|

Introduction
| Reference Sources
| Indexes & Databases
| Internet Resources
| Citation Styles
For further research assistance, please contact Casandra Fitzherbert (casandra@usm.maine.edu; 780-4279), Mathematics and Statistics Liaison, Glickman Library, University of Southern Maine.
In order to find books, journal titles, videos, government documents and other materials held in the University of Maine System you will need to consult URSUS, the online catalog. Because journal article citations are not individually included in URSUS, you will need to use a discipline-specific index to find this information (see Resources by Subject).
If you do not know the exact subject heading describing the topic you need, try doing a keyword search using other word/s related to that topic and then click on the subject heading links found within the relevant records to find additional, useful resources.
The Library of Congress provides a breakdown of the call number classification scheme for mathematics or statistics and finance
To obtain materials not located at your USM, but still within URSUS, you will need to click on the Request button on the URSUS screen and enter your name and barcode number (found under the barcode on your USM Card, which begins with 25022....). Your barcode will need to be activated at the Circulation Desk.
If the item is not available through the University of Maine System (URSUS) or Maine InfoNet you can request it via Interlibrary Loan (Illiad).
Mathematics Reference Sources
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables & Formulae
Por & Gor Reference QA47 M315
Includes a detailed table of contents and an extensive index with 6,000 entries
Encyclopaedia of Mathematics
Por Reference QA5 M3713
More than 7,000 articles from 'A-Integra' to 'Zygmund Class of Functions'.
Math Dictionary with Solutions, 2nd: a Math Review
Por Reference QA5 K692
Definitions, explanations and examples for math terms or techniques written at a level appropriate to the difficulty of the topic.
Mathematics Dictionary
Por Reference QA5 J33 1992
Gor Reference QA5 J33 1976
Practicing to Take the GRE Mathematics Test
Gor Reference QA43 P675
Practice questions, full length practice tests, answer sheets, score conversion card and student performance data.
World of Mathematics
Por Reference QA5 W67
Includes theories, definitions, discoveries and concepts. Also included are biographical entries on the most influential mathematicians from antiquity to the present.
Statistics Reference Sources
CRC Standard Probability & Statistics Tables and Formulae
Por Reference QA276.25 C72 1991
Extensive compilation of formulas, tables and other reference material in pure and applied mathematics of value to scientists, mathematicians, teachers & students.
Dictionary of Statistics
Por Reference HA17 M8
Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology
Por Reference HA17 V64 1999
Defines statistical & methodological terms but does not explain how to use or compute statistics. Definitions tend to be verbal rather than mathematical.
Dictionary of Statistical Terms
Por Reference QA276.14 K46
Defines more than 3,000 statistical terms in current use.
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
Por Reference QA276.14 E5
Provides information of an extensive selection of topics in statistical theory and applications of statistical models.
International Encyclopedia of Statistics
Por Reference HA17 I63
This compilation draws together, expands and updates the statistics articles in the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.
Because of the lengthy publishing cycle for a book, information in a book is not always current. Periodical articles are current sources of information. There are two main types of periodicals: scholarly and popular. Scholarly periodicals are usually referred to as journals. Articles in journals contain reports of primary research; the articles are written by experts in the field and for other researchers/scholars; use terms and language specific to that discipline; may include graphs, charts, etc. related to the topic; most often are peer reviewed via an editorial board; are published by professional organization or society, university, research centers, scholarly presses; and often include a bibliography. Popular periodical articles contain general information; are written using easily understood language that appeals to a varied audience; are usually written by journalists or others who are not experts in the field; do not include citations; has a limited or non-existent editorial review board; and may contain glossy photographs. For more information on finding articles please look at our tutorial called Finding Articles.
To find scholarly articles it is necessary to consult a discipline-specific electronic or print index/database.
MathSciNet
Extensive database of citations to journal articles and reviews of articles in pure and applied mathematics. Coverage from 1940-present. Updated daily.
Current Index to Statistics, Applications, Methods and Theory
Por Reference QA 276 A1 C87
To browse a list of the mathematics journals owned by the USM libraries, please see Periodical Holdings by Subject: Mathematics.
There is no authority control for the Internet. In choosing Internet resources it is imperative to evaluate the authenticity of the source. Thinking Critically about Discipline-Based World Wide Web Resources (UCLA College Library) provides excellent evaluation criteria. The following selected resources have been chosen because of authenticity and comprehensiveness of coverage.
Journal of Modern Applied Statistical Methods
Cornell University Library Historical Math Monographs
Publicly available digital facsimiles of 512 mathematical monographs
ArXiv.org
ArXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers in physics, computer science, mathematics, and other scientific communities.
European Mathematical Information Service
CUL mirrors with live updates the European Mathematical Society's EMIS (European Mathematical Information Service) site. The EMIS mirror provides outside links to several mathematics databases and stores the content of 62 math journals.
Librarian's Index to the Internet - Mathematics
14 categories of web sites all reviewed and annotated by subject specialists.
Math on the Web
Categories include journals, organizations, bibliographies, books, and institutes.
Math Archives - Topics in Mathematics
Keyword searching of all linked web sites is possible. Each web site is categorized by a symbol according to the level of math. History of Mathematics is among the categories.
PRIME Mathematics Encyclopedia
Articles, definitions, and links.
Associations
Mathematical Association of America (MAA)
Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM)
American Statistical Association (ASA)
In using resources it is imperative that they be used ethically and legally. The sources listed here provide assistance in following correct citation methods.
Mathematics and Computer Science Style Sheet
The Council of Biology Editors (CBE) Style of Documentation in Science and Mathematics
Chicago Manual of Style
POR Reference Z253 .U69 2003
Chicago/Turabian Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)
Online! A Reference Guide Using Internet Resources
Created by: Casandra Fitzherbert
Created on: 08.29.2004
Last Updated: 08.31.2005
|