|

Introduction
| Reference Sources
| Indexes & Databases
| Internet Resources
| Citation Styles
For further research assistance, please contact
Evelyn Greenlaw (evelyng@usm.maine.edu; 753-6541) or Maureen Perry
(mperry@usm.maine.edu; 753-6546), Librarians at Lewiston-Auburn
College Library, University of Southern Maine.
In order to find books, journal titles, videos,
government documents and other materials held in the University
of Maine System you will need to consult URSUS, the online catalog.
Because journal article citations are not individually included
in URSUS, you will need to use a discipline-specific index to find
this information (see Resources by Subject).
If you do not know the exact subject heading
describing the topic you need, try doing a keyword search using
other word/s related to that topic and then click on the subject
heading links found within the relevant records to find additional,
useful resources.
The Library of Congress provides a breakdown
of the call number classification scheme. To find a listing of call
numbers click on any of the subcategories to see more detail.
The following is a listing of selected subject
headings relating to Service Learning. Each subject heading is hotlinked
directly to URSUS
Community
service
Reflective teaching
Student
service
Voluntarism
To obtain materials not located at your USM,
but still within URSUS, you will need to click on the Request button
on the URSUS screen and enter your name and barcode number (found
under the barcode on your USM Card, which begins with 25022....).
Your barcode will need to be activated at the Circulation Desk.
If the item is not available through the University
of Maine System (URSUS)
or Maine InfoNet
you can request it via Interlibrary
Loan (Illiad).
Reference sources are useful tools to obtain
background information and to develop a vocabulary of possible search
terms. The following items are print resources available within
the University of Maine system
The complete guide to service learning
: proven, practical ways to engage students in civic responsibility,
academic curriculum, & social action
BPL New Books 373.119 K1822
Michigan Journal of Community
Service Learning
LEW Periodicals 1994-present
Service learning : curricular applications
in nursing
LEW RT73 P64 2001
SMSU Journal
of Public Affairs
Available from 2001-the present through Academic Search Premier
Voices in dialogue
LEW LC220.5 V64 1995
Where’s the Learning in Service Learning?
LEW LC220.5 E95 1999
Because of the lengthy publishing cycle for
a book, information in a book is not always current. Periodical
articles are current sources of information. There are two main
types of periodicals: scholarly and popular. Scholarly
periodicals are usually referred to as journals. Articles in journals
contain reports of primary research; the articles are written by
experts in the field and for other researchers/scholars; use terms
and language specific to that discipline; may include graphs, charts,
etc. related to the topic; most often are peer reviewed via an editorial
board; are published by professional organization or society, university,
research centers, scholarly presses; and often include a bibliography.
Popular periodical articles contain general information;
are written using easily understood language that appeals to a varied
audience; are usually written by journalists or others who are not
experts in the field; do not include citations; has a limited or
non-existent editorial review board; and may contain glossy photographs.
The Finding
Articles tutorial provides more information on how to find articles.
To find scholarly articles it is necessary to consult a discipline-specific
electronic or print index/database. The following are electronic
indexing sources available to the Unversity of Southern Maine community.
Academic
Search Premier
Date coverage: Dates vary by publication. Click here to determine
coverage
Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications of which
3,100 are peer reviewed. Academic areas of study include: social
sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering,
language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences,
and ethnic studies.
ERIC
Date coverage: 1966-present
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and documents on education
research and practice. Includes information in the area of educational
psychology.
PAIS International
Date coverage: 1972-present
Citations for articles, books, conference proceedings, government
documents, and book chapters
Sociological
Abstracts
Date coverage: 1974-present
Citations for articles, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings
in sociology and related disciplines
There is no authority control for the Internet.
In choosing Internet resources it is imperative to evaluate the
authenticity of the source. Thinking
Critically about Discipline-Based World Wide Web Resources (UCLA
College Library) provides excellent evaluation criteria. The
following selected resources have been chosen because of authenticity
and comprehensiveness of coverage.
American Association
for Higher Education
The
Big Dummy’s Guide to Service Learning
The Education Trust
International
Partnership for Service Learning and Leadership
Maine
Campus Compact
Massachusetts
Campus Compact
National
Campus Compact
National Center for Education Statistics
National
Commission on Service Learning
National
Service Learning Clearinghouse
National Society
for Experiential Education
USM Service Learning Page
In using resources it is imperative that they be used
ethically and legally. Please refer to USM's Academic Integrity Policy for more information.
USM has may resources for writing citations. One of these is Endnote, a personal reference database program. The main functions of this program include maintenance of a database of references, downloading references from other databases, using the database to link to references in word-processed document, and generating a bibliography in the correct style for publications. See the Endnote Help for further information.
Writing Handbooks:
St. Martin's Handbook
LEW Reference PE1112 .L86 2003 5th ed.
POR Reference PE 1112 .L86 1989
Contains sections on the writing process, sentence construction, punctuation, doing research, and academic writing.
A Writer's Reference, 5th Edition
LEW, POR, GOR Reference PE1408 .H2778 2003
Includes sections on composing and revising, design, sentence structure, grammar, punctuation, writing, and documentation.
Citation Styles:
The
Ohio State University Libraries
Citation
Styles Online!
Last Update: 05/20/2005 mp
|