|
Environmental Science and Policy: Pollution Research Guide
Prepared by:
|
Tim Lynch
Reference
Librarian
University
of Southern Maine
tlynch@usm.maine.edu
(207) 780-5156
|
 |
Travis
Wagner, Ph.D.
Assistant
Professor
Environmental
Science and Policy
University
of Southern Maine
(207) 228-8450
|
Other important numbers:
Circulation Department Gorham 780-5345, Portland 780-4270
Interlibrary Loan Department Gorham 780-5343, Portland 780-4279
Reference Department Gorham 780-5344, Portland 780-4272/780-4274
Research Guide Contents
- Introduction
- Research Strategies
- Primary v. Secondary Sources
- Using Boolean Search Logic in Research
- List of Recommended Journals
- Library Resources
- Research Databases
- Catalogs
- Selected Reference Print Sources
- Pollution Data Sources
- EPA Sources
- Other Sources
1. INTRODUCTION
The purpose of this research guide is to assistant you in conducting
research specifically for pollution related information from journal
articles, newspapers, books data, and websites. The research guide has
been prepared specifically to support ESP 299 Environmental Policy:
Pollution, but can be used for general environmental research.
2. Research Strategies
In writing a research paper, you will need to obtain relevant data
to define and support your analysis. The first step is to develop a
research strategy. First, narrow down your search terms as much as possible.
Second, develop a list of acronyms, similar terms, and commercial terms
(trademarked terms). Third, Identify the likely key sources of information
(e.g., books, articles, etc.). In collecting data, it is important to
understand the difference between primary and secondary sources of information.
Finally, using Boolean logic in searching library databases will increase
your success.
2.1 - Primary V. Secondary Sources
Distinguishing between primary and secondary sources
of information can be difficult, but is essential in research. Generally,
the closer you are to the actual event, the more PRIMARY is your source.
For example, if a scientist performs an original study on particulate
matter scrubbers, that work is considered a PRIMARY source. Interviewing
the scientist who performed the study also would be considered a primary
source. But if another group of scientists write articles about the
first scientist's particulate matter scrubber study, those articles
would be a SECONDARY source. Why, because that second group of scientists
is reporting, critiquing, distilling, or evaluating the study (the primary
source). The unique thoughts in the particulate matter study belong
to the first scientist. And interviewing any one of these other scientists
would be a secondary source, because they do not have first-hand knowledge
of the study, but second-hand knowledge.
In the same way, if a scientist writes a book, declaring a new concept or a new take on a concept, to the world, that book is a PRIMARY source. If another scientist writes a book that interprets the first scientist's book, or compares several different scientists' work, the book is considered a SECONDARY source. Why? For the same reason. The second scientist is interpreting someone else's thoughts, not his/her own.
2.2 - Using Boolean
Search Logic in Research
Library database searching is based on the principles of Boolean logic.
Boolean logic refers to the logical relationship among search terms.
Boolean logic consists of three logical operators:
- OR creates a larger result by requiring any one of the terms be present
|
- AND creates a smaller result by requiring both/all terms be present
|
- NOT eliminates words or phrases from a search
|
Venn Diagrams of results for OR, AND, and NOT searches.
 |
|
OR [e.g., Water
OR Air]
AND [e.g.,
Water AND Air]
NOT [e.g.,
Water NOT Air]
|
Boolean Search Procedure
1. State your topic in one sentence (e.g., I am looking for information
about water pollution in Maine)
2. Separate important terms. (e.g., water AND pollution AND Maine)
3. Did you find enough information? If not continue. . . .
4. Add IMPORTANT synonyms and related terms that you would find
in the professional literature. water AND (pollution OR water pollution
OR loading OR mercury) AND Maine
5. Truncate terms to get plural as well as singular form. e.g., water*
AND (pollut* OR water pollut*) and (Maine or Maine's)
[Using Main* would bring up articles about maintenance, Main street,
main point etc.]
2.3 List of Recommended Journals
American Journal of Political Science
American Political Science Review
Ecological Economics
Ecology Law Quarterly
Environment
Environment & Planning
Environment and Behavior
Environment, Energy, and Resources Law [Not at USM]
Environmental & Resource Economics [Not at USM]
Environmental Engineering Science
Environmental Ethics
Environmental Forum [Not at USM]
Environmental History Review
Environmental Impact Assessment Review
Environmental Law & Policy Forum
Environmental Law Journal
Environmental Politics [Not at USM]
Environmental Science & Technology
Journal of Economic and Business History [Not at USM]
Journal of Environmental Economics and Management
Journal of Environmental Health
Journal of Environmental Law
Journal of Policy Analysis and Management
Journal of Politics
Land Use & Environment Law Review [Not at USM]
Public Opinion Quarterly
Science
The Journal of Ecology
3. - LIBRARY RESOURCES
The USM library has a variety of resources for you to conduct research on campus and/or off-campus.
3.1
- Research Databases:
All of USM's Databases can be accessed from the homepage of the USM
Library. Journal Article Databases are available from the Library Homepage
under Quicklinks>Indexes and Databases. To access all Ebsco databases
go to Academic Search Premiere, then click Choose Databases from the
icons at the top for many full-text opportunities]
Off-campus (remote) connections to databases are available. Your name and library barcode number, available from your student ID or library card, is required to access databases with a yellow "remote access" icon. In the event you are unable to access USM Databases by the method above, selected databases can also be reached from the state of Maine at http://libraries.maine.edu/mainedatabases/ Choose remote access and enter personal information including zip code.
*See " i" icons and Information/Help screens located on the USM Library Homepage (http://library.usm.maine.edu/) and its links, for more information about each database.
Pollution Related Databases:
General/All: IngentaConnect, Academic Search Premier, SCOPUS, Science Citation Index, Expanded
General/Local News: ProQuest Newspapers, Maine Newsstand, PEARL
Public Affairs/Policy: PAIS International
Water/Soil/Geology/Geography: GeoRef, GeoBase
Agriculture: CRIS (Current Research Information System)
Law: HeinOnline
Citations: Science Citation Index, Expanded
3.2 - Catalogs:
USM's catalog contains lists of book and journals, which is accessed from the Library's Homepage:
URSUS-University of Maine System Catalog, includes the 15 libraries in the UMS system, URSUS is useful for finding books, government documents, and whole journals, generally anything that is cataloged separately, but NOT journal articles, only titles. Items in the UMS system but outside the USM can be requested and sent to UMS locations in 3 to 5 days.
Maine Info Net-Searchable state-funded database that combines the library catalogs of not only the University of Maine system, but also private, public and special libraries across the state. Again, this database includes items cataloged separately, NOT journal articles. Items can be requested and sent to participating libraries in 5 to 10 days.
Netlibrary-Collection of online books both subscribed to by the USM and available in the public sector. Create an account to checkout and download book items or just browse items for 15 minutes. Again, this catalog does NOT include journal articles. These Items are available via the URSUS Catalog.
3.3 - Selected Reference Print Sources
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
GOR Reference GE 10 .E52 2000
Very up-to-date encyclopedia of environmental concerns. Articles are signed and include suggested readings.
Environmental Law Handbook
GOR Reference KF3775 .E64 2003
This work covers the most important environmental federal laws and acts with
a minimum of technical language. The work also explains that environmental
law involves taking existing laws and relating them to the environment. (ELH)
Environmental Issues and Sustainable Futures
GOR Reference GE123 .M37 1996
Collection of books, reports, and journals pertaining to environmental sustainability.
Environmental Statutes
GOR Reference KF3775.A29 U55 2001
The complete and exact text of major federal environmental acts and laws.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation
GOR Reference GE 10 .E49 1998
Encyclopedia devoted to remediation of environmental problems including air, water and biosphere pollution. Work also includes detailed procedures for conducting environmental analysis and impact statements.
Environmental Hazards: Air Pollution: A Reference Handbook
GOR and LEW Stacks HC110 A4 M55 1989
All aspects of air pollution are covered in this work. The Contemporary World issues series are excellent for background materials, law, biographies, chronologies, and directories of organizations.
Environmental Hazards: Marine Pollution
POR Stacks GC1085 G67 1993
All aspects of Marine pollution are covered in this work. The Contemporary World issues series are excellent for background materials, law, biographies, chronologies, and directories of organizations.
Indoor Pollution: A Reference Handbook
LEW Stacks TD883 .M52 1998
All aspects of indoor pollution are covered in this work. The Contemporary World issues series are excellent for background materials, law, biographies, chronologies, and directories of organizations.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
GOR and POR Reference Q 123 .M34 1989
A dictionary of terms encompassing all fields of science and technology. Includes pronunciation of terms, conversion tables, mathematical formulas, classification of living organisms, etc.
4 - POLLUTION DATA SOURCES
The following is a list of Internet-based data sources specifically
for environmental policy and pollution:
4.1 - EPA Sources:
Water Data-Point Source Discharges
EPA's National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit program controls water pollution by regulating point sources that discharge pollutants into waters of the United States.
http://cfpub.epa.gov/npdes/inde.g.,cfm
Safe Drinking Water Information
System
EPA's Safe Drinking Water Information System the national regulatory compliance database for the drinking water program. It includes information on the nation's 170,000 public water systems and violations of drinking water regulations.
http://www.epa.gov/safewater/data/getdata.html
Pesticide Data
EPA's Pesticide Product Information System (PPIS) contains information concerning all pesticide products registered in the United States.
http://www.epa.gov/opppmsd1/PPISdata/
EPA Publications
Publications and reports from the various divisions of the Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/epahome/publications2.html
EPA AirData
EPA's AirData website provides access to air pollution data for the
U.S. including ambient concentrations of criteria air pollutants at
monitoring sites and estimates of annual emissions of criteria air pollutants
from point, area, and mobile sources.
http://www.epa.gov/air/data/inde.g.,html
Air Toxics Release Inventory
The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a publicly available EPA database that contains information on toxic chemical releases and other waste management activities reported annually by certain covered industry groups as well as federal facilities.
http://www.epa.gov/tri
ATSDR's Hazardous Substance Release And Health Effects Database
Hazardous Substance Release/Health Effects Database is the scientific and administrative database developed to provide access to information on the release of hazardous substances from Superfund sites or from emergency events and on the effects of hazardous substances on the health of human populations.
http://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/hazdat.html
Superfund Hazardous Waste Sites
The Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Information System. CERCLIS contains information on hazardous waste sites, potential hazardous waste sites, and remedial activities across the nation, including sites that are on the National Priorities List (NPL) or being considered for the NPL.
http://www.epa.gov/superfund/sites/cursites/
Municipal Solid Waste Data
Facts and data available from the U.S. EPA on municipal solid waste
in the United States from 1960 to 2000. Report covers such waste
materials as paper, glass, metals, plastic, durable and nondurable
goods, containers, and packaging.
http://www.epa.gov/epaoswer/non-hw/muncpl/msw99.htm
National Hazardous Waste Data
The U.S. EPA, in partnership with the states, biennially collects information
regarding the generation, management, and final disposition of hazardous
wastes regulated under the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of
1976 (RCRA), as amended. The information is collected into a report
called the National Biennial RCRA Hazardous Waste Report. The most recent
data collected is from 1999.
http://www.epa.gov/epaoswer/hazwaste/data/brs99/inde.g.,htm
EPA's Envirofacts Warehouse
Envirofacts Warehouse provides users with direct access to environmental
information contained in various EPA databases including hazardous waste,
Superfund information, toxic releases, facility information, risk management
plans, grants/funding, water permits, and drinking water contaminant
occurrence.
http://www.epa.gov/enviro/index_java.html
Enviromapper
Enviromapper allows users to map various types of environmental information,
including hazardous waste, water discharge permits, toxic and air releases,
watersheds, and Superfund sites. Enviromapper can also be used to spatially
view environmental statistics, profiles, and trends.
http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/em/inde.g.,html
EPA's National Service Center for Environmental Publications
This is the EPA's searchable database for all its technical publications.
Five titles maybe ordered free of charge at an one time.
http://yosemite.epa.gov/ncepihom/nsCatalog.nsf/SearchPubs?OpenForm&CartID=9657-113711
4.2 - Other Sources
U.S. General Accounting Office
The General Accounting Office is the audit, evaluation, and investigative
arm of Congress. GAO examines the use of public funds, evaluates federal
programs and activities, and provides analyses, policy options, and
policy recommendations. GAO reports are available online.
http://www.gao.gov/
Resources for the Future
Resource for the Future is one of the nation's premier independent
institutes dedicated exclusively to analyzing environmental, energy,
and natural resource topics, and seeks to conduct impartial research
to enable policymakers to make sound choices.
http://www.rff.org/rff/Publications/newfromrff.cfm
Congressional Research Service
The Congressional Research Service (CRS), part of the Library of Congress,
prepares its reports for the U.S. Congress. CRS reports products undergo
review for accuracy and objectivity and contain technical and nontechnical
information useful to those interested in environmental policy.
www.ncseonline.org/NLE/CRS/
Environment Canada
Environmental issues and initiatives from the country of Canada.
http://www.ec.gc.ca/envhome.html
Last Update: 04.2006
Comments: Ask-A-Librarian
|