go to main page content
University of Southern Maine [home page]
Welcome to the USM Libraries
New Users/Help Your Record
Search the Catalog
Photo Photo Photo
Collections
Osher Map Library
Special Collections
Videos
Reserves
More...
Research
Mariner
Mariner
Indexes and Databases
Resources by Subject
Mariner
More...
Reserves
Information Literacy
Interlibrary Loan
Services for Faculty
Services for Students
Ask-A-Librarian
Forms
More...
About the Libraries
Campus Libraries
Policies
Departments/Staff
Contact Us
More...


Glickman Library - Portland Branch

A periodical is the broad term used to describe journals and magazines. Because they are published on a periodic basis (daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.) the term periodical is used.

There are two main types of periodicals: scholarly and popular.

Scholarly Periodicals (Journals) Popular Periodicals (Magazines)
report on primary research contain general information suited for a wider audience
articles are written by experts, includes citations to other scholarly work articles are written by journalists or non-experts
audience includes other experts in the same field, uses terms specific to that field audience outside of the field, uses easily understood language
may include graphs, charts, etc. often contain photographs
usually are peer reviewed, i.e. edited by disciplinary scholars have limited or non-existent editorial review
often include a bibliography seldom contain bibliographies or citations
Examples: Journal of Personality and Social Psychology; Journal of Public Policy Analysis and Management; Conradiana Examples: Time; Newsweek; Ladies Home Journal; The Los Angeles Times

To find articles within scholarly journals use a database or print index that is relevant to that discipline. For example, if you needed a scholarly article pertaining to psychology you would use the database PsycINFO or the print index Psychology Abstracts. To find a popular article on the same topic you would use a comprehensive database such as Academic Search Premier or the print index Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. URSUS DOES NOT PROVIDE ACCESS TO ARTICLE TITLES.

To determine the appropriate database(s) or print indices for a topic, see Resources by Subject. There you will find comprehensive subject guides, course guides, and a listing of databases available to the USM community. To determine which database to choose you will need to consider such criteria as subject and date coverage.

Both print indices and electronic databases provide citations to articles: brief information including title, author, name of the publication, date, volume, and page numbers. Sometimes an abstract, or brief synopsis of the article, is also available.

The following is a sample citation:

Author: Card, David and Lemieux, Thomas.
Title: GOING TO COLLEGE TO AVOID THE DRAFT: THE UNINTENDED LEGACY OF THE VIETNAM WAR.
Citation: American Economic Review 2001 91(2): 97-102.

Each of these pieces of information is necessary to find the actual article and in correctly citing it for your bibliography/works cited list and endnotes/footnotes.

The first step is to check URSUS for the availability of this journal at USM. Because URSUS searches for journal titles and not article titles, you would do a title search for American Economic Review:

The next screen shows the results:

Clicking on the first record will pull up more specific information:

There are both print and electronic versions. Location and date coverage will determine which one to use. If the electronic version is chosen you will see the coverage and location of the electronic version.

Clicking on this link will take you to the menu for this title:

If you are accessing these resources from an off-campus location you will be first prompted for authentication and will see a screen that looks like this:

You will need to enter your last name and bar code number (begins 25022…). You must have your USM card activated at the Circulation service point at one of the three campus libraries before you can gain remote access.

Coverage is from 1911 to 3 years ago. As the search is for an issue from 2001 (Volume 91, issue 2), it should be available electronically.

Select the appropriate year from the list on the right hand side.

Select the appropriate volume and issue from the list on the right hand side.

Record #17 shows that access for the actual article “Going To College To Avoid The Draft: The Unintended Legacy Of The Vietnam War” is available in PDF format. Because a PDF is the actual scanned image of the page, this is the more accurate version to choose. If there is a choice between PDF or HTML formats, always choose PDF. A document in HTML means that the text has to be input, which provides an opportunity for inadvertent typos.

Sometimes it may look like there is full-text availability electronically, but the reality proves to be that only the citation or citation/abstract is available. Returning to the URSUS record and clicking on the print version link will provide availability of the article in print format at USM.

The library on the Portland campus has this title in Microfilm from 1911-2001 and in unbound issues from 1992 to the latest issue received.

If a needed journal title is at the Gorham Library and you are at Portland, you can go to the Serials Department on the 3rd floor (Portland) and complete a serials request form. If the form is completed in the morning, you will receive your requested title the next day. If you complete it later in the day if may be two days before you receive the item(s). If you are at the Gorham Library and your title is at the Portland Library, you can find the needed form at the service points there. If you are at the Lewiston-Auburn Campus and need an article from Portland or Gorham, please complete the ILLiad Request Form.

If the title you need is at another library, you will need to complete the ILLiad Request Form. It may take up to a week to receive an article from another library. The article will be delivered to you electronically, usually in 2 - 3 days.

Remember, to find an article an appropriate print index or database is the place to go to find an article citation. URSUS is the tool to use for locating the journal title.

For assistance in finding articles, please contact the Reference Department for assistance.

For more information or assistance in locating the journals, please contact the Serials Department.


A member of the University of Maine System USM: University of Southern Maine [home page]