|

Introduction
| Reference Sources
| Indexes & Databases
| Internet Resources
| Citation Styles
This subject guide provides a selection of sources for disciplines involving Environmental Science & Policy. For more information please contact Tim Lynch.
Easy Reference Menu:
Background Sources
Amazing Environmental Organization Web Directory!
General websites and contacts on a variety of environmental aspects.
Best Environmental Directories
This website is a vast collection of environmental topics with many useful links. Primarily international in scope. Caution, contains a fair number of broken links.
Bibliography of Environmental Literature
Por. Reference QH 541 .I75 1993
Somewhat exhaustive collection of environmental works compiled by the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies. Work covers all aspects of environmental science. Best used in a historical context.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Gor. Reference GE 10 .E52 2000
Very up-to-date encyclopedia of environmental concerns. Articles are signed and include suggested readings.
Environmental Issues and Sustainable Futures
Gor. Reference GE123 .M37 1996
Fogler Library Environmental Websites
Suggested web links of Jim Bird, the Librarian for the University of Maine Environmental Sciences program. See also his related research guide: Environmental Sciences.
Global Development: a Reference Handbook
Por. Reference HC 59.7 .S283 1995
Overview, resources and statistical information about the effects of economics, human development, and gender roles on our global environment over time.
Global Environment Outlook
Gor. Reference GE 170 .G563 2000
International bi-annual report that gives the current environmental state and policies of a geographic area as well as its future plans and considerations. Also an excellent source for statistics.
Global Issues
Gor. Reference GF 1 G573 (previous years in stacks)
Issued annually, this resource is a collection of articles, taken from various publications, that represents the environmental concerns of the year.
Great Events from History, Ecology and the Environment Series
Gor. Reference GE 150 .G72 1995
Timeline of the great environmental events from 1902-1994.
Government Information
Governments of the State, U. S. and other countries are a wealth of information in many subject areas. It is of particular use to search for Environmental Science topics using government information, as much of the work done in this area is produced by state, national and foreign governments. Most government information items collected by the University of Maine system are located in URSUS along with the library they are housed in and the Superintendent of Documents (SUDOC) Number. Ex. I 19.4/2: 1225
Complete Guide to Citing Government Information Resources
Gor. Reference J 9.5 .G27 1993
This item presents a general style to use in conjunction with normal citing styles (i.e. MLA, Turabian, APA) when citing government documents of different types and formats. Note: Always ask your instructor what citing style to use in your work.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
This website has become a paragon of information in environmental science. Local information, environmental mapping, chemical ratings, laws and regulations and general news are all included. Become familiar with this site.
Government Information on the Internet
Gor. Reference KF242 .A1 N68 2000
The environment is just a small part of this superb resource into government websites. This annotated guide includes explanations of all major government efforts in wildlife, land use, water quality, pollution, etc. (See Environment)
Library Government Information Page
This website gives easy access to some of the more popular Local, State, National and International government websites.
National Council for Science and the Environment
The National Council for Science and the Environment contains a database of Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports. CRS is a branch of the Library of Congress providing nonpartisan research reports to members of the House and Senate. (Travis Wagner)
U. S. Department of Energy (DOE)
The DOE also has a wealth of information in its website links. See especially the link under Environmental Quality and the A - Z Index Listing under E
U. S. Department of the Interior
This site is a gateway (See Search) to many major governmental sites of interest to environmental students and includes the reports and news releases of various offices and bureaus.
U.S. General Accounting Office
The General Accounting Office is the investigative arm of Congress. GAO examines the use of public funds, evaluates federal programs and activities, and provides analyses, options, recommendations, and other assistance to help the Congress make effective oversight, policy, and funding decisions. Many GAO reports focus on federal environmental projects and contain primary data. (Travis Wagner)
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Handbooks
Compendium of Environmental Acronyms (CEA)
Put out by the American Association of Engineering Geologists, this website gives the proper names for Acronyms in the field. Caution, last updated in 1995.
Coopers Comprehensive Environmental Desk Reference
Gor. Reference GE123 .C64 1996
General reference guide that includes definitions to terms and acronyms, air pollutants, data conversion, chemicals list, EPA data, and an example of an Environmental Site Assessment.
Dictionary of Ecology and Environmental Science
Gor. Reference GE80 .G85 1993
Definitions of terms pertaining to Ecology and the Environment.
Dictionary of Natural Resource Management
Gor. Reference HC15 .D86 1996
Explanation of terms from various aspects of Environmentalism including forestry, botany, engineering, geology, ecology and sustainability.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation
Gor. Reference GE 10 .E49 1998
Encyclopedia devoted to remediation of environmental problems including air, water and biosphere pollution. Work also includes detailed procedures for conducting environmental analysis and impact statements.
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change
Gor. Reference GE 149 .E443 2002
This work has collected the issues of environmental change into a five volume work. Each volume examines one portion of the issue: physical change, ecological change, causes, solutions, and the role human beings have in these concerns. Articles are signed and include bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
Gor Reference GC 9 .E57 2001
Six volume set that has collected the latest research from over 200 reputable scientists in the ocean sciences. Work includes signed articles and bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of the Biosphere
Gor. Reference GF 75 .B5613 1999
This eleven volume set is international in both scope and scholarship, being a product of The United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). It examines the many biomes of the Earth, with each volume presenting a different biome. Included are: "Our Living Planet, Tropical Rainforests, Savannahs, Deserts, Mediterranean Woodlands, Temperate Rainforest, Deciduous Forest, Prairies and Boreal Forests, Lakes, Islands and the Poles, Oceans and Seashores, The Biosphere Concept and Index."
Environmental Encyclopedia
Gor. Reference GE10 .E58 1998
According to its editors, this one volume encyclopedia is a collection of topics we think are of greatest importance in understanding our environment and our relationship to it. Its approximately 1200 pages include signed articles and suggested readings.
Environmental Guide to the Internet
Gor. Reference GE20 .B75 1998
A collection of mailing lists, newsletters and websites dealing with the environment. Work includes the websites of many agencies, organizations and programs developed around environmental topics.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Gor Reference GE 10 .E52 2000
Very up-to-date encyclopedia of environmental concerns. Articles are signed and include suggested readings.
Gale Environmental Sourcebook
Gor. Reference GE 20 G35 2nd ed. 1994
Collection of organizations, directories, consultants and other resources useful to those interested in the environment.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Gor. Reference Q 123 .M34 1989
A dictionary of terms encompassing all fields of science and technology. Includes pronunciation of terms, conversion tables, mathematical formulas, classification of living organisms, etc.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Gor. Reference Q 121 .M3 1997
A vast work, the encyclopedia is 20 volumes of in-depth information covering all disciplines of science and technology. The work is well indexed providing excellent subject access to terms.
Statistics
CIA World Factbook
Statistical Information and maps, in abbreviated form, for just about every country on earth.
Europa World Year Book (2000)
Por. Reference JN 1 E85
Annual publication. Latest edition in Portland. Prior year in Gorham Reference. Work provides good overview of many countries including statistics on the economy, population and culture. Also includes names and addresses of various governmental agencies and other institutions.
FedStats
Available also from Carr Rosss Government Information page, see Library Government Information Page above. This site gives quick statistical data from several US governmental agencies: by state and county, and by agency.
Global Environment Outlook
Gor. Reference GE 170 .G563 2000
International bi-annual report that gives the current environmental state and policies of a geographic area as well as its future plans and considerations. Also and excellent source for statistics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Gor. Reference HA 202 .A3 2000
Produced by the US Census Bureau, this is a basic source of all United States statistical information in the social, political and economical realms. See especially section 6 (Geography and Environment) and section 7 (Parks recreation and travel).
Statistical Record of the Environment
Gor. Reference TD180 .S73 1995
According to the editors, statistics in this useful source, covering all aspects the environment, were taken from federal and state publications and well as the environmental literature. Many tables show values over time.
Statistical Universe (electronic database)
According to Mariner, this database is a searchable index to over 100,000 United States government and privately published statistical sources, also include[ing] searchable, full-text access to the Statistical Abstract of the United States. Users can search by tables or abstracts of publications. Links to other government statistical websites are also available.
Statistical Yearbook (UNESCO)
Por Reference AZ 361 U45 1999
Annual international statistical data tables on population, education, science and technology and more.
Maine/Local
Assessment of the Quality of Maine Environment
Por. Reference GE 185.M2 A77 1998
28 pages of basic informational statements that include graphs, tables and statistics.
Annual Report on Air Quality
Por. Reference TD 883.5 M2 M34a
This Maine DEP work compiles very detailed statistics of air quality for a region or county. Arranged primarily by toxin or problem. Work includes an additional information section siting websites recommended by the Maine DEP.
Atlas of Essential Wildlife Habitats for Maines Endangered and Threatened Species
Gor. Reference QL84.22 .M2A8 2000
Collection of maps showing endangered and threatened species habitat. Work delineates Territory for the Piping Plover, Bald Eagle and Roseate Tern only, although all endangered and threatened species are listed in the appendix. Work also advises that full-size map representations are available in respective municipalities.
Environmental Resources of Maine
Gor. Reference TD171.3.M2 E69 1993
A directory of contact information about various aspects of the environment in Maine.
Guide to Maines Major Natural Resource and Environmental Laws
Gor. Reference KFM 354 .G8 1995
Produced by the Maine Legislatures Office of Policy and Legal Analysis this work explains how Maines Environmental laws are interpreted with federal environmental laws. Arranged by subject.
Gulf-Links: a Resource Guide to Coastal Organizations in the Gulf of Maine Region
Gor. Reference GC 512.M3 G83 1991
Directory of organizations, museums, aquariums, state and federal agencies and parks in the Gulf of Maine region.
Maine Department of Environmental Protection
Site includes air, land, waste and water concerns for the state of Maine. Also includes press releases, publications, GIS and contact information.
Maine Environmental Policy Institute
The Maine Environmental Policy Institute is a news service, which collects Maine-related environmental news. (Travis Wagner)
Maine Revised Statutes
The revised statues of Maine online arranged by topic and number. Also available in Gorham Campus Library Reference KFM30 .A2 1964 2000 and the Law Library KFM30 1964 A24.
Maine Rivers Bibliography and Users Manual
Gor. Reference GB 1225 .M2 M25 Manual (1976)
Item includes microfiche of bibliography arranged by keyword, citation, and author. Work is a bibliography and users manual for literature pertaining to the Maine river system and surrounding areas.
Maine Rivers Study
Gor. Reference GB 1225 .M2 M356 1982
This work breaks down the significant rivers in the state of Maine showing: fishing, boating, scenic areas, geological and other concerns.
Maine Waste Management 20 years of progress
Gor. Reference TD788.4.M2 S85 1995
Work gives highlights of waste management including local efforts and successes. Recycling, composting and landfill, etc. are noted.
Maine Water Index 1968-1987
Gor. Reference TD 224 M2 M356 1988
This work is an index of literature on water resources, in the state of Maine, organized by author and subject.
Municipal Recycling Program in Maine
Gor Reference TD 788.4 .M2 M8 1995
This is a directory of contact information for waste recycling in Maine.
State and Local Environmental Assessment in NON EIS States (Including Maine)
Environmental Impact Statements are legal documents of all federal and some states lands. But in approximately ½ of the states in the United States, State, Local or municipal Environmental Assessments take the form of permits and applications for permits for projects in that municipality or state. The Code Enforcement Officer of the locality will have those permits and/or applications on record. For state applications and permits, call the Department of Environmental Protection for that state. The DEP for a state may also have written a report to describe a contaminated or otherwise problematic site.
State of Maine Handbook for Hazardous Waste
Gor. Reference TD 1042 .M2 S7 1995
Handbook describes criteria for determining your enterprises role in creating hazardous waste and what to do about it.
Vermont Agency of Natural Resources
This site includes a wide variety of environmental information pertaining to Vermont and the nation as a whole. Publications, reports, and EPA sites on specific topics are especially useful.
Taking the Pulse of Maines Environment
Gor. Reference TD 224.M2 T3 1991
A bibliography and other general information about water resources in Maine.
International
UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre
This site is a great source for news, publication data, full-text of reports, Environmental mapping, individual country data, current and proposed conventions and agreements, often in several languages.
United Nations Environmental Programme
Site contains news, general information, procedural reports, findings and contact information for international committees and projects.
WHO Protection of Human Environment
Site contains publications past and present and upcoming, press releases, access to the WHO library, fact sheets and online documents pertaining to sustaining the human environment.
Worldwatch Institute
Although, originating in Massachusetts and Maryland site seeks to raise environmental concern worldwide. Institute publishes State of the World Gor. Stacks HC 59 .S7333 an annual publication beginning in 1984.
World Wildlife Fund Global Network
Site is the gateway to WWF sites throughout the world, including the international site These sites contain much news, information and some publications and reports of various foreign, national and international concern.
Miscellaneous (General info, Biography, Citations, Graduate Work, Documents)
Current Information File (Portland Reference)
File located to the left of the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor, includes brochures and pamphlets relating to the environment.
Full-text of the Kyoto Protocol
File contains the final report submitted to the United Nations on March 18, 1998 including Addendums. Also available from the United Nations Framework on Climate Change (This site includes other conferences in full-text)
Full-text of the Montreal Protocol
Website from the UNEP that includes the full-text of the conference on Ozone depletion (This site includes other conferences in full-text)
Guide to Graduate Environmental Programs
Gor. Ref. GE80 .G85 1997
Work describes graduate programs by alphabetical order, but there is also an index in the back that is arranged by subject. *See also Petersons Guides to Graduate Programs in the Physical Sciences, Mathematics, Agricultural Sciences, the Environment and Natural Resources Gor Ref. L 901 .P46 Bk. 4 2000
Notable Women in the Life Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary
Por. Reference QH 26 .N68 1996
Source portrays the lifes work of 97 women, including dates of importance, bibliography, and signed entries.
Science and Technical Writing, a Manual of Style
Gor. Reference T11 S378 1992
This style manual is a complete instructional manual of how to represent scientific information in professional works including graphical information, punctuation and citation information, etc.
Successful Scientific Writing
Gor. Stacks R119 .M28 2000
This work is an excellent style manual for any report, paper etc. that is formal and/ or technical. How to research, write and edit such reports are among topics included.
World Who is Who and Does What in Environment and Conservation
Gor. Reference GE 55 .W67 1997
Work covers internationally recognized figures in Environmental Science, giving background, expertise and contact information. Note: See a Reference Librarian for more standard biographical reference sources. Also, environmental encyclopedias will include major figures in Environmental Science.
Living in the Environment by, G Tyler Miller Jr. (Textbook website)
Page will read Biology click on Environmental Science". Choose Living in the Environment 12th edition. Under "Resources" Select Student Book Companion Site. From the pull-down menu at the top, select a chapter you would like additional information on. Under "Chapter Resources," see especially further reading and "Weblinks" for bibliography and related websites.
Journal/Book/Newspaper/Web Databases
General/All: IngentaConnect, Academic Search Premiere
General/Local: Newspapers (Proquest), Maine Newsstand, PEARL
General Science:MathSci Net, GreyLit Network, Science Citation Index
Ecology/Biology: Biosis Previews, EBSCO Animals
Energy: Energy Citations Database, OSTI Website (formerly Pubscience)
Public Affairs/Policy: PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Business: Business Source Premiere, Business and Company Resource Center, Business and Industry, Business and Management Practices, Business Dateline, EconLit, Stat-USA (includes National Trade Data Bank) [See the Reference Desk--This database requires a separate password]
Statistics: Statistical Abstracts of the United States, Statistical Universe
Water/Soil/Geology/Geography: GeoRef, Geo Ref Preview, GeoBase
Agriculture: CRIS (Current Research Information System)
Law: HeinOnline
Citations: Science Citation Index
[Note on Journals]
Discover, Scientific American, Science News and other quasi-scholarly journals are, in fact, popular journals, but are usually written by experts in the field and therefore considered more scholarly.
Newspapers:
Newspapers (Proquest) abstracts 143 newspapers from across the country and the world. Newswires are also included. Some regional papers are also in full-text (Ex. Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune). The Gorham Campus Library has the complete run of the New York Times in microfilm.
Maine Newstand includes selected full-text of the Portland Press Herald and other Maine newspapers for local perspectives on Environmental Science and Policy.
Department of Environmental Science (USM)
(Note that this guide uses internet sources thoughout, however, this guide from Berkeley may be useful in evaluating web site content http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/Evaluate.html)
Bedford Handbook
GOR Reference PE 1408 .H277 2006
Writers Resource
GOR Reference PE 1408 .H2778 2007
Created by: Tim Lynch
Created on: 01.16.2006
Last Updated: 08.17.2007
|