| 
Introduction
| Reference Sources
| Indexes & Databases
| Internet Resources
| Citation Styles
For further research assistance, please contact Pat Prieto (pprieto@usm.maine.edu; 780-5662) Sociology Liaison, Glickman Library, University of Southern Maine.
Chat and e-mail research assistance and an appointment request form are also available through our Ask a Librarian service.
In order to find books, journal titles, videos, government documents and other materials held in the University of Maine System libraries, you will need to consult URSUS, the online catalog. Because journal article citations are not individually included in URSUS, you will need to use an index to find this information (see Indexes and Databases section below).
If you do not know the exact subject heading describing the topic you need, try doing a keyword search using other word/s related to that topic and then click on the subject heading links found within the relevant records to find additional, useful resources.
If the material you need is not available at the USM Libraries or online, the Libraries can usually obtain it for you. Books should be ordered through URSUS or Maine InfoNet if possible; for journal articles and for books unavailable through URSUS or Maine InfoNet, use Interlibrary Loan (lliad)
If you are a distance education student of the University of Maine System and need information about Off-Campus Library Services, visit the Off-Campus Library Services web site.
Reference sources are invaluable for defining key concepts, providing brief overviews of a subject, and identifying major theories and research developments. They can help provide you with the background you need to select and develop a topic of research.
The Blackwell dictionary of sociology : a user's guide to
sociological language
POR Reference HM425 .J64 2000
Encyclopedia of social theory
POR Reference HM425 .E47 2005
Encyclopedia of sociology
POR/GOR Reference HM425 .E5 2000
The Family in America: an encyclopedia
POR Reference HQ536 .H365 2001
Information sources in the social sciences
POR Reference H61 .I56 2002
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
POR Reference H41 .I58 2001
The Sage dictionary of sociology
POR Reference HM425 .B78 2006
The Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods
POR Reference H62 .L456 2004
Statistical handbook on the American family
POR Reference HQ 536.S727
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Comprehensive and international in scope.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journals in the disciplines of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Social Services Abstracts
Focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, human development and related areas including social welfare, social policy, and community development since 1980.
Social Work Abstracts
Indexes articles and dissertations on social work, social welfare, and related fields.
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications of which 3,100 are peer reviewed. Academic areas of study include: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
PsycInfo
Indexes the professional and academic literature (journals, books and book chapters) in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations.
ERIC
Primary index for the field of education
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides indexing and some full text of media and communication studies journals.
Women's Studies International
Index to the interdisciplinary field of women's studies, this database covers material in the fields of arts and humanities, business, economics, education, history, international relations, political science, public policy, and sociology. Covers from 1972 forward, and includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications. Once you have found your citations, consult Finding Articles at USM for detailed instructions on locating full text articles online and in print journals.
Because there is no authority control for the Internet, it is important to evaluate sources critically. For helpful criteria, consult Evaluating Websites.
The Learning Page: Sociology
The Library of Congress' "Learning Page" for Sociology includes links to the American Sociological Association, the Fedstats gateway to government statistics sources, and several institutes or organizations that conduct public opinion or other sociology-related research.
Statistical Resources on the Web
The University of Michigan's Documents Center has organized statistical sources by topic for easy access.
The sources listed here provide assistance in following correct citation methods and avoiding plagiarism.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
(Por. Reference BF76.7 .P83 2001)
(Gor. Reference BF76.7 .P83 2001)
St. Martin's Handbook
(Por. Reference PE1112 .L86 1989)
(Lew Reference PE1112. L86 2003)
Contains sections on the writing process, sentence construction, punctuation, doing research, and academic writing.
A Writer's Reference
(Por. Reference PE1408 .H2778)
(Gor. Reference PE1408 .H2778)
Includes sections on composing and revising, design, sentence structure, grammar, punctuation, writing, and documentation.
Online! A Reference Guide to Using Internet Resources
USM has a site license for Endnote, a personal reference database program. The program enables users to maintain a database of references, download references from other databases, link to references in word-processed document, and generate a bibliography in the correct style . See the Endnote Help for further information.
Created by: Pat Prieto
Created on: 09.06.2005
Last Updated: 01.22.2008
|