Reference
Loans
Forms
Instruction
New Books
Periodicals by Subject

Information Resources:
Catalogs
Dissertations
Journal Databases
Electronic Journals

Library Services

Reference Assistance

For immediate assistance, contact the Reference Services Department: Portland 780-4272; Gorham 780-5344; LAC 753-6546
or
Ask-A-Librarian .

For a guided tour, please contact a library liaisons from above.

Intercampus Loans (From Portland or Gorham)

Books - Use "Request" button in URSUS catalog

Journals - Contact the Serials Department (780-4334 (Portland) or 780-5347 (Gorham)) to arrange for a journal issue to be sent to the opposite campus. Staff will arrange a specific date for you to use the issue. Due to demand, we are unable to hold an issue for more than one day, or over the weekend.

Faculty Loans

  • Books - Semester loan with (1) semester renewal
  • Journals - 24 hour loan

Online Library Forms

Request an Interlibrary Loan for a book (not in URSUS) or a journal article. Allow 5-7 days for delivery.

Place your course home page on electronic reserves.

Order materials for the library collection.

Requesting Library Instruction

Librarian liaisons are available to teach library research classes for your courses.

Example of a Course Guide created for an instruction session

New Books

View a list of new books acquisitions

Periodicals By Subject

View a list of Por/Gor periodicals a rranged by academic disciplines

Information Resources

Book Catalogs

URSUS
Shared catalog of the seven UMSystem campuses, ME State, Bangor Public and ME Law/Legislative Libraries. "Keyword" searching provides limit options, i.e., by campus, date etc. Use "Request" button to obtain a book from another library. Allow 5-7 days for delivery. Pick up at the Circulation Desk.

WorldCat
Bibliographic records for millions of items held at OCLC member libraries throughout the world, and the library of congress. Updated daily.

netLibrary
A comprehensive collection of electronic books. The University of Maine System eBook collection includes:

  • Shared System Collection: over 3,000 copyrighted e-books on a wide range of topics of interest to academic libraries.
  • Public Collection: over 4,000 non-copyrighted classics and other public domain e-books.

Anyone may "open" and read an e-book online from a computer on campus. However to access netLibrary, or check out copyrighted titles off campus via a commercial provider (AOL, EarthLink etc), users must create a netLibrary personal account while connected to a computer on campus. Once you have created it, you can use your account anywhere.  When you want to access netLibrary from home or elsewhere off campus, just login with your netLibrary username and password .

MaineCat
A state wide cooperative catalog which will eventually include the holdings of more than 300 participating Maine libraries. Currently it includes the holdings of Bates, Bowdoin, Colby, other academic/public libraries, and URSUS (7 campuses of the UM System).

You may request any item in Maine Info Net that has an "available" status.  Note:  As an URSUS patron, you cannot request materials on Maine Info Net if an item is owned and available at any URSUS Library. You must make the request for such material through the URSUS catalog.

Books in Print
A directory of books in print, forthcoming books, and out of print titles published in the U.S. Updated monthly.

Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts
Indexes more that 1.6 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses published since 1861. Abstracts included with citations since 1980+. Dissertations can be obtained via Interlibrary Loan.
Note:  Available on campus only.

Journal Databases

Subject Guide to Indexes and Databases
A broad subject list of over eighty subscription databases available to USM faculty and students.

EBSCOhost Databases

The EBSCO company databases have been purchased for use by all Maine libraries. They include: CINAHL, Medline, PsychInfo, ERIC, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, etc. and several general and business indexes. These databases are particularly popular for the number of references that include full text articles. However, these vary by database, and not all are peer reviewed.

Search tips:

  • Use "Guided Search" for entering multiple terms
  • Limiting to "Full Text" will eliminate some references in which USM holds the print journal
  • Use "Expert Search" for additional search capabilities, e.g., search history, limiting a search to a particular part of the record ("field") and the use of other special commands.

For more information on searching:

Electronic Journal Database

ScienceDirect
The premier Web information source for the world's scientific, technical and medical research. ScienceDirect offers access to over 1,200 journals, and navigation across 30 millions records with links to 10,0000 journal titles - covering all fields of science. The vendor of this product requires that access to these resources be restricted to machines connected to the University of Maine System campus network.

Many of these journals are full text. Others can be downloaded from a pool of 10,000 free articles available to the consortium of New England library subscribers. Still other titles provide abstracts only.

Science Direct articles have been integrated into the Ingenta (formerly Uncover) database.

Search Tips:

  • Create a personal profile in order to access all full text journals
  • Start in "Basic Search" mode
  • Use "Browse" to retrieve the list of journals indexed

Other Databases

For lists of databases at USM:

Last Update: 01.2004
Comments: Ask-A-Librarian