go to main page content
University of Southern Maine [home page]
Welcome to the USM Libraries
New Users/Help Your Record
Search the Catalog
Photo Photo Photo
 


Glickman Library - Portland Branch

Introduction | Reference Sources | Indexes & Databases | Internet Resources | Citation Styles

 Contact Information

For further research assistance, please contact Tim Lynch tlynch@usm.maine.edu; (780-5156/5344), Research and Instructional Services Librarian; Liaison to the Education Department. Gorham Campus Library, University of Southern Maine.

 Introduction

The purpose of this guide is to recommend selected available resources to help you locate test instruments as well as test reviews and evaluations. To locate books on tests and testing, use URSUS (ursus.maine.edu), the online catalog of USM and the University of Maine System. Also please make use of our Finding Articles tutorial created by Barb Mann, should you like information for a paper or critical information on testing.

Assessment Center at the USM College of Education and Human Development. Bailey Hall, room 407. Tel: 780-5671

The Assessment Center has an extensive collection of educational and psychological test instruments that can be loaned out. Check with the Assessment Center first when trying to locate a specific test. Call for hours or to set up an appointment.

 

 Reference Sources

General Reference Works

Mental Measurements Yearbook (Also available Online from the USM Libraries Homepage)
GOR and POR Reference Z5814 P8 B932

You may hear this source referred to simply as "Buros" in reference to Oscar Buros, the original editor, and founder of the Institute of Mental Measurements. This highly regarded resource for locating critical reviews of test instruments has been in print since 1938. Each new volume supplements rather than supercedes the previous volume. Test entries include: title, intended population, author and publisher, acronym, scoring, availability, cost, critical reviews and cross references to reviews in earlier editions. Check out our Tutorial.

Tests in Print VI: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests
GOR Reference Z5814 E9 T47 1967-2002

This source provides descriptive listings of and references to commercially published tests currently in print. Each new edition of Tests in Print supercedes the earlier edition. However, Tests in Print I-IV are retained under the same call number for individuals requiring information on tests that may no longer be in print. This title also serves as a comprehensive index to the Mental Measurements Yearbooks published to date. Check out our Tutorial.

Test Critiques 
GOR Reference BF 176 T419 1984+ (Latest available 1994)

An ongoing, easy to use resource. Each test entry contains the following sections: introduction, practical applications/use, technical aspects, critique and references. The index in the most recent volume references the entire set.

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
GOR Reference BF 431 G624 (1974-1997).

This is an ongoing series of books which lists experimental test instruments that are not currently marketed commercially. This directory allows researchers to identify recently developed and potentially useful measures in education, psychology and sociology. Instruments are not evaluated, but sources for obtaining technical information are provided.

Measurements for Psychological Assessment: A Guide to 3,000 Original Sources and Their Applications (1975)
POR Reference Z7164 .S68 C57

Dictionary of Behavioral Assessment Techniques
GOR Reference BF 176.5 D53 1988

A reference guide to a wide variety of assessment devices used by behavioral researchers and clinicians. Test entries provide: description, purpose, psychometric characteristics, clinical use, future directions and references.

Test-Specific References

Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences 2nd Ed
GOR Reference LB 3051 .L4543 2000

Provides both information about and examples from tests in the Social Sciences.

Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques: Instruments & Index [3 vols.]
GOR Reference HQ 728 .H267 2001 v.1-3

Provides the actual Instrument for this topical area.

Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook
GOR Reference BF 176 .C66 2000

Volume 1: Couples, Families and Children. Volume 2: Adults. These volumes provide over 320 "rapid assessment instruments" including questionnaires and scales, which assess problems commonly encountered in clinical practice. Critiques written by the authors are also included.

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education and Business.
GOR Reference BF 176 T43 1997

Concise descriptions of assessment instruments available from over 221 publishers. The format is user-friendly and the eight different indexes make it easy to identify test instruments by type and by specific criteria.

Academic Achievement and Aptitude Testing: Current Practices and Test Reviews
GOR Reference LB 3060.3 .A26 1989


Business and Industry Testing: Current Practices and Test Reviews.
POR Reference HF 5549.5 .E5 .H635 1990

Special Education and Rehabilitation Testing: Current Practices and Test Reviews
GOR Reference LC 4019 .S585 1988

Comprehensive Annotated Bibliography of Selected Psychological Tests
GOR Reference BF 176 .T38 1982

Annotated references from 1967-1979 for the Interpersonal Check List, MMPI Short Forms and The Blacky Pictures.

A Counselor's Guide to Career Assessment Instruments
GOR Reference HF 5381 C6965 2001

Covers all types of test instruments for use in career guidance. Each entry provides descriptive information followed by a full or abridged review and references.

Handbook of Psychiatric Rating Scales
GOR Reference RC 469 .H37 1981

Brief descriptive information and related references for scales used to rate adult and child behavior and symptomatology .

Sourcebook of Adult Assessment Strategies
GOR Reference RC 473 .P78 S38 1995

This source provides practical information for over 70 scales used in the assessment of adult mental disorders.

Tests and Measurements in Child Development.
GOR Reference BF 722 .J643

Handbooks 1 & 2 provide brief descriptive information and references for approximately 1,200 unpublished measures of child behavior from birth to 18 years of age.

Appraisal Procedures for Counselors and Helping Professionals (4th Edition)
GOR Stacks BF 176 .D78 2000

This work helps professionals choose and administer tests for their clients, as well as provide a list of often-used tests to choose from.

Essentials of Myers-Briggs Type Indicator Assessment
GOR Stacks BF 698.8 .M94 Q45 2000

Explains how to administer, score and interpret the test, as well as providing help describing characteristics of clients and therapists who are characterized by the Myers-Briggs Indicator.

Handbook of Psychological Assessment (3rd Edition)
GOR Stacks BF 176 .G76 1999b

The third edition of the Handbook of Psychological Assessment describes the work as including "updated systems for evaluating the classic tests;" "new and revised tests;" and integrating test results into a treatment plan. (APCHP).

Personality Assessment (3rd. Edition)
GOR Stacks BF 698.4 .L34 1997

"Describes the major methods and techniques of personality assessment, discuss their underlying rationale and development." (PA).

Testing and Assessment in Counseling Practice
GOR Stacks BF 176 .T423 2000

Work is designed for "healthy, well-functioning clients." (TACP) - Most chapters deal with a specific test and include information about using tests, and, the appropriateness of those tests.

Personality Tests and Reviews
POR Reference BF698.5 .B87 1970 (volume 1) and 1975 (volume 2)

"Includes an alphabetical list of test descriptions and names indexes." (B. Mann)

 

 Indexes and Databases

ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) provides education information for K-12 teachers, school administrators, education faculty, school psychologists and education students. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. This bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations goes back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (from years 1993-2006) are included in the database. Full-text articles are also available from more than 80% of the 1,000 education-related journals indexed.

PsycINFO
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly.

Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts covers journal articles and dissertations in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development since 1980.

Social Work Abstracts Plus
Index to articles and dissertations on social work, social welfare, and related fields.

Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Comprehensive and international in scope. Covers about 2,600 journals in 30 different languages from 55 different countries. Also includes books, conference papers,and doctoral dissertations

 Internet Resources

ERIC Tools

Practical Assessment Research and Evaluation (PARE)
SearchERIC
Test Locator URL 1 http://buros.unl.edu/buros/jsp/search.jsp URL 2 http://www.ets.org/testcoll/index.html
CAT tutorial
IRT Page
BETSY (Automated Essay Scoring)
Measurement Decision Theory

Other Resources

About --Testing and Assessment

APA Online --Testing and Assessment

Buros Institute

National Academies Board of Testing and Assessment

Career One Stop Testing and Assessment

 

 Citation Styles

In using resources it is imperative that they be used ethically and legally. The sources listed here provide assistance in following correct citation methods and in avoiding plagiarism.

Writing Handbooks

Bedford Handbook (Hacker)
GOR Reference PE 1408 .H277 2006
Also available from companion website

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
(Gor. Ref. BF76.7 .P83 2001)



Citation Styles

Introduction to Endnote
This is a great resource guide for making use of the Endnote citation program.

Online! A Reference Guide Using Internet Resources [Look for APA Style]

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
(Gor. Ref. BF76.7 .P83 2001)

Plagiarism

Plagiarism (Indiana University)

 

Created by: Tim Lynch
Last Updated: 08.13.2007

A member of the University of Maine System USM: University of Southern Maine [home page]