go to main page content
University of Southern Maine [home page]
Welcome to the USM Libraries
New Users/Help Your Record
Search the Catalog
Photo Photo Photo
 


Glickman Library - Portland Branch

Introduction | Reference Sources | Indexes & Databases | Internet Resources | Citation Styles

 Contact Information

For further research assistance, please contact Maureen Perry (mperry@usm.maine.edu; 753-6546), Leadership & Organizational Studies Liaison at Lewiston-Auburn College Library, University of Southern Maine.

 Introduction

In order to find books, journal titles, videos, government documents and other materials held in the University of Maine System consult URSUS, the online catalog. Because journal article citations are not individually included in URSUS use a discipline-specific index to find this information (see Resources by Subject). To find materials located elsewhere in Maine, check MaineInfonet.

The following is a listing of selected subject headings relating to Leadership & Organizational Studies. Each subject heading is hotlinked directly to URSUS

Christian leadership

Communication in organizations

Community leadership

Conservation leadership

Educational leadership

Jewish leadership

Leadership

Nonprofit organizations

Organizational behavior

Organizational effectiveness

Political leadership

Problem solving

To obtain materials not located at your USM campus, but located using URSUS, click on the Request button on the URSUS screen and enter your name and barcode number (found under the barcode on your USM Card, always beginning with 25022....). Your barcode will first need to be activated at the Circulation Desk.

To find books, journal titles, videos, government documents and other materials not available through the University of Maine System or MaineInfoNet, please check Worldcat, which includes bibliographic records for more than 36 million items held at OCLC member libraries throughout the world and is updated daily.

If the item is not available through the University of Maine System (URSUS) or Maine InfoNet you can request it via Interlibrary Loan (Illiad)

The Library of Congress provides a breakdown of the call number classification scheme. To find a listing of psychology call numbers click on any of the subcategories to see more detail.

 Reference Sources

Reference sources are useful tools to obtain background information and to develop a vocabulary of possible search terms. The following items are print resources available within the University of Southern Maine system.

Culture, leadership, and organizations : the GLOBE study of 62 societies
LEW Reference HD57.7 .L4323 2004 

Encyclopedia of leadership
LEW Reference HD57.7 .E53 2004  v.1-4

The fifth discipline : the art and practice of the learning organization
POR, GOR, & LEW Stacks HD58.9 .S46 1990

Leadership in a new era : visionary approaches to the biggest crisis of our time
POR Stacks HD57.7 .L433 1994

Peter Drucker on the profession of management
LEW Stacks HD31 .D7742 1998 

Reframing organizations : artistry, choice, and leadership
LEW Stacks HD31 .B6135 2003

Servant leadership : a journey into the nature of legitimate power and greatness
LEW Stacks HM141 G69 1991

The seven habits of highly effective people : restoring the character ethic
GOR & LEW Stacks BF637.S8 C68 1989

Thinkertoys : a handbook of business creativity for the '90s
LEW Stacks HD53 .M53 1991

Unconventional wisdom : irreverent solutions to tough problems at work
LEW Stacks HD30.29 .Q54 1989 

 Indexes and Databases

Because of the lengthy publishing cycle for a book, information in a book is not always current. Periodical articles are current sources of information. There are two main types of periodicals: scholarly and popular. Scholarly periodicals are usually referred to as journals. Articles in journals contain reports of primary research; the articles are written by experts in the field and for other researchers/scholars; use terms and language specific to that discipline; may include graphs, charts, etc. related to the topic; most often are peer reviewed via an editorial board; are published by professional organization or society, university, research centers, scholarly presses; and often include a bibliography. Popular periodical articles contain general information; are written using easily understood language that appeals to a varied audience; are usually written by journalists or others who are not experts in the field; do not include citations; has a limited or non-existent editorial review board; and may contain glossy photographs. The Finding Articles tutorial provides more information on how to find articles.

To find scholarly articles it is necessary to consult a discipline-specific electronic or print index/database. The following are electronic indexing sources available to the Unversity of Southern Maine community.

Academic Search Premier
Date coverage: Dates vary by publication.
Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications of which 3,100 are peer reviewed. Academic areas of study include: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Business and Company Resource Center
Comprehensive source of information for conducting company, industry and market research. Provides access to the contents of over 4,000 business and economics periodicals (over 3,000 with full-text coverage). Also includes the contents of key reference works such as Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies, Business Rankings Annual, International Directory of Company Histories, Market Share Reporter and Encyclopedia of Associations.

Business Source Premier
Provides full text for more than 2,800 scholarly business journals of which 912 are peer reviewed. Coverage includes: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text coverage for more than 160 titles and indexes additional journals, major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks.

Education Full Text
Coverage from 1983
Provides useful citations if one is looking at the training or professional development side of leadership


PAIS International
Date coverage: from 1972
Citations for articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.

 

PsycINFO
Date coverage: 1887-current
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations.

Sociological Abstracts
Date coverage: 1974-present
Citations for articles, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings in sociology and related disciplines


 Internet Resources

There is no authority control for the Internet. In choosing Internet resources it is imperative to evaluate the authenticity of the source. Thinking Critically about Discipline-Based World Wide Web Resources (UCLA College Library) provides excellent evaluation criteria. The following selected resources have been chosen because of authenticity and comprehensiveness of coverage.

American Society for Training & Development

Center for Creative Leadership

Institute for Business & Professional Ethics (DePaul University)

Organizational Communication Division (National Communication Association)

Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology (American Psychological Association)

 

 Citation Styles

In using resources it is imperative that they be used ethically and legally. The sources listed here provide assistance in following correct citation methods.

USM has a site license for Endnote, a personal reference database program. The main functions of this program include maintenance of a database of references, downloading references from other databases, using the database to link to references in word-processed document, and generating a bibliography in the correct style for publications. See the Endnote Help for further information.

APA Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)

APA Style.org

Dissertations and Theses from Start to Finish : Psychology and Related Fields
LEW Reference BF76.5 .C645 1993

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th edition
POR and GOR Reference BF76.7 .P83 2001; LEW Reserve BF76.7 .P83 2001

Online: A Reference Guide to Using Internet Sources

Using American Psychlogical Association (APA) Format (Updated to 5th Edition) (Purdue University Online Writing Lab)

Last update: 05.23.2007 mp

A member of the University of Maine System USM: University of Southern Maine [home page]