go to main page content
University of Southern Maine [home page]
Welcome to the USM Libraries
New Users/Help Your Record
Search the Catalog
Photo Photo Photo
 


Glickman Library - Portland Branch

Introduction | Reference Sources | Indexes & Databases | Internet Resources | Citation Styles

 Contact Information

For further research assistance, please contact:

Sheila Johnson (sheilaj@usm.maine.edu; 780-4690) Nursing Liaison, Glickman Library, USM.

At Lewiston/Auburn, contact Evelyn Greenlaw (evelyng@usm.maine.edu; 753-6541) or Maureen Perry ( mperry@usm.maine.edu ; 753-6546), Librarians at the LAC Library, USM.

Chat, e-mail and appointment research assistance is also available through our Ask a Librarian service.

 Introduction

The purpose of this guide is to describe some of the nursing resources available at the USM libraries. While selective in content, it will provide you with an overview of those resources that we have found to be the most useful in nursing.

Library Card

Your USM picture ID card is also your library card. Your library barcode is the small red number at the bottom beginning with 2502200. New or transfer students will have had this number automatically activated if the id was obtained before the semester began. Don't know if your barcode number works? From the library's home page, click Your Record and try to login. Doesn't work? Contact the library Circulation department at any of our campuses.

Locating Books

Books, journal titles, videos, state/federal documents and other publications held in the University of Maine System libraries are available in the URSUS, online catalog. For specific information on searching the catalog and requesting titles from other campus libraries, consult the URSUS tutorial.

If you are unable to locate the information you need in URSUS, try MaineCat to check the holdings of other Maine libraries, or WorldCat for titles located at hundreds of national and international libraries.

URSUS can be searched for periodical titles but not articles. See the Indexes and Databases section of this guide for specific resources to use for finding articles.

Interlibrary Loan

If you are unable to locate a title in URSUS or MaineCat, you can order it through our Interlibrary Loan (Illiad) service.

 Reference Sources

Need to find information and don’t know where to begin? Reference sources provide useful background information, give quick, factual information, and will assist you to develop a vocabulary of possible terms for searching URSUS and the periodical databases.

Dictionaries / Encyclopedias / Abbreviations / Complementary and Alternative Therapies /
Diagnostic / Drugs / Handbooks and Manuals / History / Statistics

Dictionaries

Campbell ’s Psychiatric Dictionary
POR Reference RC437 .H5

Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research
(POR/LEW Reference RT81.5 .P69

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
POR/LEW Reference R121 .D73

Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary

Mosby's Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary
POR/LEW Reference R121 .M89

Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing
POR Reference R121 .S8
Also online in the Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition database.

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
POR/LEW Reference R121 .T18

Webster’s New World Medical Dictionary
GOR Reference R121 .W3585

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Allied Health
POR Reference R121 .M65

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
POR Reference HV5804 .E53

Encyclopedia of Elder Care
POR Reference RC954 .E53

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
POR Reference RC41 . G35

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
POR Reference RT21 .G353

Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
POR Reference RT81.5 .E53

Encyclopedia of Sexually Transmitted Diseases
POR Reference RC200.1 .S525

Encyclopedia of Vitamins, Minerals and Supplements
POR Reference QP 771 .E53

Health Care Policy and Politics A-Z
POR Reference RA395.A3 R685
Covers the history, terminology, and politics of the health care debate.

Abbreviations

Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations
POR/LEW Reference R123 .J24

Mosby's Survival Guide to Medical Abbreviations and Acronyms, Prefixes and Suffixes, Symbols, Greek Alphabet
POR/LEW Reference R123 .C23

Complementary and Alternative Therapies

ABC Clinical Guide to Herbs
LEW Reference RM666.H33 A175

Alternative Health and Medicine Encyclopedia
POR/GOR Reference R733 .M38

DK Encyclopedia of Healing Therapies
POR Reference R733 .W65

Encyclopedia of Complementary Health Practice
POR Reference R733 .E525

Encyclopedia of Medicinal Plants
POR/LEW Reference RS164 .C4437

PDR for Herbal Medicines
POR Reference RM666.H33 P38
LEW Reference RS75 .P554

Quick Access Professional Guide to Conditions, Herbs and Supplements
POR Reference RM666.H33 Q84

Diagnostic

Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications
POR Reference RB38.2 .K44

Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures with Nursing Diagnoses
POR Reference RT48.5 .C67 

Nursing interventions classification (NIC)
POR Reference RT42 .N858 

Nursing outcomes classification (NOC)
POR Reference RT85.5 .N864

Drugs

Medline Plus Drugs and Supplements
the National Library of Medicine's guide to prescription, over-the-counter and herbal medications.

The Merck Index: an Encyclopedia of Chemicals and Drugs
POR/GOR/LEW Reference RS51 .M4

Mosby’s Pharmacology in Nursing
LEW Reference RM301 .H33

PDR Drug Guide for Mental Health Professionals
LEW Reference RC483 .P47

Physicians Desk Reference
POR/LEW Reference RS75 .P5
Descriptions based on information published by the pharmaceutical companies. A companion online version called PDRHealth "offers plain-English explanations for the safe and effective use of prescription and nonprescription drugs." You do not need to register to search it.

USP DI. Advice for the Patient
POR Reference RM145 .U18

USP DI. Drug Information for the Health Care Provider
POR Reference RM145 .U16
Impartial drug information compiled and reviewed by USP advisory panels of over 800 volunteer healthcare experts.

Handbooks and Manuals

Cecil Medicine
POR Reference RC46 .D423
A comprehensive medical textbook

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV)
POR/GOR Reference, LEW Reserve RC455.2 .C4 D54

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4 th edition –Text Revision (DSM-IV-TR)
POR/GOR Reference, LEW Reserve RC455.2 .C4 D536

Gray’s Anatomy
POR Reference QM23.2 .G73

Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis
POR Reference RT48.6 .C385   

Illustrated Manual of Nursing Practice
POR Reference RT141 .I44

Internet Resource Guide for Nurses and Health Care Professionals
POR Reference RT50.5 .M37

The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
The 17th edition of this classic resource provides general medical information for health professionals.

The Merck Manual - Home Edition
Provides information about diseases, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment in an easy-to-understand format.

Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual
POR Reference RT48.6 .S66

Working the Web: A Guide for Nurses
POR Reference RT50.5 .B553

History

American Nursing: a Biographical Dictionary
POR Reference RT34 .A44
Biographical articles, publications lists, and bibliographies for 178 professionals who made significant contributions to the field of nursing during their lifetime. All subjects are deceased.

Dictionary of American Nursing Biography
POR Reference RT34 .D53
Contains 196 biographical sketches including nineteenth-century pioneers and more recent innovators involved in the nursing profession.

Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing
POR Reference RT31 .S66
Includes a timeline of major events in the history of nursing.

Nursing: a Historical Bibliography
POR Reference RT31 .B785

Nursing Studies Index
POR Reference Z6675.N7 Y3
Historical guide to studies, research and biographical material in periodicals, books, and pamphlets published from 1900-1959.

Statistics

Maine / United States / World

Maine

Healthy Maine 2000: a Decade in Review
POR Reference RA395.A4 M3853

State Health Workforce Profiles
A comprehensive guide on the status of health care employment nationwide produced by the US Dept. of Human Services. Provides detailed data on the supply and demand for physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals in the 50 states and the District of Columbia.

United States

FEDSTATS
The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.

Health and Healthcare in the United States: County and Metro Data
POR Reference RA214 .H43

Hospital Statistics
POR Reference RA981 .A2 A6234

NIMH: Statistics
National Institutes of Mental Health site containing statistics describing the prevalence of mental disorders in America.

National Center for Health Statistics
Produced by the Centers for Disease Control. Gives extensive statistical information about America’s health, including tabulated state data, and comprehensive reports such as Health Care in America: Trends in Utilization and the annual Health, United States

Portrait of Health in the United States
POR Reference RA407.3 .P67
Contains major statistical trends and resources.

Registered Nurse Population: National Sample Survey of Registered Nurses

World

World Health Report Report
Essays on the state of world health. Includes trends together with statistics.

 Indexes and Databases

In the field of nursing, some books can quickly become outdated. Periodical articles are often the most current sources of information, and many are based on recent nursing research. When searching the databases for articles, keep in mind that you may locate information in professional/trade, or scholarly periodicals. Consult the difference between trade and scholarly periodicals for information about the distinctions. Look at Finding Articles at USM for detailed instructions on locating full text articles online and in print journals. Consult these databases to find information on a topic:

Nursing / Medicine / Health / Related Databases

Nursing

CINAHL [Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature] (1982 +)
A first source for locating information on nursing and allied health topics in journals, doctoral dissertations, selected nursing books, educational software, and audiovisuals. Also includes publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Updated monthly.

For information published prior to 1982, consult the printed version:
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health POR Reference Z6675 .N7 C8 (1965-1994)

Pre-CINAHL (Date of coverage varies, but generally within the last two years)
A rotating file of recent publications that are made available to researchers until they are fully indexed. Once the records are complete, they are added to the CINAHL database and removed from Pre-CINAHL.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Basic (1985+)
Provides full text access to over 100 journals in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. All full text titles in this database are also indexed in CINAHL.

Medicine

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic (1985+)
Designed for doctors, research scientists, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study. All full text titles in this database are also indexed in MEDLINE.

Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that brings together in one place evidence-based research reports on clinical trials, systematic reviews and meta-analyses of clinical data. Designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions of health care professionals, it examines the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions.

MEDLINE (1966+)
The National Library of Medicine’s international biomedicine and health journal database. Covers over 4,800 English and foreign language periodicals. Includes all areas of clinical and experimental medicine, nursing, health administration, health care system and other health fields. Updated daily.

PubMed (1950+)
Covers all of MEDLINE and OLD MEDLINE (articles published from 1950-1965 that predate MEDLINE). Also indexes out-of scope articles (such as general science and biology) not included in MEDLINE, and some additional life science journals. Includes links to many free full-text articles. Updated weekly.

PubMed Central (Coverage varies according to date of electronic journal entry)
A digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH). All journals in PMC provide free access to full text (sometimes on a delayed basis).

Health

Combined Health Information Database [CHID] (Date of coverage varies)
Produced by several health-related agencies of the Federal Government and directed toward the consumer. Provides titles, abstracts, and availability for health information and health education resources. Updated quarterly.

Health Source -- Consumer Edition (1985+)
Indexes consumer health and patient education information in sources such as periodicals, books, pamphlets and clinical reports. Updated daily.

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition (1975+)
Covers health information in over 500 nursing and allied health journals. Many articles in full text, but covers fewer journal titles than CINAHL.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Basic ( 1985+)
Provides full text access to over 100 journals in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. All full text titles in this database are also indexed in CINAHL.

Related Databases

ERIC (1966+)
Covers journal articles and also full text documents collected by the U.S. Department of Education. Useful for information on the educational aspects of nursing, medicine and health.

FSTA: Food Science & Technology Abstracts (1969+)
Index to journals, conference proceedings, theses, patents, and books in subject areas including food chemistry and microbiology, food product development, food safety, and nutrition. Updated weekly.

IngentaConnect (1998+)
Covers articles in over 28,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals. Noted for its currency and large number of periodicals covered. Includes many nutrition journals not covered in CINAHL. Updated daily.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (1861+)
Represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. Includes abstracts written by the author for those dissertations published after 1979. More limited coverage of master's theses from 1962 on (UM theses are not included). Includes full text of dissertations written at the University of Maine after 1996, but only the first 27 pages of text for those from all other schools.

PsycINFO (1887+)
Indexes over 1,300 psychology journals in about 20 languages. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, nursing, sociology, education, and other areas. Excellent for topics like health behavior, health attitudes and mental health. Updated weekly.

SPORTDiscus (1887+)
Covers all aspects of sports including biomechanics, coaching, fitness, physical therapy, physiology, and recreation. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as books, theses, and conferences. Updated monthly.

 

 Internet Resources

When selecting Internet resources it is important to evaluate the quality of any websites that you use. Consult Thinking Critically about Discipline-Based World Wide Web Resources (UCLA College Library) or the National Cancer Institute's site on How To Evaluate Health Information on the Internet for evaluation criteria. The following is a selected list of websites:

Associations and Organizations / Evidence Based Practice / General Resources / Licensing / Research / Theory

Associations and Organizations

Maine State Nurses Association
Gives information on student loans, continuing education opportunities, practice issues, and legislative priorities.

Nursing World
Official site of the American Nurses Association.

Sigma Theta Tau
International Honor Society of Nursing site lists scholarships, conferences, organizations and other information of interest.

Student Nurses Association of Maine
Includes links to scholarships, employment opportunities, resume help and interview tips.

Evidence-Based Practice

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Provides a series of Evidence Reports to develop scientific information for other agencies and organizations upon which to base clinical guidelines, performance measures, and other quality improvement tools.

Best Practice Guidelines
Developed by the Royal Nurses Association of Ontario. Designed to provide nurses with evidence-based recommendations regarding assessment and /or screening in a variety of practice settings. Includes 29 published guidelines as well as a Toolkit and Educator's Resource to support implementation.

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
Produced by Oxford University, and one of the leading worldwide centers for evidence-based medicine. Contains information about learning, doing and teaching EBM as well as some useful analytical tools.

Centre for Evidence-Based Nursing
Established at the University of York (UK) to identify evidence-based practice through primary research and systematic reviews, and to promote the use of evidence in patient care.

Joanna Briggs Institute
Developed by the Royal Adelaide Hospital and University of Adelaide in response to the need to establish a collaborative approach to the evaluation of evidence from a wide range of sources.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
An initiative of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines designed to provide physicians, nurses, and other health professionals a means to obtain objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines.

Netting the Evidence
An extensive list from the University of Sheffield (UK). Has a section on evidenced-based primary guidelines, and a virtual library of links.

General Resources

Hardin MD Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources
Comprehensive meta directory from the University of Iowa that provides access to resource lists in medical and health-related subjects. Organized by disease and specialty.

Learning Resource Center
USM’s nursing department has developed an excellent list of links , including interactive nursing and medical sites.

Nursing on the Net
An extensive list of sites for nursing professionals developed by the National Network of Libraries of Medicine.

Nursing Sites on the World Wide Web
Selective list of nursing sites from the University of Buffalo's Health Sciences Library.

The Virtual Nursing Center
A multimedia site with study guides, patient care simulations, and links to other interactive pages. Produced by Jim Martindale.

Licensing

Maine State Board of Nursing
Licensing and regulatory information for nurses in Maine.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing
A state-by-state list of boards, licensing information and nurse practice acts.

Research

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Includes a link to the full-text 2004 report Hospital Nurse Staffing and Quality of Care. Other useful links are agency sponsored Research Findings and Data & Surveys.

Center for Nursing Classification & Clinical Effectiveness
Established in 1995 at the University of Iowa College of Nursing. Provides an overview of Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) and Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC).

CRISP - Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects
A National Institutes of Health database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions in the U.S.

National Institute of Nursing Research
Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health. Supports clinical and basic research aimed at establishing a scientific basis for patient care. Provides information on legislative activities, research programs, highlights of current nursing research, and future plans.

Theory

Nurse Theorists
A Valdosta State University site with links to information about major nursing theorists and theoritical models.

Nursing Theory Link Page
Produced by Clayton College, and designed to serve as a complete collection of Internet resources for a variety of nursing theorists and their theories.

Nursing Theory Page
An excellent page maintained by the Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science, University of San Diego. Extensive listing of resources by theorist.

 Citation Styles

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes and bibliographies are indicators of good academic research, and the ethical/legal use of information. The standard citation style for Nursing is APA (American Psychological Association).

Endnote

USM has a site license for Endnote, a personal reference database program. The main functions of this program include maintenance of a database of references, downloading references from other databases, using the database to link to references in word-processed documents, and generating a bibliography in the correct style for publications. See the Introduction to Endnote for further information.

APA Guides

APA Format An excellent guide that uses nursing and medical examples

APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue University Online Writing Lab)

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
POR/GOR Reference BF76.7 .P83 2001
LEW Reserve BF76.7 .P83 2001

Last Update: 5.08 saj

 

A member of the University of Maine System USM: University of Southern Maine [home page]