go to main page content
University of Southern Maine [home page]
Welcome to the USM Libraries
New Users/Help Your Record
Search the Catalog
Photo Photo Photo
Collections
Osher Map Library
Special Collections
Videos
Reserves
More...
Research
Mariner
Mariner
Indexes and Databases
Resources by Subject
Mariner
More...
Reserves
Information Literacy
Interlibrary Loan
Services for Faculty
Services for Students
Ask-A-Librarian
Forms
More...
About the Libraries
Campus Libraries
Policies
Departments/Staff
Contact Us
More...

Glickman Library - Portland Branch

Internet Search Engines

Jump to a section:  Browsable  Comprehensive  Evaluative  Multi-engine  Discussion List  Search Engine Comparisons  What Is A Search Engine?
Click the to go to the help page for each search engine.

Browsable Subject Directories

Site URL
Galaxy http://www.galaxy.com
Looksmart http://www.looksmart.com
Open Directory Project http://dmoz.org/
W3 Virtual Library http://www.vlib.org/Home.html
Yahoo! http://www.yahoo.com

Comprehensive Search Engines

Site URL
Alltheweb http://www.alltheweb.com
Alta Vista http://www.altavista.com
Excite http://www.excite.com
Google http://www.google.com
HotBot http://www.hotbot.com
Lycos http://www.lycos.com
MSNSearch http://search.msn.com
NBCi http://nbci.msnbc.com/nbci.asp
Overture http://www.overture.com/
Teoma http://www.teoma.com/
Webcrawler http://www.webcrawler.com

Selective/Evaluative sites

Site URL
Britannica.com http://www.britannica.com

Multi-engine search sites

Site URL
Dogpile http://www.dogpile.com/
Fazzle http://www.fazzle.com/
Kart00 http://www.kartoo.com/
Mamma http://www.mamma.com
MetaCrawler http://www.metacrawler.com/
ProFusion http://www.profusion.com/
Search.com http://www.search.com/
SurfWax http://www.surfwax.com
Vivisimo http://vivisimo.com/

Discussion List Search Engines

Site URL
CataList http://www.lsoft.com/catalist.html
Tile.Net http://www.tile.net

Search Engine Comparison Sites

Site URL
Search Engine Watch http://www.searchenginewatch.com
Summary of Search Engine Features http://daphne.palomar.edu/TGSEARCH/
Web search tool features http://www.unn.ac.uk/central/isd/features.htm

What is a search engine anyway?

"A program that searches documents for specified keywords and returns a list of the documents where the keywords were found. Although search engine is really a general class of programs, the term is often used to specifically describe systems like Alta Vista and Excite that enable users to search for documents on the World Wide Web and USENET newsgroups."

The PC Webopaedia
(http://www.pcwebopaedia.com/search_engine.htm)

"An Internet Search Engine is a remotely accessible program that performs keyword and/or concept searches for information on the Internet. The search engine itself is usually a powerful workstation-class machine that searches a database of information collected from the Internet. This information is gathered primarily by software programs called robots or spiders that "crawl" through all of the files on the Internet, and download them into a searchable database."

MediaWest Definitions
(http://www.mediawest.com/ver2/def/mwstdf27.html)

Last Update: 01.23.2004
Comments: Ask-A-Librarian


A member of the University of Maine System USM: University of Southern Maine [home page]