Welcome to the USM Libraries
New Users/Help Your Record
Search the Catalog
Photo Photo Photo
 


Glickman Library - Portland Branch

Introduction | Reference Sources | Indexes & Databases | Internet Resources | Citation Styles

 Contact Information

Librarian:
Timothy Lynch
Research and Instructional Services Librarian
USM Gorham Campus Library
tlynch@usm.maine.edu
(207) 780-5156

Liaison to Human Resource Development

  Ask a Librarian
 Introduction

This subject guide provides a selection of sources for disciplines involving Educational Leadership, Adult Education, Counseling and School Psychology (Areas encompassing Human Resource Development). For more information please contact Tim Lynch.

 Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Adult Development
GOR and LEW Reference BF 724.5 .E53 1993

Encyclopedia of Aging
POR Reference HQ 1061 .E534 2002

Encyclopedia of Disability
GOR Reference HV 1568 .E528 2006

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership
GOR Reference LB 2805 .E527 2006 [2 vols]

Encyclopedia of Human Behavior
POR and LEW Reference BF 31 .E5 1994 [4 vols]

Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family (1995)
GOR Reference HQ 9 .E52 1995

Encyclopedia of Psychology (APA)
GOR and POR Reference BF 31 .E52 2000 [8 vols]

Encyclopedia of Special Education
GOR Reference LC4007 .E53 2007 [3 vols]

Corsini Encyclopedia Of Psychology And Behavioral Science
POR Reference  BF31 .E52 2001  [4 vols]  

Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence
GOR and POR Reference HQ 772 .G27 1998

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
POR Reference HQ9 .E52 2003  [4 vols]

Maine School Law
GOR Reference KF 4119 .Z99 M24 2006

Praeger Handbook of Learning and the Brain
GOR Reference LB 1060 .P683 2006 [2 vols]

Sage Handbook of Research in Education
GOR Reference LB 1028 .S14 2006

Youth Education and Sexualities
GOR Reference LC 192.6 .Y68 2005 [2 vols]  

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Psychology
GOR Reference BF 31 .C72 1999

DSM-IV (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th TR) (2000)
GOR and POR and LEW Ref RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2000

DSM-IV-TR case studies : a clinical guide to differential diagnosis  
POR Stacks RC473.D54 F73 2001 

DSM-IV-In Action
GOR Stacks RC455.2 .C4 D9 2002 

Statistical Sources

Digest of Educational Statistics (annual)
GOR Reference L 111 .A6
The major statistical publication of the U.S. Dept. of Education also available online at http://nces.ed.gov/pubs/digest97/index.html

The Condition of Education (annual)
GOR Reference L 112 .A64
Another significant statistical publication of the U.S. Dept. Of Education
also available online at http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/pubsinfo.asp?pubid=2004077

State Indicators in Education (annual)
GOR Reference LB 2846 .S73 1997
Comparative rankings of all the states
also available online at http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/pubsinfo.asp?pubid=97376

Youth Indicators: Trends in the Well-Being of American Youth
Available at http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/pubsinfo.asp?pubid=2005050

Kids Count Data Book: State Profiles of Child Well-Being (annual)
Available at http://www.kidscount.org/sld/databook.jsp

Maine statistics

Maine Educational Facts (annual)
Ref LA 298 .A26
Basic statistics relating to Maine’s public schools

Performance Report on Maine’s Public Schools (annual)
Ref LA 298 .M334
Extensive interpretive narrative accompanies statistical reporting

Maine Kids Count Data Book
Ref HQ 792 .U5M2 1998
Also available at http://www.mekids.org/am/publish/cat_index_2.shtml

Laws And Court Cases

Education Laws: A Compilation of Statutes in effect today
GOR Stacks KF 4106 1994
Text of all federal laws governing programs administered by US Dept of Education

Yearbook of Education Law (annual)
GOR Reference KF 4102.5 .Y4
Cases nationwide on all aspects of education

Answer Book on Special Education Law
GOR Refreence KF 4209.3 .Z9G67 2005
Question and answer approach to understanding legal requirements in schools

Digest of Supreme Court Decisions Affecting Education
GOR Stacks Kf 4114 .Z57
Special Education Law (updated every two months) - CD-ROM workstation
Electronic version of full text of court cases, laws, regulations, etc.

Maine Law

Maine Revised Statutes Annotated (annually updated)
Ref KFM 30 .A2
All current Maine laws. Also available at http://janus.state.me.us/legis/statutes/

Testing

Mental Measurements Yearbook (series)
Available
online from 9th edition to present
GOR and POR and LEW Reference Z5814 .P8 B932 [to volume 16]

Tests in Print VI
GOR Reference Z 5814 .E9 T47 2002

Spiritual Development Sources

Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development
GOR Reference BV 4571.3 .E53 2006

The Handbook of Spiritual Development in Childhood and Adolescence
GOR Reference BV 4571.3 .H36 2005

 

 Indexes and Databases

Primary Databases Include:

Education Full Text . . . . INFO

ERIC . . . . INFO

PsycARTICLES . . . . INFO

PsycINFO . . . . INFO

Other useful Databases include:

Sociological Abstracts . . . . INFO

Social Services Abstracts. . . . INFO

Social Work Abstracts Plus . . . . INFO

 Internet Resources

National

Educational Leadership (online journal)

American Association for Adult and Continuing Education

National Association of School Psychologists

ERIC
The ERIC websites have resources other than the ERIC research database. An ERIC Slide Show at the site provides a quick introduction to the ERIC system and tips on searching the ERIC database.

Although you can search the database using software at this site, the library recommends that you use the more powerful proprietary software subscribed to by the library system (Ebsco), as linked thru the USM Library homepage and Quicklinks and Indexes and Databases..

U.S. Department of Education
Provides links to many online publications including the latest statistics, etc.

National Library of Education

Maine

Maine Department of Education
Also includes links to other state, local, and national sites of interest.

 Citation Styles

Bedford Handbook
GOR Reference PE 1408 .H277 2006

Writers Resource
GOR and POR and LEW Reference PE 1408 .H2778 2007

Created by: Tim Lynch
Created on: 04.23.2007
Last Updated: 08.14.2007