Welcome to the USM Libraries
New Users/Help Your Record
Search the Catalog
Photo Photo Photo
 


Introduction | Reference Sources | Indexes & Databases | Internet Resources | Citation Styles

 Contact Information

For further assistance, please contact Pat Prieto (pprieto@usm.maine.edu; 780-5662) Recreation and Leisure Studies Liaison, Glickman Library, University of Southern Maine.
You can also get research assistance via chat or e-mail by using our Ask a Librarian service.

 Introduction

In order to find books, journal titles, videos, government documents and other materials held in the University of Maine System libraries, you will need to consult URSUS, the online catalog. Because journal article citations are not individually included in URSUS, you will need to use an index to find this information (see Indexes and Databases section below).

If you do not know the exact subject heading describing the topic you need, try doing a keyword search using other word/s related to that topic and then click on the subject heading links found within the relevant records to find additional, useful resources.

If the material you need is not available at the USM Libraries or online, the Libraries can usually obtain it for you. Books should be ordered through URSUS or Maine InfoNet if possible; for journal articles and for books unavailable through URSUS or Maine InfoNet, use Interlibrary Loan (lliad)

If you are a distance education student of the University of Maine System and need information about Off-Campus Library Services, visit the Off-Campus Library Services web site.

 Reference Sources

Reference Resources

Reference sources are invaluable for defining key concepts, providing brief overviews of a subject, and identifying major theories and research developments. They can provide you with the background you need to select and develop a topic of research, or help you explore internship or career opportunities.

Common terminology, abbreviations and symbols for therapeutic recreation and other activity therapies : a glossary and workbook
POR Reference RM736.7 .J493 2002    
Supplements a standard glossary with a listing of clinical abbreviations and symbols.

Dictionary of Concepts in Recreation and Leisure
POR Reference GV11 S57
Each of the nearly 100 entries defines a term and explains its significance within the discipline.

Dictionary of the Sport and Exercise Sciences
POR Reference GV558 .D53
Brief definitions and useful cross references.

Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation
POR/GOR Reference HV1568 .E53
150 entries cover standard and newly diagnosed conditions and include descriptions of rehabilitation processes and medically approved therapies.

Encyclopedia of Elder Care
POR Reference RC954 .E53
Provides information on conditions and issues related to aging.

Encyclopedia of recreation and leisure in America
POR Reference GV53 .E53 2004 
172 brief (1-3 pages) articles give social and historical context for recreational activities ranging from auto racing to zoos.

Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present
GOR Reference GV567.E56
250 entries chronicle the history and societal impact of sports from around the world.

Glossary of recreation therapy and occupational therapy
POR Reference RM736.7 .A97 2001 
Definitions include terminology related to disabilities as well as therapy.

Internships in recreation and leisure services : a practical guide for students
POR Reference GV14.5 .S43 2002      
Offers tips for assessing one's own skills and goals as well as researching potential internship agencies, presenting oneself through resumes, cover letters, and interviews, and planning for the internship. Several useful appendices include national associations and websites with employment and internship information. 

Opportunities in recreation and leisure careers
POR Reference GV160 .J45 2000   
Lists types of positions in the field, helpful associations, and suggestions for job seekers.

World Sport Psychology Sourcebook
POR Reference GV706.4 S25
Profiles the state of sports psychology in 61 countries and provides contact information for 1,800 professionals in the field.

 Indexes and Databases

Physical Education Index
Broad subject headings index 150 domestic and foreign journals. The most recent editions are softcover. Check several years as the annual editions are not cumulative.

SPORTDiscus
Subjects include biomechanics, coaching, engineering, physical therapy, and physiology. Indexes over 2,000 journals as well as books, theses, and non-print resources.

Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary in scope, it provides full text for nearly 3,300 scholarly publications of which 2,400 are peer reviewed.

Ingenta Connect
Index to the tables of contents of 17,000 English language periodicals from 1988 to the present.

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides full text for 550 scholarly journals and indexing for more than 570 journals.

MEDLINE
Index to more than 3,600 journals covering all areas of clinical and experimental medicine, nursing, and health administration.

These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications. Once you have found your citations, consult Finding Articles at USM for detailed instructions on locating full text articles online and in print journals.

 Internet Resources

Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies, University of Southern Maine
Program and course offerings, definitions, and Frequently Asked Questions.

Maine CITE
A glossary of assistive technology terms, legal information, and more, from a Maine-based project "designed to help make assistive and universally designed technology more available to Maine children and adults who have disabilities".

Therapeutic Recreation Web Links
Useful links including the World Leisure & Recreation Association, the U.S. Administration on Aging, and the National Center on Accessibility.

 Citation Styles

The sources listed here provide assistance in following correct citation methods and avoiding plagiarism.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
(Por. Reference BF76.7 .P83 2001)
(Gor. Reference BF76.7 .P83 2001)

Online! A Reference Guide to Using Internet Resources

In addition, USM has a site license for Endnote, a personal reference database program. The program enables users to maintain a database of references, download references from other databases, link to references in word-processed document, and generate a bibliography in the correct style . See the Endnote Help for further information.

Created by: Pat Prieto
Created on: 09.06.2005
Last Updated: 01.02.2008