|

Introduction
| Reference Sources
| Indexes & Databases
| Internet Resources
| Citation Styles
For further research assistance, please contact
Evelyn Greenlaw (evelyng@usm.maine.edu; 753-6541), Occupational
Therapy Liaison, Lewiston-Auburn Campus Library, University of Southern
Maine. E-mail and appointments for research assistance are also
available through our Ask
a Librarian service.
Below are some of the more frequently used
resources in Occupational Therapy. See also the subject guides for
Social
and Behavioral Sciences, Psychology,
Sociology,
and Health.
In order to find books, journal titles, videos,
government documents and other materials held in the University
of Maine System, consult URSUS,
the online catalog. Because journal article citations are not individually
included in URSUS use a discipline-specific index to find this information
(see Resources
by Subject).
To find materials located elsewhere in Maine,
check MaineCat.
To find materials worldwide which you may be able to borrow, check
WorldCat.
To obtain materials not located at USM but still within URSUS or
MaineInfoNet, you will need to click on the Request button on the
screen and enter your name and barcode number (found under the barcode
on your USM Card, which begins with 25022....). Note: your barcode
will first need to be activated at any USM Circulation Desk. If
the item is not available through URSUS or Maine InfoNet, you can
request it via Interlibrary
Loan (Illiad).
The following is a listing of selected subject
headings relating to Occupational Therapy. Each subject heading
is hotlinked directly to URSUS.
Occupational
therapy
Developmental
disabilities
Human
Engineering (Ergonomics)
Gerontology
Pediatrics
Art
therapy
Music
therapy
Recreational
therapy
Rehabilitation
Kinesiology
People
with disabilities
People
with disabilities -- Related subject headings
Mentally
ill -- rehabilitation
If you do not know the exact subject heading
describing the topic you need, try doing a keyword
search using other word/s related to that topic (such as "occupational
science")and then click on the subject heading links found
within the relevant records to find additional, useful resources.
You can also find books of interest in the
following call number ranges in the Library of Congress classification
scheme, which is how USM arranges and catalogs its books.
BF = Psychology
HM-HX = Sociology
L = Education
QM-QP = Anatomy and Physiology
R = Medicine
R123 = Medical terminology
RC 487 = Mental health
RC489 = Music therapy
RJ505 = Art therapy
RM700 = Physical therapy
RM735 = Occupational therapy
Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational
Therapy. 4th ed. LEW Reference RM735 .J345 2004
Willard and Spackman's Occupational
Therapy. 10th ed. LEW Stacks RM735 .O29 2003
Asher, Ina Elfant.
Occupational Therapy Assessment Tools: an annotated index.
2nd ed. LEW Reference RM735 .A84 1996
Because of the lenghty publishing cycle for
a book, information in a book is not always current. Periodical
articles are current sources of information. There are two main
types of periodicals: scholarly and popular. Scholarly
periodicals are usually referred to as journals. Articles in journals
contain reports of primary research; the articles are written by
experts in the field and for other researchers/scholars; use terms
and language specific to that discipline; may include graphs, charts,
etc. related to the topic; most often are peer reviewed via an editorial
board; are published by professional organization or society, university,
research centers, scholarly presses; and often include a bibliography.
Popular periodical articles contain general information;
are written using easily understood language that appeals to a varied
audience; are usually written by journalists or others who are not
experts in the field; do not include citations; has a limited or
non-existent editorial review board; and may contain glossy photographs.
The Finding
Articles tutorial provides more information on how to find articles.
To find scholarly articles it is necessary
to consult a discipline-specific electronic or print index/database.
The following are electronic indexing sources available to the Unversity
of Southern Maine community.
Occupational therapy specific:
OT
Search
This database is not full-text, but is a bibliographic index to
resources on specific topics in the field of occupational therapy.
It also represents the holdings of the AOTA Wilma L. West Library.
OT Search has its own thesaurus (database specific terminology)
and tutorials for basic and advanced search techniques. This database
is available on campus, or by password for OT students off-campus.
Please contact the LAC library staff for access.
CINAHL
Premier database for nursing and allied health literature. Includes
references to journals, American Nurses' Association and National
League for Nursing publications, nursing standards of practice,
and critical paths. Updated monthly.
Medline
Index to more than 3,600 journals covering all areas of clinical
and experimental medicine, nursing, dentistry and health administration.
Updated weekly.
PubMed
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National
Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical
database. It provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information
from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals;
citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for
MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that
submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included
are links to many sites with full-text articles.
Related indexes and databases:
Evidence-Based
Medicine Reviews
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews is a collection of four databases:
1. ACP Journal Club; 2. Cochrane Controlled Clinical Trials Register;
3. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and 4. Database of Abstracts
of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE). This provides a definitive resource
for electronic information in the evidence based medicince (EBM)
movement.
ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) provides education
information for K-12 teachers, school administrators, education
faculty, school psychologists and education students. ERIC is sponsored
by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department
of Education. This bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million
citations goes back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal
documents (from years 1993-2004) are included in the database. Full-text
articles are also available from more than 80% of the 1,000 education-related
journals indexed.
SportDiscus
SPORTDiscus covers all aspects of sports. Subjects include biomechanics,
coaching, engineering, physical therapy, and physiology. Indexes
over 2,000 journals as well as books, theses, and non-print resources.
Updated monthly.
PsycInfo
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology
and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing,
sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and
other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over
1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and
books in the English language. The database includes information
from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature
reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations.
Updated weekly.
Academic
Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications of which
3,100 are peer reviewed. Academic areas of study include: social
sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering,
language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences,
and ethnic studies.
HealthSource:Nursing-Academic
Edition
Provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many
medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for
over 570 journals. This product offering also includes USP Pharmacopoeia
DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary
- providing users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology,
pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory
medicine. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly
strong.
ProQuest
Dissertations and Theses
Index to dissertations from 1861 to the present, representing the
work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools
and European universities. Includes the 350-word abstracts written
by the author for those dissertations published after 1979. More
limited coverage of master's theses from 1962 on (UM theses are
not included); citations for those published after 1987 include
150-word abstracts. Database includes full text of dissertations
written at the University of Maine after 1996.
IngentaConnect
Index to the tables of contents of 17,000 English language periodicals.
Covers all disciplines. Updated daily. NOTE: Full text access available
ONLY with subscriptions to individual titles. Check your library
for holdings.
Biomedical
Reference Collection: Basic
Designed for doctors, research scientist, students, clinical specialists
and managers, this database provides full text for over 100 journals
in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.
Oxford
Reference Online: Medicine
Fulltext of six health-related dictionaries under the subheading
Medicine.
There is no authority control for the Internet.
In choosing Internet resources it is imperative to evaluate the
authenticity of the source. Thinking
Critically about Discipline-Based World Wide Web Resources (UCLA
College Library) provides excellent evaluation criteria. The following
selected resources have been chosen because of authenticity and
comprehensiveness of coverage.
Resources:
ADA
Homepage
The official U.S. Dept of Justice Americans with Disabilities Act
homepage, with links to information for business, nonprofits, state
and local government, and standards for accessible design.
NARIC:
National Rehabilitation Information Center and its RehabData
database.
The database describes over 65,000 documents covering physical,
mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational
rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment,
and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The
collection span 1956 to the present.
OT
Direct Occupational Therapy Links
This British website includes many useful (and current) links to
Australian, European, and US occupational therapy sites. Includes
a large listing for occupational science.
OT
Seeker
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews
and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to
evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will
help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing
clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with
fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources.
MEDLine
Plus: Rehabilitation
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health
questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information
from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government
agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE
searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical
journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about
drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient
tutorials, and latest health news.
Associations:
American
Occupational Therapy Association
The American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) is the nationally
recognized professional association of approximately 35,000 occupational
therapists, occupational therapy assistants, and students of occupational
therapy.
World
Federation of Occupational Therapists
The World Federation of Occupational Therapists (WFOT) is the key
international representative for Occupational Therapists and Occupational
Therapy around the world and the official international organisation
for the promotion of Occupational Therapy. Founded in 1952, WFOT
currently has 60 member associations. The Document Centre has many
publications in pdf format.
National
Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy
The National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy,
Inc. (NBCOT®) is a not-for-profit credentialing agency that
provides certification for the occupational therapy profession.
Society
for the Study of Occupation: USA
The mission of the Society for the Study of Occupation is to facilitate
high quality scholarship and a dynamic exchange of ideas that support
the discipline of occupational science.
In using resources it is imperative that they
be used ethically and legally. The sources listed here provide assistance
in following correct citation methods.
Endnote is a personal reference database
program, for which USM has purchased a site license. The main functions
of this program include maintaining a database of your references,
downloading references for you from other databases, using the references
in word-processing, and generating a bibliography in the correct
style for publications. See the Endnote
Help for further information.
APA
Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)
St. Martin's Handbook
Por, LEW Reference PE1112 .L86
Contains sections on the writing process, sentence construction,
punctuation, doing research, and academic writing.
Writer's Reference
LEW, POR, GOR Reference PE1408 .H2778
Includes sections on composing and revising, design, sentence structure,
grammar, punctuation, writing, and documentation.
Dissertations and Theses from Start to Finish
: Psychology and Related Fields
LEW Reference BF76.5 .C645 1993
Publication Manual of the American
Psychological Association, 5th ed.
POR and GOR Reference BF76.7 .P83 2001; LEW Permanent Reserve BF76.7
.P83 2001
Online:
A Reference Guide to Using Internet Sources
Using
American Psychological Association (APA) Format (Updated to
5th Edition) (Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
Last Update: 01.09.08 eag
|